Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Rough Khoubz -- Moroccan Flat Bread. Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Rough Khoubz -- Moroccan Flat Bread.

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on January 10, 2009

      I have just returned from Morocco!! I had the amazing adventure of getting to stay in Taza with my friends family and really got to experience the life style. The mom of the house made her bread from scratch at least 2 times a week. I actually helped knead the bread in attempt to learn. When i was making this bread from your recipe, It was really sticky which made it very hard to "pull, stretch, and flatten. I'm sure it was something i was doing wrong (i have never made bread before) but i think it turned out pretty good. I think it will be even better next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      First off, I was a bit confused to what, "flatten as much as possible" meant. As flat as pizza dough or thicker? But noticing that scoring was needed I patted it down to about 1 1/2 inch. It baked up nicely, but a bit dense (which was fine with me), although I wasn't sure if it was the way it's suppose to be. The taste was very nice. Not 'yeasty' at all. It went very well with my Lamb and Pear Tagine (which I've submitted to Zaar and am currantly awaiting approval from the elves.) Perfect for sopping up the juices:-) This was my first time to make Moroccan flatbread and not my last. I'm submitting a photo's to let you know how it turned out. I hope I did it justice. Thanks Hajar, for an easy and tasty recipe. P.S.... I enjoyed reading your writings on your website. I wish you and Mohammad all the happiness in the world. :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2014

      Wow, this was so good! I was looking for something quick to go with a pot of soup. I was out of whole wheat four, so I just used white and bread flour. I cut the recipe in half, and used the bread machine just to knead it and for the 20 minutes rest. I put it on the baking sheet in a barely warm oven to rise, about another 20 minutes. Next time I'll use a bit of cooking spray, it stuck with just the cornmeal. Baked for about 15. Wow, yeasty and light and delicious. Half recipe made a large loaf for two people, with leftovers for breakfast. I am definitely adding this to my cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2014

      Wanted to try this bread as I've never had it and was interested in the different flours including corn meal used in it. Not sure if it's as flat as you describe it needs to be but I loved the taste and texture just the way I made it. There's only 2 of us so half of the dough I froze after the first rise and will be interested to see how that works out when I defrost it and maybe I'll try to roll it out even thinner next time. My dough was really sticky (couldn't even knead it) so I did add about an extra 1/4 cup of flour so that I could form a dough. Thanks for an interesting and great tasting recipe, that I'll be using again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      This was really good! Almost exactly like my Moroccan mother-in-law's bread! The taste was great but next time I will cook it at a higher temperature and make smaller round loaves like she does. Moroccans like more crust, less spongy inside, to be able to eat with it. I made this in my bread machine, the mixing, kneading and rising, and then just laid it out on a cookie sheet and rolled it out with a handheld roller. So easy! I always thought this bread was so time-consuming! Thank you for this version!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      Fantastic Easy recipe I also made mine in the bread maker on the dough setting -quick and easy thankyou miss Elizabeth for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      I really enjoyed this bread, and it was so easy to make. I cut the recipe in half, and used my bread machine to make it to the dough stage, then baked it on a stone in the oven. The dough seemed very wet when it came out of the machine, but the finished product was just perfect- great flavor, great texture. I would never have thought to put cornmeal into my bread, but it really added something both flavor and texture wise. Thanks for posting a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      What a wonderful bread recipe! It has a light texture and is the softest bread I've ever made - it has the closest resemblance to commercially-produced bread that I've come across so far. I used a breadmaker to make the dough through to the first rising then did the second rising in the oven. (I also halved the recipe as I wasn't sure the a whole recipe would fit in the breadmaker. I was really surprised at how much I got with only half the amount.) I've also made it quite successfully in a loaf tin to get a conventionally-shaped loaf rather than the flat loaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      I made your recipe for a potluck middle eastern dinner. It was very well received. I love to make bread and delighted to add a great new recipe to my collection.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2006

      I only tried this, after worrying about the amount of yeast required (3 1/2 tablespoons! and I cut that down to an even 3...), because some of the comments indicated that the bread didn't taste "yeasty". Wrong. I baked until it was quite brown on the bottom, almost 20 minutes, and the taste of yeast was overpowering. A waste of my time, and now I have to find another type of bread to serve with my Noth-African-themed dinner next weekend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      I have made this bread now 3 times and my 13 year old granddaughter made the last one. I did only have unbleached flour and used that but it is wonderful and everyone liked it. I am going to Morocco in January and will be looking for this. Thanks again..Bonnie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2005

      I was really worried about the amount of yeast, and whether it would taste too yeasty. But we really enjoyed the taste, my mom especially loved it. It was slightly too dense or hearty for the rest of us, but it's stilla wonderful bread! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2005

      Excellent bread recipe. Quick and easy. I have a convection oven so the time given was about right. The taste was also excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2005

      This is very filling; I don't think I could eat a fourth of the recipe! I used this to scoop up a bean dish, which is also a filling food, so maybe that's why! After reading Bunny Mom's review I realized I should have cooked this a little longer as mine turned out tasting just a bit "yeasty". I had no idea what the texture or taste should be, but I'll try that next time. This is a nice hearty rustic bread, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2005

      I made this to go with our Moroccan meal for the Zaar World Tour. We enjoyed it. I had to bake a little extra time, but other than that, followed the directions exactly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Rough Khoubz -- Moroccan Flat Bread.

    Serving Size: 1 (85 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 354.7
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    14%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 591.3 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.2 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 7.8 g
    31%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 12.1 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes