Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Nadav's Delicious Challah Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Nadav's Delicious Challah

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 27, 2011

      I plan to make this week. Went to several conversion sites to get info and found 1 kg = approx. 8 cups of flour, 450 ml = approx 15 oz. of water

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      can someone please help me with conversions? I need to know how many cups of flour will be equal to 1 kg. thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      Okay, I haven't tasted this yet, but it seemed too simple to work. I had to knead it a bunch to get it smooth and it didn't rise much, but it TOTALLY puffed up when it cooked and now they look SOOOO beautiful... I'll write after shabbat after we've tasted them! I wish I had made more so I could taste them now! Update: Okay, these were BEAUTIFUL inside and out but the state was just so so for me. Nothing out of this world. Just your run of the mill bread with no frills. Again, texture was AMAZING and it was rich (lots of flour to other ingredients) and AMAZINGLY easy to make. I MIGHT try to play with this...do a bit more in the way of sugar or just half whole wheat or oat flour or something...dunno. I'm still looking for a challah with this texture but with sweetness...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      Yummy!!! Made 2 huge loaves!!! I braided one into a typical 3 braid loaf. And the second one I did a Star of David (2 triangles). At least that's what it was supposed to be! LOL....delicious nonetheless!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      Asolutely the best bread loaves I have made in a long time! And you're right, they are totally idiot proof. I can't believe how easy this bread is to make. Yum!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      Fabulous, amazing, delicious! I followed your recipe exactly, and wow - wow! Never have I eaten a challah like this before, ever... This could be dangerous. I think I'll hit the gym tomorrow dangerous. Dangerously good. Thank you thank you thank you. Now I'm scared to try another challah recipe, I just don't see the point when you've reached perfection. Oh, and apart from praise to the quality, I want to mention this is how much bread I got out of it all: 1 six braided challah (GORGEOUS), 1 three braided challah, 1 magen david shaped challah, and one roll (12 long rolls pre-braiding in total). Wonderful. I can't thank you enough.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

      I have made this recipe several times now and it is fool-proof. It is one of my most requested bread recipes and always gets rave reveiws for taste; as well as, the beautiful apperance of the loaves.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2007

      Great challah!Low cholesterol and easy to make.Though we are melting literally here at the Canary Islands, I'm gonna make it all summer long.Thanks for posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      This recipe has no equal! It is absolutely amazing and delicious. A little extra work with all the kneading, but I believe it is what makes the difference between good challah and fabulous challah.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2006

      I have made many challahs in my days of bread baking, this one ranks high on my list and will remain on regular rotation at my house, it is a wonderful light challah with the perfect flavor, thank you for sharing this great recipe Mirj!...Kitten :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      YUM - the best challah i've made in a while. So light and fluffy - perfect texture - my mum devoured half a loaf whilst still hot - although 15 mins was a tad too short in baking! thanks mirj

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2005

      This was my first attempt at making challah and it turned out really good. The outside was golden brown and the inside was so soft and light. YUM! It looked pretty too. Everyone was so impressed with my "fancy" baking...we won't tell them how easy it was, will we?:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2004

      I can't begin to tell you how simple this recipe is. I used my standing mixer with the doughhook, and voila! I've never made challah without eggs in the dough, but it was quite rich in spite of the omission. Fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2004

      Not only had I never made a challah, I'd never eaten one ! I certainly will be doing so again because this is delicious and super-simple to do. I found that my dough initially was a bit too moist (I know that will depend on everyone's own weather conditions on the day) but a few tablespoons of flour added solved the problem. And apart for forgetting momentarily how to braid, this was lots of fun. Anyone can do this. Thanks for posting Mirj !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Nadav's Delicious Challah

    Serving Size: 1 (54 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 32

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 155.4
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    21%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 219.4 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.5 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites