39 Reviews

This is the definitive way to make gnocchi. I used to sit on my grandmothers lap while she taught me to roll the dough. Those who had problems with this recipe must have done something wrong. The best way to insure a light gnocchi is to dry cook the potatoes, either bake or microwave. Then allow to cool and either rice them or pass through a food mill. Regular mashing techniques leave too many lumps, which make the dough difficult to roll. Mix lightly and allow to sit for 30 minutes to allow the flour to absorb the moisture before rolling. This is a learned technique. Keep trying, and don't fall for gimicks. This is the oldest and most recognized method. It makes a wonderful gnocchi!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awilliams234 November 06, 2012

This was my first time making gnocchi, and they turned out great! They were like biting into light fluffy pilows. The 1 kg potato converted to 4 cups mashed (from food mill). The only thing I would change, is to add more salt. I would recommend doubling the recipe, so you can freeze them for a quick and easy dinner. Thanks soo much for this recipe! I will never eat store-bought gnocchi again. They can't even compare.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BCgurl June 23, 2009

Very easy to make. The gnocchi was very light as other reviews stated. Baked my potatoes so they would be drier and not add any extra moisture. Dought was sticky but easy to work with. This will now be the recipe I use to make gnocchi from now on.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happycooker2 July 24, 2012

I'm embarrassed to say, not a good recipe at all. I've made gnocchi in the past and thought I would try another recipe that had many reviews. My advise, if you are making this for the first time, DON'T. I am not a fan of negative reviews, but others should be warned.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmlachapelle October 19, 2011

These came out great. the kg of potatoes came to a little over 4 cups for me, and I used egg beaters because that's all I had. I didn't have any sticking problems at all. I made a broth broth based chicken and veggie soup. Fantastic!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krystena10 December 14, 2009

This was amazing !!! Here are some commens, I believe it would serve only 3-4 instead of 6. I followed up on the advice of s/o and cut them in smaller pieces. Another thing to keep in mind for next time, is to add even more salt. Except for that, as I said before, absolutly amazing. Made it w/ a Salsa Rosa sauce. This is a keeper ....

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenny from the blocks June 24, 2008

Great recipe- I just wish I had a potato ricer since mine came out kinda chunky just mashing them by hand. Good flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuperSpike December 27, 2007

Normally, I'm against snitching bits of the dinner before it's all done. However, this gnocchi was so good, I couldn't help but snack as I went along. This was incredible. I made half regular, and half with whole wheat flour, spinach, and a little garlic. Also very filling. I will definitely make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SoulofaJedi February 25, 2007

My Dad was from Calabria, and we spent many a Sunday morning sitting around the kitchen table making a big batch of gnocchi. Dad would make the dough and us kids would roll the pillows. We all knew the process but no one knew an actual recipe. When dad passed the secret died with him, until I found your Nanna's recipe. One look at it and I knew I'd found Pop's recipe too, the only difference was the nutmeg, making these delicious little bundles of love brought back so many memories. Thanks for sharing Marli!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joe C. February 06, 2016

first time making gnocchi and they were delicious but I should have read all the reviews because it was a sticky nightmare. even though I made a mess they turned out fine but next time I will bake the potatoes instead of boiling them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKwhatuKILL August 21, 2013
Nanna's Gnocchi