Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Sister's Sweet Potato Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Sister's Sweet Potato Bread

    Average Rating:

    57 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 57

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2008

      Perfectly moist with just the right amount of sweetness. I left out the walnuts (personal preference) and added pecans to one loaf. A little too strong on the cloves so I will cut down next time. Baked beautifully, nice and dense. DH nearly ate an entire loaf in one day! This will be the perfect bread for holiday gift giving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2006

      I've made this recipe a couple times as muffins--and it's awesome! Great flavor and texture. Unlike most muffins, they're good even a few days later--moist, but not too moist! I used liner papers and drizzled them with a simple powdered sugar frosting. I called them "marry me" muffins because of the story and folks loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      Very good. Halved the recipe using 2 eggs instead of 3 and canola oil, but otherwise made it as directed. Very soft, fluffy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      Excellent bread! Moist, fluffy and tasty :) Works wonderful with half whole wheat flour and half AP flour, you can barely tell the whole wheat flour is there. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

      Just made this recipe into muffins with fresh sweet potatoes (I boiled them whole for an hour, peeled them, and mashed them with my mixer). The muffins are DIVINE!!! Baked in 325F oven for 32 minutes (although my oven seems to take longer than most), and it made exactly 24 :) Thanks for the AMAZING recipe - it really starts off the fall season RIGHT!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2005

      Pretty good bread, but everyone told me I put too much cloves. Maybe I'll lower it by just a tad, but otherwise good bread. I also used half splenda and half applesauce for the oil. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2014

      My family RAVES about these when I make this recipe - I've made it as muffins and as a bread, and we switch between putting in nuts (pecans or walnuts) and raisins. Whatever's on hand goes in! The only "change" I do to the recipe is omit the cloves, simply because I never have any on hand. I took another poster's advice, and put them in for 32 minutes when doing muffins, and they come out perfect. I've found that two large sweet potatoes usually yields 4 cups, so we do a double batch, and freeze the extra loaf and muffins so we can enjoy them later. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2013

      I've made this a couple of times and loved it. I can't believe I forgot to review it! I haven't tried it with walnuts but have added raisins instead. It is fabulous with a little cream cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2013

      I just made this into jumbo muffins. My husband LOVES them! 5+++ stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2012

      wonderful!!! ty for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2012

      GREAT way to use up those Thanksgiving leftovers. I had the sweet potatoes left in the fridge and wanted to find a good use of them. We chose your bread and are we glad we did. This has great flavor and a wonderful way of using up leftovers. I will remember this for years to come. Thank you for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2012

      Fantastic bread! I cut the cloves to 1/2tsp, used pecans instead of walnuts and added a cup of dried cranberries. Delicious. Sweet, but not too sweet. A big hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2012

      I deliver meals on wheels--one gentleman on the route constantly badgers me to make sweet potato baked goods. I thought I'd oblige him, but didn't know any recipes off-hand. This one looked good. You've made an old man extremely happy and now I know why he always asks for sweet potatoes. This is delicious bread, and so easy too. It will be made again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      This is a lovely bread and the second time I made it I didn't have sweet potatoes so I used cooked butternut squash and it was just as good.
      I will make during the holidays and hand out,.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2010

      Delicious! I also halved the recipe (using 2 eggs).. I think I had a little too much sweet potato for 1/2 recipe but it did not seem to matter--very moist and sweet. I also topped it with a makeshift streusel made from brown sugar, flour, almonds, butter and cinnamon. Excellent bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2010

      5 stars what can I say but we loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2010

      Cut recipe in half. Subbed 3/4 tsp. Apple Pie Spice in place of the called for spices purely for convenience. I ended up loving the flavors more so than ginger and cloves called for in the recipe (but I'm sure those are delicious too). My oven is temperamental, so I baked at a lower temp for about 45 minutes and added tin foil to the top halfway through to prevent over browning. Added a light powdered sugar milk glaze to the top. Kids loved it, and they are picky eaters.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      Wow, Karen! I made this last night just like the recipe except I used pecans (didn't have walnuts) and it was fantastic. I had some left over baked sweet potatoes and was looking on Zaar for a recipe to use these. I love how the little pieces appear in the bread looking like a carrot cake. So yummy and moist. It really did to bake for the full 75 minutes! I plan to use this recipe a lot! Thanks - Sheila from Norfolk

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      This bread is so good.I've never made sweet potato bread before and I wasn't sure if I would like it.I think it's just as good if not better than pumpkin bread.I did use applesauce in place of half the oil and I added some frozen cranberries which made it even more delicious! I only added half the amount of cloves and ginger and added a little nutmeg.It was the perfect amount of spices for me.I will be making this again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      This is by far the BEST recipe I have tried on recipezaar. The "bread" was more like a cake and was absolutely delicious. I have made it several times now and it always comes out perfectly :-) The wonderful aroma as its baking definitely adds to the appeal. One recipe makes 4 mini loaves and I made them as gifts for co-workers who also gave rave reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Sister's Sweet Potato Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1280 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2926.0
     
    Calories from Fat 1407
    48%
    Total Fat 156.4 g
    240%
    Saturated Fat 20.4 g
    102%
    Cholesterol 279.0 mg
    93%
    Sodium 1372.7 mg
    57%
    Total Carbohydrate 354.3 g
    118%
    Dietary Fiber 10.1 g
    40%
    Sugars 202.2 g
    809%
    Protein 37.9 g
    75%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    canned candied yams

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites