Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Nana's Chocolate Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Nana's Chocolate Frosting

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on October 29, 2002

      Ironic that the day I'm going to rate this it comes up as recipe of the day!...Thanx Inez for another super recipe. I have made this twice, both times for a yellow cake. Second time I didn't have unsweetened chocolate, so I did the subsitution thing with 3TBS cocoa powder and 1 TBS oil for each square......Still made this frosting WONDERFUL...Chocolate lovers dream!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2002

      Just love this icing (frosting). The frosting is so creamy and rich and finger licking good. The chocolate and the butter gives this icing a nice gleam and rich a look that tempts you to eat the cake. It sure is a chocolate lovers dream, especially when paired with Inez's Eggless One Bowl Chocolate cake #16560. Congratulations Inez another winner. :-) Note: Inez, when I reviewed this recipe I forgot to rate it with a star. *duh on me* So I hope this review will override my first review and all will be right. :-) hugs Chrissy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2002

    • on June 20, 2002

      I did a search for chocolate frosting and up popped Nana's Chocolate Frosting! I am so glad it did too, because this is the perfect chocolate frosting for any occasion. Ample frosting for a 2 layer 8" cake and plenty left over for those greedy bowl lickers. Very chocolaty, creamy and wonderfully delicious! Thanks for yet another winner, Nana (Inez's Alias)! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      My golly, you made me the favorite niece! :D I made this for my Aunt Lilly's birthday and everyone (uncles, aunts, cousins etc, RAVED!). I'm not quite sure if the cake got a heads up and knew to be extra moist for this special icing or what, but they said the icing and the cake were both to die for! I used skim milk and I really don't think it hurt it any. I just never have anything else. Let's see...oh, 16oz of powdered sugar is about 4 cups. My powdered sugar came in a larger bag, so that threw me off just a tad. Thank you so very much!!! I'm making more of it tomorrow for another aunt who is in from out of state.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      I made this recipe twice this week, once using 4 oz of semi-sweet chocolate chips to sub for the unsweetened chocolate, and the next time using 5 oz. I thought 5 oz was far better and made it taste just like store-bought. This is the best frosting recipe I have ever made!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2003

      Better than frosting in a can. Fantastic flavor, very chocolatey!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2003

      I was looking for a chocolate frosting recipe for my Mayonnaise Cake . My 9 yr old niece made the cake and we needed a frosting to put on it . I am SO happy we found this one . I had all the ingredients and it went together really fast . Creamy and Choc-o-riffic !! We are taking this cake to a wiener roast at the Moose Club tonite and I will bet money that there will be NONE left in the pan by the time the night is over !!! Thanks Inez !!!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2013

      Tasted great. Will use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2011

      This was really great. Everyone at my party loved it. I didn't measure exactly (my fault) and had a problem with the texture being a little grainy, so I added about a tablespoon of cream cheese and it worked perfectly. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      Was very creamy but not very chocolate to me. Would use again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      Yummy, super rich chocolate frosting. Made with chocolate cake but would probably prefer with a yellow or other cake to really appreciate the deep chocolate flavor. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      Without a doubt, the best chocolate frosting I've made! Even my husband, who is not a chocolate fan, thought it was excellent. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      Absolutely fantastic! This tastes particularly great with peanut butter products. I frosted a peanut butter cake with this recipe, and decorated the cake with peanut butter chips, crushed reeses cups, and peanut M&Ms! Yum! Definetly my go-to chocolate frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      Excellent creamy frosting and went on like a dream! I had a real problem with DH swiping the cupcakes!!! I am trying to save some to take to the Memorial Day Service and Dinner for a dessert tomorrow! Made a lot so I am going to use it for brownies too! Thank you! Always, Jelly :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

      This recipe is FANTASTIC! I find a lot of frostings are just too sweet, but this one is perfect! (I used the unsweetened chocolate.) It was very easy to make. My 6 year old helper claims it's the best chocolate frosting EVER! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      Fantastic! Very easy, very soft, just the right sweetness. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      Made this with 5 oz of semi-sweet bakers chocolate squares, was out of the other. Was VERY good! My husband, who usually doesn't like frosting loved this. My son (2) who's birthday it was, could only say YUM.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      Super easy, common ingredients and excellent taste makes for one great recipe!! DGD & I made cupcakes today and frosted them this wonderful creation. Grandpa & DGD both gave this thumbs up and to quote the little expert "This is excellent stuff!!". The frosting sets up beautifully on cupcakes and with or without sprinkles, it's just the right compliment to any cupcake. Thanks MizzNezz for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      WOW this was the best my 6 yr old says..lol. Used it on hubby's b'day cake and they loved it. I was about 1/4 lb short on the sugar but it turned out a nice rich chocolate so no problems. This is now a family favorite. Thanks Brenda-ohio

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Nana's Chocolate Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (77 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 297.6
     
    Calories from Fat 112
    37%
    Total Fat 12.5 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.8 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 17.9 mg
    5%
    Sodium 63.6 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.3 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 44.5 g
    178%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes