25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Deserves 10 stars! Easy, fabulous, versatile. I sprinkled salt on top before baking them and it was great. Brought up the idea that you could add garlic, italian seasoning, grill seasoning, all kinds of things to go with all kinds of cuisines. I will be making this bread again and again, my husband went crazy over it:) Thanks so much!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
baking&biking March 29, 2009

Great Naan, and I can't believe I made it myself! I started with 3 cups of flour (thanks swiz58 for the tip!), and added more as I needed. The dough is stickier/milkier than I'm used to but it was cool to learn about a new kind of bread. I did skip brushing them with butter because I had a loud and crazy toddler in the wings, but I will definitely ad the butter next time as it makes a naan truly a naan! Thanks for the great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz May 26, 2010

I was so glad my guests saw me make this, they never would have believed that I did it myself. I started with 3 cups of flour and then added more as I kneaded it

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swiz58 March 19, 2010

The naan I made turned out great looking. I used a skillet because I hate my oven. My roommate came home and said - it even looks right! But it did not have much flavor. Next time I will add garlic before cooking.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmeliaW June 12, 2008

For me, there is no better naan recipe out there, and I've been baking naan for more than 5 years. I pulse all the dry ingredients first in my processor and then add all the wet ingredients at once after mixing them together. I used instant yeast and cold milk. Ran the processor for 45 seconds and checked the dough. It was very wet so I added small amounts of flour and pulsed until the dough was soft and a bit tacky. Put dough in oiled bowl for about 2 hours and cut it into 8 NOT 9 pieces to save time and make the naans a bit larger. Flattened the balls by hand and rolled them with a pin into elongated ovals after sprinkling them with kilonji and baked them 4 at a time on a pizza stone preheated to 500 F for about a minute and a half on each side. Removed naans from the oven and using a stick of unsalted butter, applied butter to the top of each naan. Allowed the naans to cool a bit under a clean towel--even paper towels would do--and dove in. Soft and delicious. And the seeds didn't fall off!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hermswok January 24, 2015

i love this naan bread ive made it a few times and its the only bread that has worked for me every single time i use the left overs as wraps and i also make this bread to accompany an awesome curry in a hurry recipes which ive also got from here.love love love.this one is definitely a recipe to keep

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jme girl February 02, 2014

Where, oh, where has NAAN been all my life? I'd never had it, nor made it, until last week, when I was making a chickpea masala recipe, and naan was suggested as an accompaniment. This is a superb recipe. I cooked mine on the stovetop griddle, though, instead of oven-baking. Quite fun, and mmmmm the delicious flavor. I made another batch yesterday, adding some grated Vidalia onion, and used them as personal-pizza crusts. Thanks, A&A'sMUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
La Dilettante July 02, 2013

mmmm... made it again! yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marmie's January 26, 2012

This was very easy to make because the directions were so easy to follow. I wished I double the serving size because the whole family really enjoyed it and wanted more. I served the Naan Bread with http://www.food.com/recipe/indian-butter-chicken-86753 and a tomato salad. We had a perfect dinner. Thanks Aaliyah&Aaron's mum for sharing a wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer November 09, 2010

I've tried making this twice and my husband and I do not like it. It tastes like pretzel dough and is nothing like the naan at our favorite restaurant.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keagan Marie July 03, 2010
Naan Bread