31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

It's impossible to spread the custard layer without refrigerating the bottom layer - I just ended up with a giant mess and had to go back to the store and do it all again. Poor instructions.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nomi_steen November 22, 2012

This was by far one of the best desserts I've made! Thank you so much for posting this! YUMMO! I could not find the custard powder so I replaced with 3 tbsp vanilla instant pudding and I made the replacement suggestion for the icing sugar and my family was WOW'd! I will absolutely be making this again! Wish I could give more then 5 stars =)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
welch1198 September 02, 2008

These are such a delicious treat...it would be hard not to eat just one. Don't think of the calories when you eat them...they are so worth it! Nanaimo is pronounced : Na-NYE-mo. Great posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl April 06, 2010

I had not had these in years. I did everything exactly as directed and they turned out wonderfully.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canadian_in_the_Bay December 18, 2009

Worth all the effort and time it took to make. I have no idea how pronounce them other than MMM MMM GOOD!!! Will be making another batch soon as these seemed to evaporate quickly sitting on the counter. :-) THANKS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mbfans December 01, 2009

An excellent recipe and a definate staple for Xmas. I always make 2 for Xmas, the original recipe for my children and an adult version for adults by exchanging liqueur for milk in middle layer and, depending on the flavour of liqueur, substituting different nuts for the walnuts in base. Amaretto with toasted almonds, Frangelico with hazelnuts, the possibilities are endless!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mbarski November 15, 2008

(¯`·._)♦These are very good. My husband and son enjoyed them. I happen to have had one of these delectables the other day and thought I would try my hand at it. I found that in the base (bottom) if I used real butter and mixed everything while it was still hot, it did not seem to be crumby, as a few people have said. I mixed it past the crumbly stage, so it was almost a dough.. and when I patted it out, it was almost like a brownie. I place in the fridge for about a half hour then used a very sharp thin knife with a straight edge, keeping it on an angle, it did not break or crack the top. The center set up nicely, the top was very easy. (used the double boiler method, as you do with the bottom) The recipe was straightforward and fairly easy to concoct. Very rich, which is a good thing, because you can keep portions small, and still feel satisfied. Thanks for a great recipe, I am sure I will use this again.♦(_.·´¯)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandesnow May 23, 2008

I had a craving for some nanaimo bars so I found this recipe. It didn't turn out as well as I expected so I'm not too sure what I did wrong :( I found the bottom layer to be a bit dry and subsequently crumbly. I only had an 8x8 pan available so I did my best to make everything even, and save a bit from each layer so it wouldn't be too thick. The middle layer was delicious, as usual. And a warning to everyone - heat the chocolate (I recommend using real chocolate, not chocolate chips), very slowly!! Also, after your squares have been made, sit them out for a bit and cut them before the chocolate top is completely hardened, but not while it is too soft that it's still runny!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HoserLauren March 16, 2008

Doesn't get better then Nanaimo Bars, and this recipe is easy and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KRD-SK February 15, 2008

Very good! Everyone I shared these with loved them, the perfect mix, not TOO sweet. The base was nice, a bit chewy and a little different from what I'm used to but I prefer it. I won't use another recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iglowforyou January 22, 2008
Nanaimo Bars