8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love this method, I use it usually to grill buns for burgers and sandwiches, never thought to try it for toast. Wow, was this good, I used sweet butter and plain white bread, what a treat. I finished it off with some homemade strawberry preserves, what a perfect brekky it was. Thanks for sharing Elmotoo.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato May 09, 2013

Tasty way to make toast! Used a thick piece of homemade bread and served topped with a poached egg for a great breakfast - thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for the Best of 2013 event, recommended by I'mPat

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof March 07, 2014

A delicious accompaniment to my scrambled eggs this morning.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte July 21, 2013

Thank You Elmotoo as I munched my way I had a lovely trip down memory lane as I remembered the many breakfasts that my dad used to make toasting bread though on both sides as it was usually a day or two old and some of my favourite toppings were smoky ham with a fried egg or soft scrambled egg, baked beans with crispy bacon or sardines that had been cooked in tomato sauce but today I topped it with an adult favourtie, ricotta cheese laced with a little vanilla essence and toped with slices of fresh nectarine yummm, thank you once again Elmotoo, made for Aussie/Kiwi Recipe Swap #72 January 2013.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat January 02, 2013

What's not to love about this? Two of my favorite things, bread and butter. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview January 03, 2013

Easy and yummy too! I put a little cheese on my toast and had it for breakfast. Thanks! Made for Vegetarian Swap-Oct.(Stars aren't sticking, but this gets 5)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 October 09, 2012

was checking thru the recipes to see what I was going to make for our recipe swap. I was hungry, and thinking about a fried egg sandwich when I found this :)
turned out very well. I made the sandwich with the crunchy side in, best lunch for a long time !!
made for Aussie swap, september 2012

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummamills September 17, 2012

I did some the way you directed, and others I toasted on both sides (which I think is better), but the key thing for the great flavor that this method produces is to toast it until it is brown (but not black), something you might have to play around with a little. Mine went from no color to very brown fast on the first side and the second side got pretty brown in less than a minute.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito March 27, 2014
My Secret Most Special Incredibly Awesome Toast.