88 Reviews

I'm originally from New England, and, have a wee bit of Irish in me. My mother, who was German and English, fixed our corned beef and cabbage exactly the same way when she used store bought corned beef. However, the old English corned beef is soaked in brine. You can use any kind of beef, such as chuck, sirloin, or fresh brisket, not an expensive cut. Wash it in cold water, put in pot big enough so that it can be covered with cold water, add 1 box of un-iodized salt, cover, put in refrigerator for 3 days. Turn a couple times during three days. (72 hrs. is sufficient, but, a few more or less won't matter.) Meat will be grayish in color, but, this in no way affects the flavor. On cooking day, rinse off salt, put in pot and cover with fresh cold water. Bring to boil, then, lower heat to a simmer. No spices are added, just all the veggies incl. onions, taters, cabbage, turnip,and, maybe a parsnip or two, after the meat is fork tender. At this point, I remove the meat from pot, cover with foil, and put aside, then add the veggies. The only thing we ever drank with it was beer, and it's one of our very favorite dishes. Just one comment. I believe the person who wrote this meant "gristle", not grizzle. Grizzle happens to be my daughter-in-law's maiden name. We always had rye bread with it to soak up some of the pot liquor. I've made myself hungry, so must go and get something to eat.

28 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Letty Green December 19, 2001

I am sure this is an excellent recipe. However I just want to comment that I was born in Dublin Ireland and we ate corn beef regularly.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MARY7 March 04, 2002

WONDERFUL!!!!! I did everything as is except I used the seasoning packet provided with the meat and used 1 bay leaf + the peppercorns. The mashed garlic and butter with the potatoes was out of this world. We pour the cooking juice over everything on the plate + a little S&P and it was great. I can't wait to have this dinner again!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW February 06, 2003

I've made this recipe every St. Pat's day since 2008; it's wonderful. I use the leftovers to make your March 18th breakfast (#15844) too! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe-YUM!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmm29 March 16, 2011

I can't stop licking my fingers!!!!!! Thanks for the recipe and for taking the extra time advising the novice how to choose the ingredients. My firts but definitely not my last...... and I had leftovers for berakfast!!!! WHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doydy March 15, 2011

It was as good as anone could expect corned beef and cabbage to be, but I did throw the meat in a frying pan to brown it a little and make it look less... boiled. THanks for the leftovers tip!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jackie.knight March 18, 2010

I was a little disappointed in this recipe. I chose it because of all the reviews it got and was surprised when I tasted the broth after the 2 hours of simmering and before I added the other ingredients. I wanted the veggies to be infused with the flavor of the stock liquid and it tasted very bland ( granted I substituted the beer for chicken broth...but still.) So I improvised and added some brown sugar and lots of salt and some mustard. By the way, about the mustard, you mention it as part of the ingredients but the list of instructions does not mention what to do with it! The potatoes with butter, garlic and parsley turned out great but lacked salt. I loved this meal...but I gave it 3 stars because the meat, veggies and liquid tasted as good as they did because of the improvisations I made. Thanks to you though I was able to at least have the yummy potatoes and also make your Irish Soda Bread which turned out excellent.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy Duchesne April 27, 2010

Yum! Not the first time I've made corned beef and cabbage, but it's the first time my DH said, "You can make this every week!" Simple but delicious!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karencookie March 22, 2010

Great !! Thats for taking the time to share with us.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mr Crackers March 21, 2010

Excellent!! Followed instructions with no variations. It is true, fresh parsley is the only way to go. The potatoes were very good. Thanks to your Great Grandma & you for sharing this recipe. Seems like "Grandma's" always have great tasting food.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diggerdo2 March 18, 2010
N. Y. C. Corned Beef and Cabbage