165 Reviews

A nice and easy way to have the perfect indian bread with things handy at our home kitchen :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
29.natasha March 12, 2012

These were so good,easy to make, and didnt require an extra run to the market! I cut the amounts in half for the two of us.Due to other peoples reviews I added 1 full tspn of a season salt (goya adobo seasoning) to the mix and I added 1 whole TBSP of baking powder to the 2 cups of flour.I let it rest for 1 1/2 hours and cooked them on the stove top till done.I didnt even bother with the oven...both my hubby and I thought they were great.Make sure to roll them out really thin as they puffed up really thick.I think it still could have used a bit more season salt as the finished product lacked a bit of flavor.Definatly one for my recipe box!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefWantABe October 02, 2011

This is really tasty flat bread with a lovely sour tang from the yogurt, but it is not like any other nann I've ever had. It is denser and less pillow-y than the naan I'm used to and reminds me more of a sourdough pancake or something. It is, however, yummy and easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs September 15, 2011

this was super easy and really delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joanna K July 24, 2011

I halved the recipe and used plain Greek Yogurt. I also added cilantro to the dough. Delish for gyros. Next time, I'll try just adding Tumeric.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Regina in AZ May 01, 2011

With so many reviews, this probably does not need another, but we all liked this very much. Nice change from rice with curry. I think toasting it up on both sides a cast iron fry pan is better than the high oven heat after toasting just one side on the stove top. I found the bottoms were scorching before the tops even gained any color.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KWB April 19, 2011

Very simple and tasty recipe, thanks for posting!
I followed the recipe exactly, w/ the addition of brushing the tops w/ melted butter as they came out of the oven.
Thinner is definitely better, and next time I might try more spices in the melted butter. Another commenter mentioned putting the naan in a foil envelope as they came out of the oven, and it worked really well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lurcher March 15, 2011

Wonderful! Used 1/2 whole wheat, 1/2 white flour. Cooked on pizza stone in oven set at 450.

I don't think I'll ever make naan that compares to my favorite Indian restaurant, but this is the best recipe I've come across (and I've tried many).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
snowpeasandcarrots January 24, 2011

The texture of this bread does not match that of my favorite Indian restaurant. I generally bake my naan for 3-4 mins on each side in a 500 degree oven. I use 2 fiestaware platters that I put in the oven while it preheats so I can cook 4 at a time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keagan Marie July 03, 2010
Naan