11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My young son won 1st place in the pie cooking category in a state competition using this recipe. We found that if you chill the cream mixture a little before turning it into the shell and use roughly chopped pecans, plus keep the pie cool it will hold together better. It is a real crowd pleasing pie.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DURANGO August 12, 2002

My kids didn't like this pie too much, but my husband and I LOVED it. It is a grown-up treat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LolaG June 21, 2004

I was more than pleased with the results and it was a hit at Thanksgiving. I don't know if I will ever make a regular pecan pie again. Delicious and not terribly sweet as many pecan pies can be. Easy to make, too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Lady November 25, 2012

My Mom and Dad were the owners of the restaurant in Indy and Marco girl is my sister. This pie, as were all of their pies, were the best and yes, do NOT add salt. I had forgotten about this recipe, so it will be on the table for Christmas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tulipsareyellow November 27, 2009

My Mom and Dad had a restaurant in Indy for 40yrs. This was one of the homemade pies they made. There was no salt in it and she always used light corn syrup. It was a favorite. The name of the restaurant was Dodd's Townehouse.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marco girl November 23, 2009

It's an interesting concept, but I would have to change the recipe to make it again. 1st, I found it way too salty (I used the exact tsp measure) and would not add any salt next time because it really ruined the taste of the cream cheese filling. 2nd, the recipe allowed for dark corn syrup, so I tried it although I normally use the light syrup in pecan pies. bad idea.. it adds sort of a sickly sweet molasses-caramel taste. 3rd, I really think 1 tsp of vanilla would be enough in the whole pie. Overall, the flavors were just off for my taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Asma March 15, 2008

Paula Dean made this, and it is WONDERFUL!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anme November 26, 2006

This was so very, very good! Pecan pie is my favorite variety, and I think this version just took top place. It was very easy to prepare and held together quite well for me. I made it exactly to recipe, changing only that I kept the pecans whole. Thanks, Mirj! A new Thanksgiving tradition.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vina November 25, 2006

I dont care for pecan pie but this is really good. Like the other reviewer stated, chill the pie well before slicing and serving. A nice dessert for company! Thank you Mirj for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 February 12, 2006
Mystery Pecan Pie