33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Ironic that the day I'm going to rate this it comes up as recipe of the day!...Thanx Inez for another super recipe. I have made this twice, both times for a yellow cake. Second time I didn't have unsweetened chocolate, so I did the subsitution thing with 3TBS cocoa powder and 1 TBS oil for each square......Still made this frosting WONDERFUL...Chocolate lovers dream!

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LAURIE October 29, 2002

Just love this icing (frosting). The frosting is so creamy and rich and finger licking good. The chocolate and the butter gives this icing a nice gleam and rich a look that tempts you to eat the cake. It sure is a chocolate lovers dream, especially when paired with Inez's Eggless One Bowl Chocolate cake #16560. Congratulations Inez another winner. :-) Note: Inez, when I reviewed this recipe I forgot to rate it with a star. *duh on me* So I hope this review will override my first review and all will be right. :-) hugs Chrissy

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrissyo December 09, 2002

I did a search for chocolate frosting and up popped Nana's Chocolate Frosting! I am so glad it did too, because this is the perfect chocolate frosting for any occasion. Ample frosting for a 2 layer 8" cake and plenty left over for those greedy bowl lickers. Very chocolaty, creamy and wonderfully delicious! Thanks for yet another winner, Nana (Inez's Alias)! ;)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev June 20, 2002

My golly, you made me the favorite niece! :D I made this for my Aunt Lilly's birthday and everyone (uncles, aunts, cousins etc, RAVED!). I'm not quite sure if the cake got a heads up and knew to be extra moist for this special icing or what, but they said the icing and the cake were both to die for! I used skim milk and I really don't think it hurt it any. I just never have anything else. Let's see...oh, 16oz of powdered sugar is about 4 cups. My powdered sugar came in a larger bag, so that threw me off just a tad. Thank you so very much!!! I'm making more of it tomorrow for another aunt who is in from out of state.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SmoochTheCook May 21, 2010

I made this recipe twice this week, once using 4 oz of semi-sweet chocolate chips to sub for the unsweetened chocolate, and the next time using 5 oz. I thought 5 oz was far better and made it taste just like store-bought. This is the best frosting recipe I have ever made!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommaofmany January 26, 2009

Better than frosting in a can. Fantastic flavor, very chocolatey!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa Kaehn August 07, 2003

I was looking for a chocolate frosting recipe for my Mayonnaise Cake . My 9 yr old niece made the cake and we needed a frosting to put on it . I am SO happy we found this one . I had all the ingredients and it went together really fast . Creamy and Choc-o-riffic !! We are taking this cake to a wiener roast at the Moose Club tonite and I will bet money that there will be NONE left in the pan by the time the night is over !!! Thanks Inez !!!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresa P May 17, 2003

Tasted great. Will use this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon February 23, 2013

This was really great. Everyone at my party loved it. I didn't measure exactly (my fault) and had a problem with the texture being a little grainy, so I added about a tablespoon of cream cheese and it worked perfectly. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
komcdonald June 12, 2011
Nana's Chocolate Frosting