Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Naan Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Naan Bread

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on December 31, 2009

      I don't think I have to pay the high price of Naan ever again. Very easy to produce. I didn't need all of the flour in the end and I also skipped the last two ingredients. Baked them on my baking stone as well. I shaped them into ovals. They make really nice pizzas too. Thank you for posting it. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2014

      I've only been to one Indian restaurant in my life. I wasn't served bread there. Perhaps I'm not the best judge of whether this is a good naan recipe or not. However, I have a bit of experience working with yeast. About the only thing I can say for sure is this recipe does produce a flat bread that tastes good. Two risings and garlic in the dough made for a nicely flavored bread. I tried to keep the dough a bit slack, or moist, while kneading. I still ended up with a somewhat heavy bread. I suspect it was because I accidentally added the garlic in the beginning and some yeast might have been killed off. I baked the dough on my pizza stone in a 550 degree oven. The first 3 came out like flat bread. The rest puffed up like pita bread. I'm not sure if naan usually does that. I will try this recipe again. Thanks for sharing it. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2012

      These are so good. I have made them many time. These are so much better than the store bought, and much less expensive.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2012

    • on April 23, 2012

      *Almost* exactly like the naan at our favorite Indian restaurant. It took a few tries to get the hang of cooking these on a non stick skillet. I made them extremely thin and that seemed to work best. These would definitely be good for a Mexican gordita as another poster suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2011

      My husband and daughter loved this. Now I get asked to make this for taco night as it is sorta gordita like lol thanks you for this it is now in my regular rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2010

      We absolutely loved this! My 2 yo kept asking for more bread. We had to bribe him with Naan to get him to eat him Chicken Curry & Rice! I used my cast iron grill griddle pan on the stove top to cook these, and used EVOO instead of butter. My husband was actually doing the naan while I did the curry and rice. It got a bit smokey, not sure if it was because of him, or the oil, but they tasted wonderful! This is getting printed and put in my Zaar Binder!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      My family LOVED these! I have never acctually had naan and do not usually like middle eastern food, but I love flat bread, so I tried this. The recipe was very easy to follow. I did use whole wheat flour but other than that followed the recipe exactly and they were just fabulous. I don't have a grill, so I cooked them in a skillet and they worked out great. I am going to make these again tonight for the 2nd time at my DH's request. Oh, I served them with a big salad for dinner. Thanks for the recipe, definately a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      Very good Naan! Had them tonight with butter chicken, dal, and raita. I broiled mine also tonight, but might try the grill the next. I didn't quite use all the flour either. Thanks for posting. This was easy and good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      A note about this is don't try to use the bread machine. The texture is no where what it should be. I was trying to save some time. That being said even with MY mess up the taste of the naan was awesome! That is why I gave it a 5. It's not Lebanese's fault I didn't follow her directions. LOL Next time I will follow them to the tee and I know they will be even more wonderful than they are right now even with the so so texture. :) On another note: I broiled mine. I moved the rack to the 2nd from top spot. I preheated the oven with the pizza stone in it to 500 degrees F. I baked the naan for 2-3 minutes. You need to watch carefully so they don't burn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Naan Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (85 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 231.6
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    18%
    Total Fat 4.8 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 26.2 mg
    8%
    Sodium 334.1 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.5 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes