36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow...this is a great recipe. The chicken was very moist and juicy. I used fat-free sour cream and hot paprika. It was an easy meal to prepare with great results. Thanks, riff, for sharing your secret. The crunch onions were a brilliant idea.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie December 01, 2003

I loved this recipe & used the 6oz can of French's Fried onions with 2 slices of white bread (crumbled in a food processor first.) The tip about the onion dip as the base is a very good one. I used Friend's toasted onion & got fabulous results. Be careful about the salt...the onions have quite a bit so taste your dry mixture before covering the chicken. I used bonless breasts & boneless thighs & had a hotter oven...375 & cooked this dish for approximately one hour. No one could guess what I used to make this dish, & being a bit of a food snob...I didn't tell them!!!! I did share this recipe with my co-worker (a chef) who plans to make this for her husband. As we like to say, this recipe is a "keeper". A FOODIE

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liz Rosensaft September 24, 2003

This is 5+ stars for us. I used onion garlic croutons that I crushed and instead of the sour cream I used french onion dip. It was sooooooo good and very easy and fast to put together. I will be making this again on a regular basis. Thanks riffraff for such a wonderful recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PA Cindy September 13, 2003

I thought this chicken was amazing! I am so proud of myself that I actually saved enough of the onions out of the can to complete the recipe! I also added a little cayenne but other than that followed the recipe exactly, well I turned the chicken half way through too, excellent! I served it with my potato salad that I made into macaroni salad instead, a really good meal! Thanks :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna September 13, 2003

Great! Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GUSGUS September 09, 2003

I made this for dinner and used 4 boneless chicken breasts. Since they were frozen I wasn't sure the mixture would stay on the chicken. I put some of the left over coating on top of the chicken before putting in oven. It was really good and next time I will thaw the chicken. I just did it in a hurry but it still came out delicious. Very easy to prepare.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rosemary Chapman September 05, 2003

I used egg instead of sour cream & added a pinch of cayenne for a punch. This is a delicious recipe; very quick and easy.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
venus2 August 22, 2003

Delicious and easy meal! The onions really give this a punchg of flavor. I used chicken tenders, so I needed double the amount of topping (more surface area), and I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream. The chicken was so moist and had a great little crunch.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moxie July 06, 2003

Delicious! I used boneless chicken breast and followed the recipe to a T. Very moist.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
army07brat September 09, 2009

I'd give this more stars if I could! I can count on the fingers of one hand the main courses which everyone in my family will eat; there's always someone making a sandwhich or requesting some alternative to even the most delicious dishes. However, this winning recipe had everyone asking for seconds! The fact that it takes just seconds to prepare makes this recipe too good to be true (well, those onions are expensive so maybe that balances things :>) Many thanks and kudos, riffraff!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
libidess March 07, 2004
My Onion "Fried" Chicken