Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Nanaimo Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Nanaimo Bars

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on September 02, 2008

      This was by far one of the best desserts I've made! Thank you so much for posting this! YUMMO! I could not find the custard powder so I replaced with 3 tbsp vanilla instant pudding and I made the replacement suggestion for the icing sugar and my family was WOW'd! I will absolutely be making this again! Wish I could give more then 5 stars =)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

      It's impossible to spread the custard layer without refrigerating the bottom layer - I just ended up with a giant mess and had to go back to the store and do it all again. Poor instructions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      These are such a delicious treat...it would be hard not to eat just one. Don't think of the calories when you eat them...they are so worth it! Nanaimo is pronounced : Na-NYE-mo. Great posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      I had not had these in years. I did everything exactly as directed and they turned out wonderfully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      Worth all the effort and time it took to make. I have no idea how pronounce them other than MMM MMM GOOD!!! Will be making another batch soon as these seemed to evaporate quickly sitting on the counter. :-) THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      An excellent recipe and a definate staple for Xmas. I always make 2 for Xmas, the original recipe for my children and an adult version for adults by exchanging liqueur for milk in middle layer and, depending on the flavour of liqueur, substituting different nuts for the walnuts in base. Amaretto with toasted almonds, Frangelico with hazelnuts, the possibilities are endless!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2008

      (¯`·._)♦These are very good. My husband and son enjoyed them. I happen to have had one of these delectables the other day and thought I would try my hand at it. I found that in the base (bottom) if I used real butter and mixed everything while it was still hot, it did not seem to be crumby, as a few people have said. I mixed it past the crumbly stage, so it was almost a dough.. and when I patted it out, it was almost like a brownie. I place in the fridge for about a half hour then used a very sharp thin knife with a straight edge, keeping it on an angle, it did not break or crack the top. The center set up nicely, the top was very easy. (used the double boiler method, as you do with the bottom) The recipe was straightforward and fairly easy to concoct. Very rich, which is a good thing, because you can keep portions small, and still feel satisfied. Thanks for a great recipe, I am sure I will use this again.♦(_.·´¯)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      I had a craving for some nanaimo bars so I found this recipe. It didn't turn out as well as I expected so I'm not too sure what I did wrong :( I found the bottom layer to be a bit dry and subsequently crumbly. I only had an 8x8 pan available so I did my best to make everything even, and save a bit from each layer so it wouldn't be too thick. The middle layer was delicious, as usual. And a warning to everyone - heat the chocolate (I recommend using real chocolate, not chocolate chips), very slowly!! Also, after your squares have been made, sit them out for a bit and cut them before the chocolate top is completely hardened, but not while it is too soft that it's still runny!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      Doesn't get better then Nanaimo Bars, and this recipe is easy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      Very good! Everyone I shared these with loved them, the perfect mix, not TOO sweet. The base was nice, a bit chewy and a little different from what I'm used to but I prefer it. I won't use another recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      Very good! I use less sugar in the icing layer and double the top layer! Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2007

      This is my exact recipe. I've made this recipe dozens of times over the years and never a problem. I've even made them for friends over the holidays. This is the perfect recipe for Nanaimos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      These were good. However, I felt that the bottom layer was a little too crumbly (maybe i did something wrong). Nonetheless, these were still really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      Liked it. However, next time, I think I will do the bottom, middle layer, and chill in the fridge. Once chilled, cut them, and then add the third layer. I wasn't too crazy about the topping layer being hard, I would rather it be more like a frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2006

      These little treats tasted great and I thought were pretty easy to make. I didn't have any graham cracker crumbs, but I did have graham crackers, so I put the crackers in my blender until they were fine. These treats were great on our xmas tray as they are always a tradition! Thanks very much for the recipe CountryLady!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2006

      I have been making nanaimo bars for years but found this recipe which was just a bit different from my recipe so I decided to follow this one and sure happy I did. This base is a bit more moist and has more of the middle layer. I did replace 1/2 cup coconut with unsweetened coconut but that is just a personal taste. My copy has now been replaced with your version. The holidays just wouldn't be the same with the Nanaimo bar not on that goodie tray.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2006

      I love these! They are so wonderfully rich tasting. whenever I make them there are no leftovers and everybody loves them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2006

      I have always enjoyed Nanaimo Bars but had never made them. How could I have missed the making of this Canadian classic! This is an excellent recipe. So easily made, so incredibly good. A great addition to the holiday tray and for special occasions. Thank you CountryLady.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2005

      These are amazing! My fiance grew up in Nanaimo and really enjoyed these treats! The only two things I revised was baking first layer for 15 minutes & let cool prior to putting the second layer on. I only added 1 1/4 cups of icing sugar as the chocolate layer is sweet enough. Great receipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2005

      I don't want to ruin the ratings, but I think I should be fair in rating the recipe. They were pretty easy to make, but not quite the taste I was expecting. Not many people in my family liked these- maybe just a different taste. Sorry, I will not be making them again :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Bar Cookie Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Nanaimo Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (1098 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 151.8
     
    Calories from Fat 95
    62%
    Total Fat 10.5 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 22.2 mg
    7%
    Sodium 79.7 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 11.1 g
    44%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vanilla custard powder

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites