12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I prepared this recipe for my brown bag lunch. I marinated the chicken overnight instead of a hour.
Like Evelyn/athens suggested, I did turn the chicken midway during cooking to ensure even basting and coloring.
Came out beautiful and taste was good
I would add more season in the marinate and with the onions and oranges. Will do this recipe again and tweek it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
airlink diva June 29, 2011

I absolutely loved this as did the rest of my family. I eliminated the marinating step due to time but felt that it was delicious just the same.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
invictus October 04, 2009

This was a very simple recipe with a great taste. The chicken was moist. I would have given it 5 stars but there was one young guest that did not care for the citrus taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kit^..^ty Of Canada December 06, 2007

It is very good and so easy to prepare sooo tasty I love the orange and soy taste I served this at our church get together they really loved it I got the whole chickens on sale at Sam's club two to a bag. I have even used chicken parts for this recipe my hubby loved the whole chicken. Thanks this was very helpful as I've trying to find a recipe using orange.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scott's Sassy Girl April 27, 2007

I made this recipe twice during the contest period. The first time I followed the directions carefully and was very pleased with the results. The second time I had a bag of leg quarters needing to be used and decided to utilize your recipe again. I marinated them several hours longer and then just piled the orange wedges and onion around the chicken. This is a easy recipe using ingredients I always have on hand. Good luck in the contest!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D March 18, 2007

Very simple to make and delicious to eat! I love the flavor combination of the oragnes and the soy sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj March 18, 2007

This recipe was good, but the kind of recipe I would normally like to 'tweak'. I would have liked it with a bit more garlic and spice, and I think the citrus would have been delicious on the outside of the chicken as well as roasting on the inside (possibly zesting the oranges before inserting them and adding the zest to the soy marinade?). I started the bird breast-side-down, and turned about half way through baking so that both sides could get brown and crisp - something not mentioned in the recipe. Perhaps a novice cook would want to know what to do with the onions and orange after baking (I discarded). Good attempt. Good base recipe. Good luck, chef.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens March 17, 2007

This is a nice simple roast chicken recipe. I did not add salt since I used a 1/4 cup soy sauce (tamari). This is a great quick chicken recipe and I plan to use this recipe in my rotisserie for dinner during the week at some point. The only thing I would do is to add some herbs to the cavity for a contrasting flavor. We liked the skin. Good Luck Chef!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper March 17, 2007

This chicken was delicious. Nice use of contest ingredients. The finished chicken looked beautiful, was tender, juicy and very very flavourful. I marinaded the chicken for 6 hours. The flavour was outstanding. Thanks so much for sharing and good luck in the contest.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato March 17, 2007

After making several of the more involved and intricate contest recipes the simplicity of this dish is very welcome. With very little effort it produced a moist, tender, beautifully-colored bird that tasted as good as it looked. I wish I had made 2 so that we could try it cold. But after lunch for 4 there's nothing left but bones. I really cannot think of anything that would have improved this recipe. It is simply stop you in your tracks good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3KillerBs March 17, 2007
My Orange Roast Chicken