Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Nana's Beef & Barley Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Nana's Beef & Barley Stew

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on February 22, 2004

      This stew was awesome! The beef was melt in your mouth! YUMMMM!! The barley did not have directions on the bag so I went to Zaar and found barley needs to cook 30 minutes before adding to stew. This was delicious!! Thanks Aunt Willie ; )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2010

      Very tasty, very hearty soup. Great comfort food. I skipped the celery and added potatoes instead. The recipe also makes a lot of soup--I doubled the recipe and had to use two pots.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      At first I was going to give this 4 stars. That was until my DH (who normally doesn't care for stews or soups) said he loved it ... and then it was even better the next day! Yum, yum. I will make this frequently. I may try adding some frozen green peas at the end of the cooking time and maybe an envelope of brown gravy (although this makes a nice gravy on its own). I've been searching for an excellent beef and barley recipe and this is it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2005

      I just had this, this weekend at Chef Sudie's house, it was sooo good. I loved it and I can't wait to make it myself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2005

      This was really good...a real "stick to your ribs" kind of meal. Served with salad and crusty bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2004

      Aunt Willie, this is some great recipe. I was never much of a beef stew fan, but I loved this. I used turnip because I ran out of carrots and I love turnip. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly and was very pleased with the results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2004

      Very good stew, I am not a huge fan of beef stew, simply because I did not have a good recipe, now I do! This recipes is great, thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2004

      This was very good even though the picture isn`t so good. I was short on the beef, carrots and celery. I think I would have like this if the barley was cooked in the broth with the rest of the ingredients. It would have gave it more creaminess. I also wasn`t sure if the barley was 1 cup cooked or raw. Now looking at RecipeNut`s photo it must have been 1 cup cooked barley. My soup just didn`t seem as hearty but was very good none the less. Thanks to Aunt Willie`s Grandma!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Nana's Beef & Barley Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (400 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 596.3
     
    Calories from Fat 308
    51%
    Total Fat 34.2 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 12.5 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 101.3 mg
    33%
    Sodium 456.1 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 7.9 g
    31%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 34.6 g
    69%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes