15 Reviews

This was good! I also halved it for two people. Adding cheddar cheese would give the recipe 5 stars for me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie.Mathieu January 03, 2008

Awesome and easy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christine W. November 21, 2014

Very good casserole! The only change I made was to add a big handful of cheddar cheese and it was great. I really liked the cracker topping. Mom always topped this with crushed potato chips and even with the butter it seems like it has to be a little bit better for you than chips. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLBoyle February 01, 2009

Very easy & fills that craving for comfort food! I customized it by omitting the mushrooms, added 1/2 cup of LF sour cream, 1 Tbs of dijon & a dash of onion powder. I also used 3 cans total of tuna, doubled the veggies (peas, carrots & broccoli) and subbed whole-wheat egg noodles to increase the fiber & protein content. Also, just for ease, I replaced the saltine/butter mixture with just crumbled Ritz. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
functionaledge October 13, 2008

Very easy to make--- I omitted the carrots and peas due to a long-standing dislike of them! I added sliced greem pimiento-stuffed olives and then cubed 8 oz. of creamed cheese which I mixed in. In the future I will try adding chopped jalapenos or sliced black olives. The creamed cheese definitely gave the dish more "personality"! I forgot to mention that I used 3 cans of tuna.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amhend1 May 12, 2008

This is any easy tuna casserole. The taste was ok, not something I would run back for seconds of, but maybe that's just me. I agree with other reviewer that it might need garlic or onion powder to give the flavor a boost. DH, however, thought it was good and said he would eat it again, so I will try it later with the above changes. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookinMamaof3 December 07, 2006

I was in a nostalgic kind of mood. This casserole was awesome. Made some minor changes - used shell pasta, no mushrooms, no carrots, but did use the peas. The whole family loved it. My three year old DD suggested that we have apples on the side, so we did. :) Tuna casserole with plain, sliced honeycrisp apples. It was a really comforting meal. I might add a little onion powder and garlic powder next time. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LA28 November 07, 2006

I was looking for the recipe my parents served us growing up and TA-DA your recipe is just as my parents only we don't use the peas or carrots instead we only use corn nibblets. Thanks so much for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pixy October 06, 2006

Wow! This recipe was amazing!!!! The only tuna noodle casserole I've ever tried that I will make a second (and multiple) times. The only change I made was to eliminate the canned mushrooms and double the peas. I also cooked carrots in a pot with the noodles. My dh told my boys that it was 'seafood' casserole (they hate tuna) and they gobbled up 2 helpings each, which is unheard of for a casserole. The leftovers disappeared quickly for snacks and lunches.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ellee May 29, 2006

This was a good tuna casserole. Very easy to put together. Went right by the instructions. My son loved the topping. It did help make the casserole. Thanks for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn August 13, 2005
My Tuna Casserole