Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Own Coleslaw Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Own Coleslaw Dressing

    Average Rating:

    42 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 42

    Sort by:

    • on September 04, 2002

      I used this cole slaw in conjunction with the pulled pork barbecue by this same chef and had a heavenly "out of body" experience. This combination defies description, a culinary experience not to be missed. I think this recipe would be appreciated by more than just us "Southerners". It has just the right hint of sweetness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2004

      Made this to go on fried fish sandwiches, very good flavor and the lemon has a much better flavor than the vinegar I normally use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2005

      This is the exact recipe I have been using on my cole slaw for almost 20 years! Sometimes I use lime juice instead of lemon, and often I add a sliced green apple to the mix (add a little more sugar) which is especially good with pork. Yummy stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2004

      I HATE cole slaw, and made this for my DH, planning on going with his rating for it, but one taste, and I went back for seconds. This is absolutely fabulous, Bev, and it's made a cole-slaw lover out of me! I made it exactly as directed, with the exception of having to use celery salt instead of celery seeds (thought I had them, but didn't). This was a crunchy, fresh, tart dressing that complemented the sweetness of fresh cabbage and carrots. I'll be making this again (AND looking forward to it!) - great recipe - thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2004

      This was sooo good. I will never use vinegar again for my cole slaw. I was 1/4 cup short of mayo so used 1/4 cup sour cream to make up for it and it was very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2004

      This sauce had the perfect balance of tangy and sweet in my opinion! I made it exactly as stated, though for my slaw, I also add a little onion and green onion. What can I say, but Great? :) Thanks Bev!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2004

      I have never really liked slaw - not the vinegar/sugar version my mom makes or Betty Crocker's creamy version. I had leftover cabbage mix from another recipe and was serving clam fritters, so the slaw seemed to "go." This dressing is just perfect. A little sweet, perfectly creamy, lemony (instead of vinegary) and just enough, but not too much, of the traditional celery seed. I will use this again! You converted me from a "hater" to a "lover," and made my family very happy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2004

      Very nice slaw dressing. I usually make mine with vinegar and found the lemon juice to be much better.This makes a slightly tart, slightly sweet creamy coleslaw - yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2003

      very good,easy to mix with a bag of slaw mix for a wonderful slaw,thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2014

      I rarely eat coleslaw but had a hankering for it tonight. I just bought the bagged coleslaw mix and found this recipe for the dressing. This was really good...the lemon gives it a nice fresh taste. The only thing I changed was I didn't have celery seeds so I just put a pinch of celery salt in. Really delicious, thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2014

      I used this dressing to go with "Fruity Broccoli Slaw" (Fruity Broccoli Slaw). I did not use the celery seed and didn't feel like it was needed for the "fruity" salad I was going for. The dressing was easy to put together and very good with the "Fruity Broccoli Slaw."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2013

      We really liked this recipe - a nice cold crispy snack on a hot summer day. I bought a head of cabbage and chopped it up with the slicing blade of my food processor - it came out perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2013

      This was great and I love the lemon flavor instead of the vinegar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2013

      Fantastic! This is delicious, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2012

      I'm so glad I tried your recipe. I didn't have all the ingredients to make my "go to" recipe, but wanted slaw. This dressing is incredibly simple to make and tastes fresh and delicious. Even better the next day. I also like that it doesn't call for lots of added sugar. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe, I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2012

      pretty good!! used lime in place of lemon, no carrot, used zucchini shredded instead of coleslaw, and added some rice wine vinegar. thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2012

      Absolutely loved it! Very simple recipe and well balanced. Took a few servings over to my father-in-law to find out he had just made a batch of coleslaw himself (his own recipe). Came back later to see what he thought. After trying them both, his was quickly put back in the fridge and this one didn't last long.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2012

      Made this to use on 4th of July Cabbage Salad#115687. I followed the instructions for the dressing only adding about 1/2--1 tsp of rice vinegar. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2011

      I can't believe I haven't rated this already! The last summer I made this countless times. The celery seed just makes it. I added a really thinly sliced apples one time, that was great too. I will add that after making this about 20 - 30 times, it is best eaten the day made, it weeps after about 12 hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      I am a fairly new Coleslaw lover...I wanted something different and I feel like I keep finding the KFC copy cat recipes but I like how simple this is! I loved the lemon instead of vinegar, you could really taste the tang when served over top of pulled bbq chicken sandwiches! I didn't have any celery seed (which if I did I prob wouldn't use b/c I hate them) so I microplaned about half a stick of celery to put a little bit of celery flavor in it. I also added some of the zest of the lemon...loved it! Will definitely use this as a go to recipe for coleslaw! Another great thing is that this is all stuff I keep on hand all the time! Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Own Coleslaw Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (715 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1094.0
     
    Calories from Fat 714
    65%
    Total Fat 79.3 g
    122%
    Saturated Fat 11.7 g
    58%
    Cholesterol 61.1 mg
    20%
    Sodium 1779.4 mg
    74%
    Total Carbohydrate 99.0 g
    33%
    Dietary Fiber 10.9 g
    43%
    Sugars 43.1 g
    172%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites