14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've made this probably 5 or 6 times and it is amazing! I usually leave out the chopped dates and add a few more chocolate chips :) We've had special requests to make this bread over and over again. Thank you for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mikey & ev November 21, 2009

I thought this loaf was quite nice. It was very easy to make, smelled absolutely divine when it was cooking, but was lacking something I thought. Next time I'd definitely add more nuts, because I couldn't taste them. Maybe some cardamom too?? Thanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cherlyndria77 June 22, 2007

A critical team of 7 people (5 Swiss, 1 Italian and 1 from Holland) tasted this cake and the overall verdict was three stars. We all thought this cake tasted very much like a winter cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tigerduck July 31, 2005

This sounds so good for a luscious breakfast bread, or to be served with a cup of strong Greek or Turkish coffee. I really like this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmacooks July 31, 2005

An interesting combination of flavours! Yes, this recipe is - very easy to make, smells wonderful when baking; baked for 1 hour 10 minutes. The flavour is different, but good! Using 1 cup of brown sugar and the dates did make the loaf quite sweet. I am curious about the name?? Mystic Moon?? Good luck in the RSC contest!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elly in Canada July 25, 2005

I was really looking forward to this, but it did not turn out quite as I had hoped. The bake time was too long ( mine was over done at 50 minutes). The combo of the dates and chocolate was too sweet for my tastes. It was also a little too dense for my preference. But I do give my praise to the creator coming up with a dessert type dish for this contest. I really racked my brain to think of one to enter and I couldn't come up with anything!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara portee July 24, 2005

I had hoped to make this during the first round and ran out of time. This has a nice flavor; however, it was a little dry. Maybe if I had soaked the dates first or added some oil to the batter. In my oven and at my altitude the bread was done in about 45 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG July 22, 2005

Mmm, Mmm, Mmm- this was scrumptious! I found myself going back for 2nds and 3rds... I had most of the ingredients on hand which was also nice. I'm a big fan of tahini, pistachios and chocolate so this was a winner in my book. My sisters enjoyed the morsels that I was willing to part with as well...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nessie in New York July 15, 2005

Had to supply morning tea for work and I wanted to try this RSC recipe so two birds were killed with one stone. Popular loaf which everyone enjoyed and the tahini got a lot of people by surprise. Very easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat July 14, 2005
Mystic Moon Pistachio Date Nut Loaf