Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / N .y. C. Irish Soda Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    N .y. C. Irish Soda Bread

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on April 27, 2010

      This turned out wonderful! I cooked mine in my rotisserie counter top oven and it was done all the way through at 35 minutes. The funny thing is that I find it tastes like KFC biscuits, only with raisins!!LOL. Which is perfect for me since here in Québec the KFC's don't sell biscuits! So thanks again!! I posted a picture too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      This recipe is very traditional, but I like my bread a little bit sweeter, so I put in 1.5x the brown sugar. I do not knead this dough by hand it is much to sticky, I just fold it in a bowl and it comes out fine. I also grease a cup cake tray and use that instead of making a loaf, the middle is never undercooked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2002

      This is great bread! The only thing I did differently is lower the heat to 325 at the end, and bake an additional 10 minutes. After 35 minutes at 375, the outside was done, but the middle was still very doughy. Thanks for posting this, I will make it again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      I had never made soda bread before, it's very much like a large raisin scone. Like other reviewers I found the centre wasn't quite done at 35 minutes, I put it back in the oven for another 10 minutes. It was very yummy hot out of the oven slathered in butter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      Perfect loaf! Made exactly as written, using currants. Covered last 8 minutes with foil and it was a golden moist tasty side for our irish feast. Leftovers toasted beautifully this morning for breakfast.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      Hi Len! Here it is almost a year later & I cant wait to make this bread again! this year, I'm making a few to give out. I do however like mine sweet, so I may add a touch of sugar to this recipe. I tried to find a way to send you a message but I cant so I was wondering if you have any good recipes for Colcannon? Thanks again for great Irish recipes! PS- Your profile ironically says today is your B-Day! Happy B-Day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      This bread was so good. I used half wheat flour and half white flour and it was great. I would have preferred it without raisins, but my husband liked it like that. So good warm with butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      So easy to make ,the kids and hubby raved over it..made it easily even under pressure for time,better than store bought..thanks for this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      For some reason, my bread comes out quite wet, so I kneed in maybe another 1/2 cup of flour to make it a soft dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      Great recipe. I've tried store bought soda bread a couple of times and never liked it. It was always dry and grainy and bland. So I decided to find a recipe and make a loaf. Much different! Easy to make and this "sweeter" version went great with breakfast. I'll probably use this recipe again. Only problem I had was the time - after 35 minutes it was nice and browned but when I cut into it this morning the center was still a bit raw. Should have paid more heed to Besu's review!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      This is the first Irish soda bread I've ever made, and I was thrilled with how it turned out. I made my own buttermilk for the first time, too. Golden raisins were used instead if standard raisins. The bread cooked on a stone, and just as with some of the other commenters, the inside was not fully cooked yet after 35 minutes. (I tested with a toothpick.) I covered the bread with aluminum foil and baked it another 15 minutes on 325-degrees, and it was perfectly done. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      I made this to go with Corned Beef With Mustard Glaze. I have tried many other recipes on zaar and I like this the best so far. I was looking for a sweet bread and the brown sugar must be the secret. Do try this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      This recipe ought to be called "NYC Irish Soda Bread" for dummies..... Easy as can be and fool proof! I forgot to add the brown sugar at the appropriate time and I didn't see the step to knead the bread and it still turned out ROCKIN' despite by being baking challenged. I added currents instead of raisins and it is awesome. I love the touch of brown sugar (yes I did add). It is light and fluffy and truly delightful! Thank you Len for a wonderful recipe! It's a perfect size too. UPDATE! My 10 y/o DD made a 2nd loaf ...... so yummy! This time we followed the directions to a "t". Still wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      I just made this bread for our St. Patty's dinner and it was fantastic! I didn't have any buttermilk so I added a little vinegar to my milk and also adjusted the cooking time as suggested by another review and it was absolutely the best bread I've ever made! I'm going to make a few more loaves right now for gifts! Thanks for a great bread Len!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2007

      I would have given this great bread 5 stars but the ingredients list was not complete and ingredients where listed in the wrong order.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      This was AWESOME. My Hubby, who's Irish, had never had Soda bread. I try to add something new to the "St. Pats" dinner each year. This year it was this. Super easy to put together and I was surprised at how good it was. I used currents instead of raisins, was the only change. Will be using this on a regular basis. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2006

      Very dense bread, with a hint of sweetness; tasty. I used half whole wheat flour and was happy with the results. I'll definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2005

      Very good! Very hearty. My guests when back for 3rds!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2005

      Delicious! Making it with cranberries instead of raisins is also a good option. Thanks for a fabulous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2005

      Fantastic! The kids polished off this loaf in a matter of minutes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for N .y. C. Irish Soda Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (686 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1755.9
     
    Calories from Fat 436
    24%
    Total Fat 48.4 g
    74%
    Saturated Fat 26.4 g
    132%
    Cholesterol 470.9 mg
    156%
    Sodium 2233.5 mg
    93%
    Total Carbohydrate 285.9 g
    95%
    Dietary Fiber 9.4 g
    37%
    Sugars 79.5 g
    318%
    Protein 47.0 g
    94%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites