Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My O My.. Best Thai Beef Salad Ever! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My O My.. Best Thai Beef Salad Ever!

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-32 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on May 22, 2009

      fantastic, I used chicken instead of beef, cut the greens finely, added a little sesame oil to the dressing and sprinkled it with roast sesame seeds. I served it in crispy wonton cups for nibbles prior to an asian night. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      Great salad. I did not know where to get Kaffir lime leaves (maybe an Asian market next time?) but the mint, cilantro and basil still made an interesting mix. I used grilled skirt steak in my version and more greens than listed so I just doubled the dressing. I agree, it smells kind of weird when being made, but how tasty. Thanks for a super salad with beef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      The flavors in the dressing were excellent. However, I thought the ingredients were a little basic. I jazzed up the salad by adding crushed toasted peanuts, rice noodles and peeled seeded cucumbers. The finished product was fantastic. I will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      This recipe is my Donna Hay cookbook, Modern Classics 1. I made this on Saturday and it's just fabulous!! I reduced the chili to 1, and reduced the fish sauce to 1 tablespoon, to suit our tastes. I made the dressing in a small jar and gave it a good shake to combine. This realy is outstanding!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      Followed the recipe but could not find Kaffir leaves, but it was still very wonderful. It is great for a varying family of spicy vs not spicy. They can easily see the chili's and remove them or toss some salad without. The only thing I would do next time is put a couple of hot chili slices in the dressing and let it set a bit to give it a hot kick - but we like it hot!! Thank you for submitting such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      Mmmm this was yum! I used chicken breasts instead of steak, and marinated them lightly in a little soy sauce and crushed garlic before cooking. With the sauce, in addition to the ingredients, I added the remainder of the marinade and heated it to a boil (to prevent cross contamination) before pouring over salad. It was the perfect weekend lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2007

      I made the dressing from this recipe for a salad I made up myself using leftover steak, salad, cucumber, tomato, and red onion. The dressing is delicious! I added a little bit of sweet chili sauce to it, which added a little bit of heat and was the perfect touch. The dressing is so good, I will double the recipe for it in the future, thanks for a winner!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2006

      I really liked this!! My first foray into thai food, and because I love salads like this, I thought I would try this one. My dh didn't like the mint, so I will leave that out next time, also the fish sauce is quite strong, so will put a bit less next time. I used rump steak instead, all and all this is very nice, and will def make again with these changes. Thanks for submitting. Foodlover1

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2006

      Well, just like another reviewer, I knew this would be a good salad, but it's probably the best salad I've ever made. The herbs all complement each other so well, along with the tangy lime leaves and the spicy pepper. My substitions were as followed: I grilled the steak with a little Montreal-style grill seasoning and used a jalapeno in place of a chile since I couldn't find one. This made it a tad spicy so next time I'll try fo find a mild chili like the recipe calls for. Overall this is packed with wonderful, authetic Thai flavors. Thanks so much for sharing this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2005

      Based on the other reviews I was expecting a good salad, but I had no idea HOW good it would end up being. It was like each and every taste bud in my mouth were activated, there simply was this amazing balance of tastes. I'm definitely going to make this again and again. I substituted beef with grilled pork tenderloin, and since I was unable to find fresh/frozen kaffir leaves, I used dried, but soaked them first for about thirty minutes. I also substituted the red onion with a shallot onion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2005

      I made a Thai Beef Salad that is so similar to this one that I thought I'd post the review and pics here. Unfortunately I took the pics before adding the fresh herbs. Totally great Thai flavour - and really for a dish that looks so great the preparation is pretty easy. I'll try this recipe next and update my review!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2004

      This was absolutely delicious and one that will be repeated again and again. I followed a slightly different recipe with the beef. I put 350g beef in the freezer for 20 minutes and then cut it into thin slices. The beef then went into a bowl with 2 tsp soy sauce, 2 tsp rice wine, 2 tsp sesame oil, salt, pepper and 2 tsp cornflour. This was left to marinate for 20 minutes. This was then fried in a hot wok for about 2 minutes. I then added the dressing to the beef and poured the whole lot onto the salad mixture you suggest in step 3 (I used half the quantity as there were only three of us and it was a starter). The whole thing was tossed together and devoured. In fact I wished I'd done the amount suggested because we LOVED it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My O My.. Best Thai Beef Salad Ever!

    Serving Size: 1 (377 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 502.1
     
    Calories from Fat 247
    49%
    Total Fat 27.4 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 10.9 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 159.7 mg
    53%
    Sodium 924.6 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 10.9 g
    43%
    Protein 46.2 g
    92%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    kaffir lime leaves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites