66 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Good basic recipe. Was looking for something that didn't require a lot of gravy mixes (usually way to high in sodium) for our family. I made a few changes. I used a combination of light flavored olive oil and butter, cause I have found butter by itself tends to burn easily. Instead of onion and garlic powder I used the real thing, sauteing sliced onion till lightly golden, then adding 5 cloves of minced garlic toward the end (it cooks faster) . I omitted the salt, because I used Progresso beef broth instead of water and its got plenty of salt. I sauteed 8 oz. of baby bella mushrooms in with the onion and garlic) so I could omit the can of mushroom soup. I then added milk and cream, using a 2 to 1 ratio. Put in on simmer for 30 minutes, then served with mash potatoes and glazed carrots. It was a big hit. Thanks again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
manic_momma cowing October 19, 2009

Simple and delicious, and the kids love it. This recipe works well with pork tenderloin too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jtwtech October 01, 2013

Made this last night just like many others!! I absolutely love this quick and easy dish, especially after a long day at work. Browning the steaks first makes a huge diff in the tenderness, and don't opt out on the drippings!! That's where all the flavor lives!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mstlynn May 24, 2013

Marsha - this is a fabulous recipe. I love how quick and easy it is finished but how tender the beef cube steak becomes after cooking. My family enjoyed every bite. Served with mashed potatoes too so I could use some of the extra gravy! My hubby is going to make a sandwich with the one remaining piece of steak tomorrow. This is definitely a keeper for our family!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom December 23, 2009

I have made this recipe several times and it is always wonderful. The only thing I do differently is tear up the cube steak in chunks before I season and cook them. I like doing this and then putting over mashed potatoes with the gravy, you get a bite of meat with potatoes and gravy. I am going to fix them tonight. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buzzsau March 18, 2009

Great, easy recipe. The only thing different I did was saute some diced onion in with the cube steak, and mixed it in with the gravy. I used the 98% fat free cream of mushroom soup also, and it did great! Was a hit with even my 4 year old! Thanks, we'll definitely use this one again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DiXiEmEdiC911 July 25, 2005

I followed these instructions but decided tor buy the family size cream of mushroom soup and double the water and heavy whipping cream, then put it in the crock pot. I didn't add any grease or drippings from the pan as the meat had enough grease on it to mix perfectly with the soup. I also only browned the outside of the meat so the crock pot could finish the cooking, did the first two hours on high and last three on low and it was perfect. Was alot better than making brown gravy. Also added sliced mushrooms

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 31, 2015

Great recipe. I used 1/2 C. beef broth instead of milk and I used Beefy Mushroom Soup. It was a great supper. I also made mashed potatoes so that none of the gravy went to waste. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trish's Dishes January 07, 2015

OMG this recipe is to die for!! My husband and I absolutely loved this. And the gravy....scrumptious! My husband said "Make sure you don't lose this recipe. That is the best gravy you've ever made". The cube steak came out tender enough to cut with a fork and that has never happened for me unless I cooked it in the crockpot or baked it in the oven.Definitely 5 stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimberly Greene June 16, 2013

Made this last night for dinner... AND IT WAS GREAT!! super easy to do, and not to many items to buy!!! even my picky honey enjoyed it!! thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
olivia320 June 07, 2013
My Own Cube Steak and Gravy