58 Reviews

Perfectly moist with just the right amount of sweetness. I left out the walnuts (personal preference) and added pecans to one loaf. A little too strong on the cloves so I will cut down next time. Baked beautifully, nice and dense. DH nearly ate an entire loaf in one day! This will be the perfect bread for holiday gift giving.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hadice May 13, 2008

I've made this recipe a couple times as muffins--and it's awesome! Great flavor and texture. Unlike most muffins, they're good even a few days later--moist, but not too moist! I used liner papers and drizzled them with a simple powdered sugar frosting. I called them "marry me" muffins because of the story and folks loved them!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Julianne March 23, 2006

Very good. Halved the recipe using 2 eggs instead of 3 and canola oil, but otherwise made it as directed. Very soft, fluffy and delicious!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Osamu February 18, 2010

Pretty good bread, but everyone told me I put too much cloves. Maybe I'll lower it by just a tad, but otherwise good bread. I also used half splenda and half applesauce for the oil. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hippeastrum December 22, 2005

Excellent bread! Moist, fluffy and tasty :) Works wonderful with half whole wheat flour and half AP flour, you can barely tell the whole wheat flour is there. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KD boo-do May 09, 2010

This is by far the BEST recipe I have tried on recipezaar. The "bread" was more like a cake and was absolutely delicious. I have made it several times now and it always comes out perfectly :-) The wonderful aroma as its baking definitely adds to the appeal. One recipe makes 4 mini loaves and I made them as gifts for co-workers who also gave rave reviews.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jesslinda December 24, 2009

Just made this recipe into muffins with fresh sweet potatoes (I boiled them whole for an hour, peeled them, and mashed them with my mixer). The muffins are DIVINE!!! Baked in 325F oven for 32 minutes (although my oven seems to take longer than most), and it made exactly 24 :) Thanks for the AMAZING recipe - it really starts off the fall season RIGHT!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buttercream September 17, 2006

*****Yummy! Thank you for sharing this recipe. 5 stars!*****

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimberly A. November 23, 2015

My family RAVES about these when I make this recipe - I've made it as muffins and as a bread, and we switch between putting in nuts (pecans or walnuts) and raisins. Whatever's on hand goes in! The only "change" I do to the recipe is omit the cloves, simply because I never have any on hand. I took another poster's advice, and put them in for 32 minutes when doing muffins, and they come out perfect. I've found that two large sweet potatoes usually yields 4 cups, so we do a double batch, and freeze the extra loaf and muffins so we can enjoy them later. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alaska Grown February 17, 2014

I've made this a couple of times and loved it. I can't believe I forgot to review it! I haven't tried it with walnuts but have added raisins instead. It is fabulous with a little cream cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raichka September 28, 2013
My Sister's Sweet Potato Bread