Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Nana's Banana Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Nana's Banana Bread

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on August 03, 2014

      I liked this so much and today is already the second time I am making this!!! To make things look a bit nicer, I add almond slice at the top as well, pretty and yumm!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2014

      Lifesaver! I have been saving bananas for over a week now, and I misplaced the recipe card. (Yes, we received it as a freebie several years ago.) Thank goodness this one was posted! I don't even like bananas much, but we all eat through a loaf so fast around here that they do not last very long. It is great when it comes out of the oven, especially the crisp ends. And on the following days, it is a great snack "on the go" if you cut a slice, cube it and stick those in a plastic bag. OK...heating up the oven in 3...2...1...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2013

      I also go this recipe in a mailer. This is the best Banana Bread I have ever made and I have made my share. I also use this recipe to make carrot bread, apple bread and zucchini bread. I just change up the vanilla and sometimes add cinnamon. The results are the same, I make this as gifts and give it away and I am always asked for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2012

      I have been looking for this recipe since Thanksgiving of 2008 when I made it last. I too received this o the mail order recipe card as a 'free" sample and it has for many many years been a favorite of mine. So glad you posted this! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2010

    • on December 18, 2009

      I have a very similar recipe except we use whole wheat flour, almond extract and sliced almonds. I continously have requests for this bread. It is also a great recipe for my 2 & 3 year old daughters to help with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      I don't like bananas so I made this for my DH. He thought it was excellent--moist and falvorful. I made it in a loaf pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      I had found another recipe as well and could not decide which to try out. Since I had enough bananas I decided to make them both. This one won by a long run on moistness and flavor. However, I did not have the heavy cream so I substituted sour cream for that and added 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. Man 'o man how I ran with this pan!! THANK YOU, Juju!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      The BEST!! I have had this recipe for years and my family fights over it to get the last piece if they have to lol I don't use walnuts and it's still great!! Thanks for posting Nana's Banana Bread!! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      outstanding. I double the recipe and made two at once. I didn't use any walnuts but i chopped another banana up so there would be pieces in the bread. Absolutely great recipe. Thanks for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      This is hands down the best banana bread you will ever make. I have made it many, many times and everyone loves it. It's moist and not dry like other banana breads. Everyone kills for the recipe. My recipe calls for 1 1/2 cups of mashed bananas which is usually more than 2, so measure this out. Only other variations I've tried which differ from this recipe (which all worked)...I've used pecans sometimes and chocolate chips. But, it's awesome no matter what. Use very ripe bananas. Also, don't cut it right away. Cover tightly with plastic wrap and let sit overnight. Cut in morning. You'll be glad you did this. Good luck!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      This is my favorite banana bread recipe! I make it using mini loaves and reduce the cooking time. It's so rich and moist. I also use 3 bananas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      This is the best banana bread my mom and I have ever had. It is a bit more like cake than bread, though, and I do recommend making it in something that is not a loaf pan (I used a 9"-square and it's good). I followed the recipe pretty exactly except I used three small-medium ripe bananas instead of the two suggested in the recipe. It seemed to give it a better flavor. I also excluded the walnuts--usually in banana bread walnuts really do add something but here I think it would have detracted from the cake-like consistency. Anyway it was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      I followed this recipe EXACTLY, and was a bit disappointed by it. It was much drier than I would have expected. If I were to make it again, I would add a bit of oil and maybe some applesauce for more moisture. I would also not cook it quite so long.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      Fabulous! I have this recipe and enjoy it alot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      This bread is perfect melt in your mouth, moist. Friends always want the recipe. I had to add a bannana to it, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      This was a delicious recipe. I've never really gotten banana bread to turn out - I was never sure if my bananas weren't good or I'm somehow banana-bread challenged, but this turned out great. I did have to make a somewhat creative substitution when I realized I didn't have cream and it was too late to get some, I used 1/2 milk and 1/2 sour cream in place of cream. It turned out very well and was melt-in-your-mouth good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      Great Banana Bread! The flavor and texture was perfect. I doubled the recipe and made muffins instead of the loaf. I baked them 22 minutes and they came out perfect! Using a standard muffin pan, the regular recipe (not doubled) yields about 12-15 muffins. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      This is THE recipe I turn to over and over (I got the recipe the same way). I've had friends buy the supplies to have me make the bread for them. WONDERFUL flavor and texture. Not easy on the thighs but well worth the extra time on the treadmill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2006

      Made this last week and made again last night because I had a couple more bananas to use up. Turned out really tasty. Will probably be my new banana bread recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Nana's Banana Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (130 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 404.0
     
    Calories from Fat 165
    41%
    Total Fat 18.4 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 8.7 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 62.7 mg
    20%
    Sodium 410.6 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.2 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 29.8 g
    119%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites