Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Naan Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Naan

    Average Rating:

    160 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 160

    Sort by:

    • on September 03, 2010

      turned out really well, used half whole wheat flour and half white. found that the ones that were rolled thinner puffed up better. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      Beware making these--you will gobble them all up, make more, and eat those too. These are SO good. Easy to make, too, though a little time consuming. I flatten mine out in a tortilla press. I found the flatter, the better. Getting them paper thin to the point of nearly tearing gave them those puffy little pockets like restaurant naan. I've used store-bought yogurt as well as homemade nonfat yogurt, and both work well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2010

      I used whole wheat pastry flour and nonfat plain yogurt. I also added two teaspoons of turmeric for color and flavor, divided the dough into 16 small rounds, and brushed the finished product with melted garlic butter and Indian spices. They were amazing! Chewy, crisp, light, and puffy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      This recipe is so good and so simple. If I don't want to use the oven, I have used a frying pan to cook both sides and it turns out just fine. I even use this bread instead of hamburger buns. It tastes especially good with Curried Pork Burgers #431629

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2010

      What a great simple, fun recipe this was to make with excellent results. I went to buy naan for our curry dinner tonight, but was shocked at the fat count, so decided to make my own low fat version. Your recipe was perfect and I'm so glad I found it. I'll be making this again as we eat lots of curry. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2010

      This was my first time making naan, and it turned out really well. I noticed that the fatter ones did better than the thinner ones, and the 4 minutes on the stovetop worked well for me. SSSSOOOOOOO GOOD!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      What a wonderful recipe! And so easy to make!!! I halved the recipe since I have never tried it before, and it worked well. I will not half it next time. I used half whole wheat and half unbleached white. Next time I will try 100% whole wheat and update on how it turns out. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      Super easy and yummy! Everyone raves about this Naan every time I make it--I add about 1/2 tsp. of rapid rise yeast to mine, without proofing--it seems to add to the chew of the bread without having to wait for a full rise yeast leavened naan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      I can't wait to make this again using the right ingredients. (I bought vanilla yogurt by mistake, and they were still fabulous!) I mixed the dough (using half whole-wheat pastry flour) in my bread maker, which made it super easy. I had to add more flour to get the right texture, but it rolled out great and they were very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2010

      So easy and so good! This was my first attempt at naan and they got better as I went (thinner is good). I made half the recipe and use my kitchenaid stand mixer to do the mixing and needing with good effect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2010

      I cut this recipe down so that it only made two naans. The flavor was great! I wish that it had been a little softer, but the next time I'm going to try to leave it a little thicker and see if that helps! Still, tasted AMAZING. I brushed some melted butter on it after it came out of the oven. MMMM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      I tried making a different recipe because I didn't have yogurt, but it just didn't work out. This was sooo much better. Initially, I didn't wait long enough before I tried rolling the dough, at it was pretty gooey and stuck to the rolling pin. With time, the gooeyness went away. I used a circular plate to cut out the shape of the naan, just to make them uniformed and pretty.I also threw in some spices to the naan, although I didn't taste it all that much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      Phenomenally easy, simple ingredients, and I liked the texture better than that of many naans -- a little moister and chewier, but plenty fluffy for my preference and much easier than using yeast. Four stars because it was a bit bland. I will add more salt next time and probably some garlic powder or other spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2012

      Awesome. Had I known how easy it was to make I would have been making these for years. So simple and delish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2011

      These turned out very well. I cut them into 12 pieces to roll them very thin like restaurant naan. If you want them pliable skip the oven broiling, just give a quick flip in the pan and leave them for a few seconds to brown the other side instead. Thanks pattikay! [Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2011

      Excellent! Loved the texture. I did add more salt as suggested and also added a some Greek seasoning and ground corriander and would do the same thing next time. I cooked mine using a cast iron skillet and didn't bother with the oven. I filled mine with a kabab, shredded lettuce, onion, tomato and sauce. I love that the naan didn't fall apart or break. It kind of stretched. I'll be aming these again for sure. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      These turned out great. On my stove the best ones were made just below medium heat in an iron skillet. Wait until the dough starts to bubble and you can just start to smell it browning, flip over for a few seconds, then put into the oven. They will fill up like a balloon after about 1 minute in the oven. Take them out as soon as they are full of air. Also, I found that they don't puff up as much if you roll them too thick, which is bad.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2010

      Perfect! So much better and cheaper than the store-bought naan I can get here in Texas. I'll be making this often. Followed the recipe and instructions exactly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2010

      This recipe is awesome!! For those who commented that this naan is not as good as their fav restaurant, I am sorry. This is every bit as good if made according to the specific instructions. When rolled out very thin, they puff up and get nice and brown. I did brush with the melted butter and that is even better!! Next time I will try adding some whole wheat flour just to see if the end result is just as good but healthier.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      Really great! DS bought naan at the store (he likes to make pizza with it) and it was $2.50 for two pieces. I found this recipe and it turned out great! I'll be making this often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Naan

    Serving Size: 1 (100 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 213.1
     
    Calories from Fat 11
    27%
    Total Fat 1.2 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 2.9 mg
    0%
    Sodium 304.1 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 7.7 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites