162 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

So easy and so good! This was my first attempt at naan and they got better as I went (thinner is good). I made half the recipe and use my kitchenaid stand mixer to do the mixing and needing with good effect.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
reachsarah July 30, 2010

I cut this recipe down so that it only made two naans. The flavor was great! I wish that it had been a little softer, but the next time I'm going to try to leave it a little thicker and see if that helps! Still, tasted AMAZING. I brushed some melted butter on it after it came out of the oven. MMMM!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vdm86 July 30, 2010

I tried making a different recipe because I didn't have yogurt, but it just didn't work out. This was sooo much better. Initially, I didn't wait long enough before I tried rolling the dough, at it was pretty gooey and stuck to the rolling pin. With time, the gooeyness went away. I used a circular plate to cut out the shape of the naan, just to make them uniformed and pretty.I also threw in some spices to the naan, although I didn't taste it all that much.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wittlebit83 July 06, 2010

Phenomenally easy, simple ingredients, and I liked the texture better than that of many naans -- a little moister and chewier, but plenty fluffy for my preference and much easier than using yeast. Four stars because it was a bit bland. I will add more salt next time and probably some garlic powder or other spices.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LightEra February 23, 2009

I was about to give up on making naan with no yeast. I've made some pretty good recipes but they were never as good as yeasted naan. I'm glad I tried this recipe before giving up. These are great. I let the dough rest about 5 hours. Since I was too lazy to turn on my oven I made these completely on the stove in an iron skillet. I'm glad I cut the recipe in half for my small family to enjoy. Otherwise I would have eaten way too many of these. The large quantity of yogurt gives the bread a great flavor and texture. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryandkevinaz January 05, 2015

Awesome. Had I known how easy it was to make I would have been making these for years. So simple and delish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claidan February 09, 2012

These turned out very well. I cut them into 12 pieces to roll them very thin like restaurant naan. If you want them pliable skip the oven broiling, just give a quick flip in the pan and leave them for a few seconds to brown the other side instead. Thanks pattikay! [Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
averybird December 31, 2011

Excellent! Loved the texture. I did add more salt as suggested and also added a some Greek seasoning and ground corriander and would do the same thing next time. I cooked mine using a cast iron skillet and didn't bother with the oven. I filled mine with a kabab, shredded lettuce, onion, tomato and sauce. I love that the naan didn't fall apart or break. It kind of stretched. I'll be aming these again for sure. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview October 21, 2011

These turned out great. On my stove the best ones were made just below medium heat in an iron skillet. Wait until the dough starts to bubble and you can just start to smell it browning, flip over for a few seconds, then put into the oven. They will fill up like a balloon after about 1 minute in the oven. Take them out as soon as they are full of air. Also, I found that they don't puff up as much if you roll them too thick, which is bad.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
superoxen January 16, 2011

Perfect! So much better and cheaper than the store-bought naan I can get here in Texas. I'll be making this often. Followed the recipe and instructions exactly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debtex October 30, 2010
Naan