Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Super Simple Spaghetti Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Super Simple Spaghetti Sauce

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on January 08, 2013

      I've made this twice now, the last time doubling it for a Christmas Eve get-together. I use petite diced tomatoes and adjust sugar/red pepper to our tastes. I pair it with Basic Meatballs Basic Meatballs. It's all just so incredibly easy and delicious. Even my husband, who thinks "real" spaghetti sauce only comes in a jar, kept commenting on how good it was. This is now one of my favorite meals to make. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2014

      Promised the kids spaghetti last night but didn't know we had no jarred sauce. Googled EASY spaghetti sauce recipe and was delighted to find this. I threw together some meatballs (ground beef, chopped onion, egg, breadcrumbs, etc.) on the side, added a tiny bit of red balsamic vinegar and Wow! I loved it. My 15 year old asked for a little less HOT next time but I really liked it just the way it was. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2014

      I love making this recipe when I need a quick dinner! Overall it tastes great and takes a mere half hour to make! Whenever I make this I use frozen meatballs as well. If you like this recipe I recommend you try the authors original spaghetti sauce recipe as well!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2014

      I was searching for a recipe for easy pasta sauce and this did the trick! I was a bit skeptical when I saw the limited ingredients but figured I'd give a try. The only thing I did different was finely chop about 1/4 finely diced onion, 2 cloves of garlic and sautéed them in a bit of olive oil before adding the rest of the ingredients. It was so good that I decided to take a suggestion from the comments and made a batch of Basic Meatballs from this sight. Perfect!<br/>I had a pot of sauce and the meatballs together in less than 45 minutes.<br/>When dinner comes around tonight, all I have to do is cook the pasta, heat the sauce and serve with a salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2014

      Added olive oil

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2014

      Thanks HeidiSue for posting. The family wanted pasta in less than an hour instead of hours away so I needed a sauce that would not need an all day simmer. This simple sauce was a stick to the pasta type sauce. I made two batches and added mushrooms and olives to make it chunkier and more hearty. Also ditched the red pepper as the kids don't like it spicy at all. It was very good and on the table fast. Enjoy! ChefDLH

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2014

      Didn't have diced tomatoes or tomato sauce so instead I used 2 cans of whole tomatoes and diced them up myself and included the juice they were canned in. Only did a pinch of sugar and a little more salt than it calls for. Also added a splash of red wine vinaigrette. Really good !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2014

      Absolutely DElish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2014

      Made this sauce with a sausage meatball recipe and it was great. Going to make with regular meatballs tonight minus red pepper and plus some saute onions and garlic. So easy, can't go wrong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2013

      I added sweet onions, used basil and oregano diced tomatoes and added italian sausage. My husband and son absolutely loved it. I'm never buying canned sauce again. I even canned my own sauce. Delicious!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2013

      Amazing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2013

      Was looking for something quick...this was amazing. Thank you! Will definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2013

      Amazing!!! So easy and simple yet so GOOD!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2012

      This sauce is great and so easy to make! I don't really like spaghetti much and I just finished my second bowl it was that good. I did make a few changes to the original recipe. I don't like lots of chunky tomatoes so instead of the diced tomatoes I used a 28oz can of crushed tomatoes and 1 8oz can of tomato sauce, I didn't have any crushed red pepper but did use 1 tsp of pizza seasoning (that had red pepper in it) and to give it a hint of garlic I used 1/2 tsp of Salt Free Garlic and Herb seasoning. I also increased the sugar to 3 tbsp since I had a little extra sauciness! DELISH

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2012

      My husband phoned from work and ordered spaghetti for dinner. I already ran out of some ingredients that I normally include in my recipe. And I had to find another that already has everything from my cupboard. I found this. Tried it. And guess what? My husband finished a plateful of spaghetti! This is just so great and simple!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2011

      So good and so easy. My family loved it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2011

      I just made this and my husband kept saying how good it was. He ate more than he really should have! I told him it was "home made." ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Super Simple Spaghetti Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (351 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 211.7
     
    Calories from Fat 11
    35%
    Total Fat 1.2 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2392.6 mg
    99%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.3 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 9.5 g
    38%
    Sugars 37.8 g
    151%
    Protein 8.5 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites