Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Version of Caramel, Salted Cocoa Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Version of Caramel, Salted Cocoa

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on March 14, 2011

      I waited and waited to tag this recipe in the Best of 2010 Recipe Tag game. Finally was able to tag this recipe only to have the weather warm up to 40 degrees. Doesn't matter though, it is well worth making any time. My favorite part was getting to the bottom of the mug where the last of the whipped cream was residing with the caramel sauce and course sea salt. I will definitely be making this again. Best of all, it is a cocoa I get to enjoy without the kids finishing it all off. We don't drink, so I did not add schnapps, but it is so rich the kids don't care for it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      This was quite rich and delicious. I used extra brut cocao powder, 2 TBLS of caramel apple dip and 1 TBLS of sugar - the cocoa is very intense and needed more sugar and even with this amount was not very sweet. I used a mix of about 1/3 half and half and 2/3 non-fat milk, no schnapps and added a 1/2 tsp of vanilla. For the caramel on top I used more of the dip heated very briefly in the microwave with a touch of 1/2 & 1/2 to make it drizzleable, and Kosher salt. I love salt caramels and the touch of salt here is perfect with the intense chocolate, though I might add more carmel next time. For me this amount was enough for 2 servings. Made for Winter 2010 Comfort Cafe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      Amazing even in my diabetic version. I used all of the cocoa but then used skim milk and fat free evaporated. For the Schnapps I use 1/2 tsp of caramel extract. I put frozen Cool Whip Light on top and was finished. If my altered mug of cocoa was this delicious and decadent feeling I can only imagine that the recipe as written would make you swoon in delight. Made for Comfort Cafe, Jan 09.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      This would be really great cocoa with just the first two ingredients! I did add the butterscotch schnapps, and it was present, but subtle. I like how the salt enhances it, but you don't specifically taste it. I also made the light version of this with fat free whipped cream. We ended up stirred in the toppings, since we kept missing them as we sipped and just got the cocoa!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      Very delicious...VERY rich! I made this for Christmas Eve when we drove around to look at lights. I used caramel dipping sauce and subbed the heavy cream for light half-and-half. I also used margarita salt instead of sea salt (but, it's all salt, right?). For the cocoa I used Hershey's Special Dark cocoa. Next time I make this, I will use half Special Dark and half regular. Thanks for posting, this is definitely a [seasonal] keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      This is so wonderful! I did leave out the optional butterscotch schnapps becaause I made some for my sons, too. This is just delicious. What a great idea with the salt! Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      This is an excellent, decadent drink! (I did not use the schnapps).The salt sprinkled on top was perfect. Everything was perfect; I will make this one again when trying to impress people. :) I doubled the recipe for 2 servings but it actually made 3.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      Oh so yummy! I loved the caramel topping in it! Left out the booze. Thanks Baby Kato! Made for Photo Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      Absolutely delicious!!! I followed this exactly as written, except didn't add any chocolate shavings. I first added 1 tablespoon caramel, as not a huge sweet fan, but it wasn't sweet enough, so added one more tablespoon. The SALT is the key to this wonderful recipe, don't leave it out!!!! I will definitely make this cocoa again, just love it!!! Thanks BK for sharing. Made for Newest tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Version of Caramel, Salted Cocoa

    Serving Size: 1 (344 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 416.7
     
    Calories from Fat 180
    43%
    Total Fat 20.0 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 11.6 g
    58%
    Cholesterol 69.8 mg
    23%
    Sodium 426.0 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.5 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 13.3 g
    53%
    Protein 12.6 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes