23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This turned out wonderful! I cooked mine in my rotisserie counter top oven and it was done all the way through at 35 minutes. The funny thing is that I find it tastes like KFC biscuits, only with raisins!!LOL. Which is perfect for me since here in Québec the KFC's don't sell biscuits! So thanks again!! I posted a picture too.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy Duchesne April 27, 2010

This recipe is very traditional, but I like my bread a little bit sweeter, so I put in 1.5x the brown sugar. I do not knead this dough by hand it is much to sticky, I just fold it in a bowl and it comes out fine. I also grease a cup cake tray and use that instead of making a loaf, the middle is never undercooked.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Xylocoyne March 21, 2010

This is great bread! The only thing I did differently is lower the heat to 325 at the end, and bake an additional 10 minutes. After 35 minutes at 375, the outside was done, but the middle was still very doughy. Thanks for posting this, I will make it again for sure.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terri F. February 21, 2002

I had never made soda bread before, it's very much like a large raisin scone. Like other reviewers I found the centre wasn't quite done at 35 minutes, I put it back in the oven for another 10 minutes. It was very yummy hot out of the oven slathered in butter.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gumboot Gourmet March 18, 2010

Perfect loaf! Made exactly as written, using currants. Covered last 8 minutes with foil and it was a golden moist tasty side for our irish feast. Leftovers toasted beautifully this morning for breakfast.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
johnanddee369 March 18, 2009

Hi Len! Here it is almost a year later & I cant wait to make this bread again! this year, I'm making a few to give out. I do however like mine sweet, so I may add a touch of sugar to this recipe. I tried to find a way to send you a message but I cant so I was wondering if you have any good recipes for Colcannon? Thanks again for great Irish recipes! PS- Your profile ironically says today is your B-Day! Happy B-Day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
D. Rose February 06, 2010

This bread was so good. I used half wheat flour and half white flour and it was great. I would have preferred it without raisins, but my husband liked it like that. So good warm with butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pell March 18, 2009

So easy to make ,the kids and hubby raved over it..made it easily even under pressure for time,better than store bought..thanks for this recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyontheblok March 18, 2009

For some reason, my bread comes out quite wet, so I kneed in maybe another 1/2 cup of flour to make it a soft dough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
C Harris March 17, 2009

Great recipe. I've tried store bought soda bread a couple of times and never liked it. It was always dry and grainy and bland. So I decided to find a recipe and make a loaf. Much different! Easy to make and this "sweeter" version went great with breakfast. I'll probably use this recipe again. Only problem I had was the time - after 35 minutes it was nice and browned but when I cut into it this morning the center was still a bit raw. Should have paid more heed to Besu's review!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma March 17, 2009
N .y. C. Irish Soda Bread