Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Own Cube Steak and Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Own Cube Steak and Gravy

    Average Rating:

    64 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 64

    Sort by:

    • on October 19, 2009

      Good basic recipe. Was looking for something that didn't require a lot of gravy mixes (usually way to high in sodium) for our family. I made a few changes. I used a combination of light flavored olive oil and butter, cause I have found butter by itself tends to burn easily. Instead of onion and garlic powder I used the real thing, sauteing sliced onion till lightly golden, then adding 5 cloves of minced garlic toward the end (it cooks faster) . I omitted the salt, because I used Progresso beef broth instead of water and its got plenty of salt. I sauteed 8 oz. of baby bella mushrooms in with the onion and garlic) so I could omit the can of mushroom soup. I then added milk and cream, using a 2 to 1 ratio. Put in on simmer for 30 minutes, then served with mash potatoes and glazed carrots. It was a big hit. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2013

      Made this last night just like many others!! I absolutely love this quick and easy dish, especially after a long day at work. Browning the steaks first makes a huge diff in the tenderness, and don't opt out on the drippings!! That's where all the flavor lives!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      Marsha - this is a fabulous recipe. I love how quick and easy it is finished but how tender the beef cube steak becomes after cooking. My family enjoyed every bite. Served with mashed potatoes too so I could use some of the extra gravy! My hubby is going to make a sandwich with the one remaining piece of steak tomorrow. This is definitely a keeper for our family!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      I have made this recipe several times and it is always wonderful. The only thing I do differently is tear up the cube steak in chunks before I season and cook them. I like doing this and then putting over mashed potatoes with the gravy, you get a bite of meat with potatoes and gravy. I am going to fix them tonight. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2005

      Great, easy recipe. The only thing different I did was saute some diced onion in with the cube steak, and mixed it in with the gravy. I used the 98% fat free cream of mushroom soup also, and it did great! Was a hit with even my 4 year old! Thanks, we'll definitely use this one again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2013

      Simple and delicious, and the kids love it. This recipe works well with pork tenderloin too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2013

      OMG this recipe is to die for!! My husband and I absolutely loved this. And the gravy....scrumptious! My husband said "Make sure you don't lose this recipe. That is the best gravy you've ever made". The cube steak came out tender enough to cut with a fork and that has never happened for me unless I cooked it in the crockpot or baked it in the oven.Definitely 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2013

      Made this last night for dinner... AND IT WAS GREAT!! super easy to do, and not to many items to buy!!! even my picky honey enjoyed it!! thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2012

      Awsum This is the best cube steak I have ever had

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2012

      This recipe is a keeper for my family! My only change was to sprinkle a bit more garlic powder and pepper for our tastes as the sauce simmered. For the reviewer who said the meat came out tough, I had to lessen my browning time since my steaks were extremely thin. I only browned them until they no longer stuck to the pan on each side, which turned out to be under 2 mins a side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2012

      I found that I had way too much flour leftover(1/2C) after dredging the meat and yet the recipe didn't say to add the extra in anywhere. I ended up adding 2 Tbsp to the pan drippings and made a roux, then continued on with the recipe. The other reviews don't mention too much flour so I'm not sure what happened there. The flavour was good but the meat turned out a bit on the dry side. I may try this again and perhaps reduce the browning time. I am glad I tried the recipe, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2011

      I was hesitant to make this recipe because I typically don't like tinned soups as sauces....but.....I'm so glad I tried it! It was delicious and the soup actually imparts a lovely flavour. The meat was tender. The only change I made was to add fresh mushrooms to the sauce. I used skim milk because that's what I had and the consistency was not affected negatively at all.
      I served it with mashed potatoes and broccoli....the sauce was lovely over the potatoes. My children have already asked me when I will be making again.
      Thanks for sharing, Marsha!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2011

      Very good, cheap, and easy! I used fat free cream of mushroom and skim milk because that was what I had and it still turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2011

      Very good, but you may need to modify. I made this for 2 adults and 3 children and needed to make more flour mixture even though I was only using 5 steaks. When making the gravy I substituted the cream of mushroom with cream of chicken. I also doubled the gravy recipe so that there would be enough for the entire family. I served it over rice and everyone enjoyed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2011

      I wanted something different and this was a hit. Im just learning to cook really and this was so easy for me and the steak was perfect! Actually this is the best my cube steak has ever came out when it comes to frying....VERY SATISFIED

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2011

      I only make cube steak for my husband,,the way this recipe has you prepare the steaks tenderizes the steaks,,they were delicious and now I eat them too,,I added some grill seasoning to the mix!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2010

      I made this with 6 cube steaks. I had trouble with the breading sticking (mostly on the second batch to fry) and the steaks ended up a bit tough because the pan was overcrowded. Also, the gravy wasn't enough for that many steaks and rice. It was flavorful and the family enjoyed it, so I would probably make it again with only 4 smaller cube steaks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

    • on April 12, 2010

      This is fantastic. The cube steaks were tender and full of flavor. The gravy was terrific. Served it over white rice and didn't have any leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      My husband and father-in-law loved this. As most other reviewers mentioned, this is very tender. I reversed the milk and water amounts (1 c. milk, 1/2 c. water), but next time I will follow the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Own Cube Steak and Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (285 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 500.4
     
    Calories from Fat 216
    43%
    Total Fat 24.0 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 9.4 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 147.4 mg
    49%
    Sodium 824.1 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 47.9 g
    95%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites