43 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used this cole slaw in conjunction with the pulled pork barbecue by this same chef and had a heavenly "out of body" experience. This combination defies description, a culinary experience not to be missed. I think this recipe would be appreciated by more than just us "Southerners". It has just the right hint of sweetness.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dan'l September 04, 2002

This is the exact recipe I have been using on my cole slaw for almost 20 years! Sometimes I use lime juice instead of lemon, and often I add a sliced green apple to the mix (add a little more sugar) which is especially good with pork. Yummy stuff!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Patty S May 13, 2005

Made this to go on fried fish sandwiches, very good flavor and the lemon has a much better flavor than the vinegar I normally use.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickie49 January 11, 2004

I HATE cole slaw, and made this for my DH, planning on going with his rating for it, but one taste, and I went back for seconds. This is absolutely fabulous, Bev, and it's made a cole-slaw lover out of me! I made it exactly as directed, with the exception of having to use celery salt instead of celery seeds (thought I had them, but didn't). This was a crunchy, fresh, tart dressing that complemented the sweetness of fresh cabbage and carrots. I'll be making this again (AND looking forward to it!) - great recipe - thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzie-Babette February 17, 2004

This was sooo good. I will never use vinegar again for my cole slaw. I was 1/4 cup short of mayo so used 1/4 cup sour cream to make up for it and it was very good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cynthia altizer July 23, 2004

This sauce had the perfect balance of tangy and sweet in my opinion! I made it exactly as stated, though for my slaw, I also add a little onion and green onion. What can I say, but Great? :) Thanks Bev!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canarygirl February 17, 2004

I have never really liked slaw - not the vinegar/sugar version my mom makes or Betty Crocker's creamy version. I had leftover cabbage mix from another recipe and was serving clam fritters, so the slaw seemed to "go." This dressing is just perfect. A little sweet, perfectly creamy, lemony (instead of vinegary) and just enough, but not too much, of the traditional celery seed. I will use this again! You converted me from a "hater" to a "lover," and made my family very happy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch February 01, 2004

Very nice slaw dressing. I usually make mine with vinegar and found the lemon juice to be much better.This makes a slightly tart, slightly sweet creamy coleslaw - yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzieQue January 11, 2004

very good,easy to mix with a bag of slaw mix for a wonderful slaw,thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrwillard April 20, 2003

I made this coleslaw today the only thing different is that I use honey not sugar. Love the slaw!<br/>has the perfect tangy and sweet flavor that lets you know you are eating slaw without the bitter overtone of vinegar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joytosew August 13, 2014
My Own Coleslaw Dressing