Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Nacho Cheese Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Nacho Cheese Sauce

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on October 17, 2011

      Turned out perfectly, tasted great. To the people who complained of graininess/grittiness, that usually happens when you use lowfat dairy. It has nothing to do with the amount of flour in the recipe. I made a half batch of this with part whole milk and part heavy cream, omitting the onion because I hate chopping them, and everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      Holy Cow!!! This was awesome!! My kids loved it too! This was a great base to a awesome cheese sauce. I added some salt, garlic powder, cumin, and a touch of cayenne. Then also added some chopped jalepenos, as well as some of the jalepeno juice and it was AWESOME! I used this to make loaded nachos. With taco meat, then the cheese sauce, fresh onion, and some avacado! Thank you for posting such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2014

      It's a great base sauce recipe, I added a few things though such as, garlic powder, fresh jalape

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2012

      Great sauce! I added jalapeno, and used tapioca flour/starch for a gluten free version. Very thick and creamy! My milk was 1% and it wasn't gritty at all, very smooth, and silky.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2011

      I made this for my husbands nachos & he was very disappointed. It was very gritty and I followed the instructions to a T.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      This was okay. I made a mental note not to add as much flour as another reviewer said it was gritty, but then I forgot. So, it was a little gritty. I used half mild cheddar, half sharp as I did not know which was intended. I didn't think it was cheesy enough, so maybe I should have used 1 lb. of sharp. I also added a jalepeno and a can of green chiles. I would up it to atleast two jalepenos next time. And reduce the flour. Overall, not too bad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      Great base for customizing! I think I've settled on finding the best/easiest way for me being to skip the onion, just do the remaining ingredients. But adding a couple big spoonfuls of salsa at the end--just delicious. Used it tonight to dip warm, homemade pretzels into and it was awesome comfort food. Thanks for a great non-Velveeta option!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      Wonderful nacho sauce. I added a 7 oz. can of diced green chilies, about 2/3 c. thick and chunky medium salsa, and 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder; found the consistency to be just right as is. Thank you so much for a basic recipe with NO Velvita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      A little "gritty", but DELISH!!!! Getting ready to make it for the 2nd time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      This sauce is good, but I had a couple of minor problems with it. I found the finished sauce was much too thick, so I ended up thinning it out a bit with about a third cup of milk. I also added about a tablespoon of chili powder and a teaspoon or so of cayenne, plus salt and pepper, to give it some flavor. With those changes, it's a great cheese sauce. I think I will do as one reviewer suggested and add some salsa next time to really kick up the flavor, and a jalapeno added with the onion wouldn't hurt either.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      My son was pestering me to make nacho sauce, so I chose this bcz it doesn't use Velveeta. It didn't come out as smooth as Velveeta, but pretty close. I added some salsa to give it more flavor and it was pretty good. I would add some garlic next time and maybe a jalapeno.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2007

      My DH and I really liked this (we made the nacho version). I did make a few changes- I added half a jalapeno toward the end of sauteeing the onions, used half the amount of onion called for, and then added some crushed red pepper flakes. Next time, however, I will use all the onion like you directed because I think that would have been better (I used less because I thought my DH might not like that much.) I ended up having to add some onion powder since I didn't use as much onion as called for and found it lacking a bit. My hubby said about 3 or 4 times, "this is really good!" Most dishes get only one of those responses so thank you! I also loved that it didn't use velveeta and instead used REAL cheddar cheese. This makes a really smooth, creamy nacho cheese and it's great because it can be tinkered with to suit your families taste buds! Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Nacho Cheese Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (147 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 454.0
     
    Calories from Fat 322
    71%
    Total Fat 35.8 g
    55%
    Saturated Fat 22.7 g
    113%
    Cholesterol 111.2 mg
    37%
    Sodium 578.8 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 22.4 g
    44%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes