Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Onion "Fried" Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Onion "Fried" Chicken

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on December 01, 2003

      Wow...this is a great recipe. The chicken was very moist and juicy. I used fat-free sour cream and hot paprika. It was an easy meal to prepare with great results. Thanks, riff, for sharing your secret. The crunch onions were a brilliant idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2003

      I loved this recipe & used the 6oz can of French's Fried onions with 2 slices of white bread (crumbled in a food processor first.) The tip about the onion dip as the base is a very good one. I used Friend's toasted onion & got fabulous results. Be careful about the salt...the onions have quite a bit so taste your dry mixture before covering the chicken. I used bonless breasts & boneless thighs & had a hotter oven...375 & cooked this dish for approximately one hour. No one could guess what I used to make this dish, & being a bit of a food snob...I didn't tell them!!!! I did share this recipe with my co-worker (a chef) who plans to make this for her husband. As we like to say, this recipe is a "keeper". A FOODIE

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2003

      This is 5+ stars for us. I used onion garlic croutons that I crushed and instead of the sour cream I used french onion dip. It was sooooooo good and very easy and fast to put together. I will be making this again on a regular basis. Thanks riffraff for such a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2003

      I thought this chicken was amazing! I am so proud of myself that I actually saved enough of the onions out of the can to complete the recipe! I also added a little cayenne but other than that followed the recipe exactly, well I turned the chicken half way through too, excellent! I served it with my potato salad that I made into macaroni salad instead, a really good meal! Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2003

      Great! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2003

      I made this for dinner and used 4 boneless chicken breasts. Since they were frozen I wasn't sure the mixture would stay on the chicken. I put some of the left over coating on top of the chicken before putting in oven. It was really good and next time I will thaw the chicken. I just did it in a hurry but it still came out delicious. Very easy to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2003

      I used egg instead of sour cream & added a pinch of cayenne for a punch. This is a delicious recipe; very quick and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2003

      Delicious and easy meal! The onions really give this a punchg of flavor. I used chicken tenders, so I needed double the amount of topping (more surface area), and I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream. The chicken was so moist and had a great little crunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      Delicious! I used boneless chicken breast and followed the recipe to a T. Very moist.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2004

      I'd give this more stars if I could! I can count on the fingers of one hand the main courses which everyone in my family will eat; there's always someone making a sandwhich or requesting some alternative to even the most delicious dishes. However, this winning recipe had everyone asking for seconds! The fact that it takes just seconds to prepare makes this recipe too good to be true (well, those onions are expensive so maybe that balances things :>) Many thanks and kudos, riffraff!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2011

      Moist, tender, easy, and so flavorful! This is one fantastic weeknight dinner! The onions make this so much more than your run-of-the-mill oven fried chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2011

      Sooo good! I actually baked this at 400 degrees for 20 minutes, came out perfectly cooked and super juicy. The only complaint I have is the crust wasn't very crispy; very soggy, but was such a good tasting crust I couldn't stop eating it. Will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      It's great eaten hot off the oven. thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      Excellent chicken. Was nice and moist and tender, just perfect. I cut the chicken breasts in half, in strips. I thought I still had some sour cream but found I was out, so I used ricotta cheese. This worked great since I needed to use it up pretty soon anyway. My only regret is I wish I had bought 2 packages of chicken breasts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      Just wonderful. The chicken was so tender and flavorful. I am always looking for quick and easy and this came together in no time at all. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      moist and easy to prepare, used boneless chicken tenders a delish dinner paired with macaroni salad

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      I didn't have sour cream on hand and instead soaked my chicken breasts in buttermilk before dredging in the onion and breadcrumb mixture. I used homemade breadcrumbs from a roasted garlic baguette. The result was incredible. We will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      This was really tasty. The chicken (I used 5 boneless skinless breasts, so I doubled the "breading" having just enough) was so moist and flavorful. I halved the paprika and add 1/2 t. garlic powder and used seasoned salt in place of regular. I also added some parsley flakes for color. For the sour cream, I had some dairy "potato topper" which was chive flavored to use up...it worked fantastically. I served it with garlic rice, but in warmer weather I can see that potato or macaroni salad would be the perfect side dishes to this. Mine baked about 40 minutes, I was worried they would be dry, but they were just very juicy and moist. A definite repeat in our home...thanks for sharing this great little recipe. It goes together quickly so it would be great for weeknight meals. Especially if you get the coating mixture done ahead of time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      Great chicken! DH liked this a lot. Easy to make and really tastes great! Used boneless skinless chicken breasts. Thanks for sharing this recipe riffraff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      Great recipe, left out paprika and added pepper to the mixture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Onion "Fried" Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (358 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 778.6
     
    Calories from Fat 481
    61%
    Total Fat 53.5 g
    82%
    Saturated Fat 15.8 g
    79%
    Cholesterol 259.8 mg
    86%
    Sodium 586.2 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 64.5 g
    129%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    French-fried onions

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes