Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Naan Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Naan

    Average Rating:

    160 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 160

    Sort by:

    • on July 16, 2009

      i made this for my blog's indian feast. i wasn't terribly pleased with the consistency, but check out more in depth comments and pictures: http://legallyeating.com/2009/07/16/tikka-masala-a-long-and-winding-road/

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      Pretty good, tasted just like Naan, but pretty time consuming and we needed to add a lot of flour to make it workable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

    • on March 13, 2009

    • on February 24, 2009

      Excellent and easy recipe for naan. I added more salt and a garlic seasoning powder to boost the flavor. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      We went to "India" in Providence, R.I. and had naan bread for the first time. This recipe was close! I brushed the top with butter, grated ginger, and honey and then baked it on my stoneware under the broiler. I added a few spices to the dough trying to find the right combination for a impromptu garam masala. Yummy, but not as fluffy as the restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      This a fantastic recipe! Easy and fun to make. I serve the naan with vegetarian curry and it's one of our favorite dinners.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      These were great! I brushed a mixture of garlic, olive oil & salt over them once they were cooked & covered them with foil until dinner was ready. My husband said he'd made naan ages ago but the result wasn't worth the effort. This recipe was so quick & easy I'll be making these to go with all of our curries! Champion! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      Worth a try! Wasn't restaurant quality, but was pretty good without having a tandoori oven! They really didn't have too much flavor for me, though, until after putting some butter, a sprinkling of salt and some cilantro on top. But goes well with indian food to dip in the sauce. Would maybe add garlic butter next time for a little more flavor. Mine didn't puff up much, but they were nice and tender. Leftover heated up pretty well the following day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      I must have not followed the directions correctly because mine really didn't puff up. The end result was so-so, they were too dense. I will have to give it another go.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      Perfect. I actually made my Naan on a pizza stone. Just make sure the oven is fully preheated, even after the preheat light turns off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      This was really easy and tasty. We used the cast iron skillet, and it did leave big black splotches on the one side. We found that sticking it in the oven for 1 minute was the best way to keep it soft. Even the kids ate it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      I have made this recipe twice. It came out better the second time. I let it rest for at least two hours before rolling and cooking. Very easy dough to work with. We have leftovers for later this week. Maybe I will try to freeze a couple to see how it works out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      This didn't taste bad, but it didn't have the texture of naan. It was far too thin and didn't rise much, and where it did puff up, it was completely hair-thin and crunchy. In the places where the dough was a little thicker, it was way too dense and hard to taste like naan. I made this to go with a dum murgh biryani and it wasn't terrible, but it wasn't anything like actual naan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      I made these last week, and they were really good while still warm from the oven. I did as one reviewer suggested and used melted butter and parmesan cheese. I think I'll eliminate the butter and parmesan cheese next time, and maybe they'll be edible the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      Wonderful recipe, so easy and what a result. We had it with a couple of meat curries but it was lovely just with raita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      My husband and I love Indian food, and my first attempt at cooking this style resulted in disaster. Well last night, I decided to give it another go and make two indian dishes (Palak Paneer by Sue L and Mekhani Chicken by Grace Lynn) as well as some homemade Naan. Most of the recipes called for yeast, but then I came across this recipe with minimal ingredients that seemed rather easy. Not only was it easy, but absolutely delicious! My husband thought this Naan was much better than what we are served at our favorite indian restaurant! The only changes I made was I didn't use the oven as the directions suggest, opting to cook them on the griddle on lower heat, flipping several times. I also melted some butter mixed with some garlic and brushed the dough before cooking. All-in-all the night was a raving success. With the leftovers from the two dishes, it'll make a great dinner tonight too. But I'll be making some more of this awesome Naan because that was the one thing we completely devoured.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2008

      excellent recipe! very simple. i only had about 1.5 cups of greek yogurt, so i made up some of the moisture with some unsweetened plain almond milk. i also brushed them with olive oil on both sides before cooking. this could be a very versatile base recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      These were so easy and so quick to make. I halved the recipe and added garlic to the dough. I thought that the dough would stick to the dry pan or the rack but it was so easy. I played around with flipping them a couple times to see if they would rise anymore but it didn't seem to make a difference. I served this with a chicken vindaloo and it just made the meal. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Naan

    Serving Size: 1 (100 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 213.1
     
    Calories from Fat 11
    27%
    Total Fat 1.2 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 2.9 mg
    0%
    Sodium 304.1 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 7.7 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes