Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Nanna's Gnocchi Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Nanna's Gnocchi

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on November 06, 2012

      This is the definitive way to make gnocchi. I used to sit on my grandmothers lap while she taught me to roll the dough. Those who had problems with this recipe must have done something wrong. The best way to insure a light gnocchi is to dry cook the potatoes, either bake or microwave. Then allow to cool and either rice them or pass through a food mill. Regular mashing techniques leave too many lumps, which make the dough difficult to roll. Mix lightly and allow to sit for 30 minutes to allow the flour to absorb the moisture before rolling. This is a learned technique. Keep trying, and don't fall for gimicks. This is the oldest and most recognized method. It makes a wonderful gnocchi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      This was my first time making gnocchi, and they turned out great! They were like biting into light fluffy pilows. The 1 kg potato converted to 4 cups mashed (from food mill). The only thing I would change, is to add more salt. I would recommend doubling the recipe, so you can freeze them for a quick and easy dinner. Thanks soo much for this recipe! I will never eat store-bought gnocchi again. They can't even compare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2012

      Very easy to make. The gnocchi was very light as other reviews stated. Baked my potatoes so they would be drier and not add any extra moisture. Dought was sticky but easy to work with. This will now be the recipe I use to make gnocchi from now on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      I'm embarrassed to say, not a good recipe at all. I've made gnocchi in the past and thought I would try another recipe that had many reviews. My advise, if you are making this for the first time, DON'T. I am not a fan of negative reviews, but others should be warned.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      These came out great. the kg of potatoes came to a little over 4 cups for me, and I used egg beaters because that's all I had. I didn't have any sticking problems at all. I made a broth broth based chicken and veggie soup. Fantastic!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      This was amazing !!! Here are some commens, I believe it would serve only 3-4 instead of 6. I followed up on the advice of s/o and cut them in smaller pieces. Another thing to keep in mind for next time, is to add even more salt. Except for that, as I said before, absolutly amazing. Made it w/ a Salsa Rosa sauce. This is a keeper ....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      Great recipe- I just wish I had a potato ricer since mine came out kinda chunky just mashing them by hand. Good flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      Normally, I'm against snitching bits of the dinner before it's all done. However, this gnocchi was so good, I couldn't help but snack as I went along. This was incredible. I made half regular, and half with whole wheat flour, spinach, and a little garlic. Also very filling. I will definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2013

      first time making gnocchi and they were delicious but I should have read all the reviews because it was a sticky nightmare. even though I made a mess they turned out fine but next time I will bake the potatoes instead of boiling them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2011

      I concur with other posters that you need to double or triple this recipe, it's that good. Thank you so very much for posting this recipe. I will use again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2011

      This was my first time making gnocchi! This was so good. My DH is not easy to please, and he loved them. Will be making this again and again! Thank you Marli!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2011

      aaah these were just fantastic! I used 5 potatoes and the stated amount of flour plus a bit more as i went along. We didn't have nutmeg, so i threw in some italian seasoning. I was worried as the dough was quite sticky, and when i rolled them into the thin logs, i couldn't cut off pieces so i just rolled the dough into balls. But dispite the sticky dough, the pasta was delicious, and we all loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      What a horrible experiment. I hate to be the dissenter among this group of reviewers, but this recipe when followed exactly does not yield anything worthwhile. We could not add enough flour to keep the dough from sticking, and there was no chance of actually rolling or cutting it. I had picked this recipe because we love gnocchi, and I didn't want our extra potatoes to go to waste. Unfortunately, we wasted not only the potatoes, but about 3-4 cups of flour as well. So sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      I once told my Bf I've made Gnocchi and lately he's been hankering for some. Tonight I surprised him. These were not as labor intensive as I thought. Served with #368572. These were so light and fluffy. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      These were amazing. I couldn't believe how much the nutmeg added to the flavor; it gave the gnocchi a complexity that I've never tasted in store-bought kinds before. I can't wait to make them for my italian friends!--EDIT! I made these again, baking the potatoes instead of boiling them this time, and they came out wonderfully. Also, as a side note: for anyone who has difficulty with density of mashed potatoes, I push mine through a wire mesh strainer with a wooden spoon. It takes a decent amount of effort, but I think it's well worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      very tasty- I added steamed + pureed spinach to the potato, so perhaps that affected the texture- not so light and fluffy, more dense and heavy. Very easy to make. I boiled mine, than simmered in a roasted red pepper soup with sauteed garlic and topped with shaved parm. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      These were wonderful baked in a tomato sauce and sprinkled with cheese. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      Very easy instructions, great recipe. This was my first time making it and eating it. My husband went on a mission to Argentina and appararently ate a lot of gnocchi - he said this tasted great!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      I have made this recipe several times now, and I - as well as my entire family - love it! Never again will I throw out leftover potatoes - or buy overpriced pasta again! (we bought organic flour and free range eggs especially for this recipe so that we could rest assured that it was organic) The last time I made it I used about 6 cups of potatoes, probably close to equal amounts of flour (I didn't measure it - I just went by feel... if it was still goopy I added more flour - and it DID take alot!) And 5 cloves of ground garlic, salt and pepper. Next time I plan to add spinach... or maybe ginger. I had my 7 year old daughter and 6 year old son help me... I would roll out a piece of dough into a long "snake", and cut small pieces off, then my son would roll it into a ball, and my daughter would press the ball onto the back of a fork, then kinda roll it off to give it the dimple that gnocchi requires! 5 stars for sure! It's a versatile recipe that is very forgiving... and it's fun too! With using that much potatoes, I have 2 1 litre milk bags of pre-cooked gnocchi frozen in my freezer for next time we want some! Thanks for a great recipe! Our hats are off for this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      There definitely needs to be more flour added when kneading. My dough was a sticky mess. Other than that little side-note, these were easy and very tasty. Next time will try folding different items into the dough: cheese, meat, etc. I've never made gnocchi before so I was scared to try. Very awesome, thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Nanna's Gnocchi

    Serving Size: 1 (216 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 292.0
     
    Calories from Fat 12
    19%
    Total Fat 1.3 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 31.0 mg
    10%
    Sodium 22.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.9 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 8.7 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes