8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This stew was awesome! The beef was melt in your mouth! YUMMMM!! The barley did not have directions on the bag so I went to Zaar and found barley needs to cook 30 minutes before adding to stew. This was delicious!! Thanks Aunt Willie ; )

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RecipeNut February 22, 2004

Very tasty, very hearty soup. Great comfort food. I skipped the celery and added potatoes instead. The recipe also makes a lot of soup--I doubled the recipe and had to use two pots.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wowclaypool October 27, 2010

At first I was going to give this 4 stars. That was until my DH (who normally doesn't care for stews or soups) said he loved it ... and then it was even better the next day! Yum, yum. I will make this frequently. I may try adding some frozen green peas at the end of the cooking time and maybe an envelope of brown gravy (although this makes a nice gravy on its own). I've been searching for an excellent beef and barley recipe and this is it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
patsyzettle November 11, 2007

I just had this, this weekend at Chef Sudie's house, it was sooo good. I loved it and I can't wait to make it myself.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atm1970 April 12, 2005

This was really good...a real "stick to your ribs" kind of meal. Served with salad and crusty bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PMP January 31, 2005

Aunt Willie, this is some great recipe. I was never much of a beef stew fan, but I loved this. I used turnip because I ran out of carrots and I love turnip. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly and was very pleased with the results.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sudie November 15, 2004

Very good stew, I am not a huge fan of beef stew, simply because I did not have a good recipe, now I do! This recipes is great, thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nicoleb November 05, 2004

This was very good even though the picture isn`t so good. I was short on the beef, carrots and celery. I think I would have like this if the barley was cooked in the broth with the rest of the ingredients. It would have gave it more creaminess. I also wasn`t sure if the barley was 1 cup cooked or raw. Now looking at RecipeNut`s photo it must have been 1 cup cooked barley. My soup just didn`t seem as hearty but was very good none the less. Thanks to Aunt Willie`s Grandma!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ October 12, 2004
Nana's Beef & Barley Stew