15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was Wonderfull, the whole family Loved it!!! I was told that this will be the Chicken Noodle soup I make from now on!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chisel Monkey February 01, 2004

This just became my new chicken soup recipe. The directions are easy to follow and the taste of the soup is wonderful. Everyone kept going back for more. This recipe makes a lot (another reason to give it five stars)so we'll be enjoying it again today. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Indiana Debbie November 14, 2003

Wow, I made some really terrific chicken noodle soup today!! We had some great soup at a restaurant 3 days ago and I went on a mission to find a great chicken soup to do at home and I found it on the first try! I cooked the chicken with the seasonings and boullion cubes yesterday, removed the chicken, cut it up, chilled the chicken and broth overnight. Today I removed the fat from the broth, brought it to a boil, added the vegetables and cooked them for a bit, then added the noodle and chicken. It was wonderful, better than the soup we had at the restaurant! The broth has that nice yellow color and the flavor is so rich! My husband has the 'warm fuzzies' and is crashed on the couch. Thanks so much MEP, we loved this, my search is over and I'll always do this recipe! PS: this makes a lot - BONUS!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude November 09, 2003

A wonderful recipe. The only thing I did different was to use chicken leg quarters for my meat as I find it not only is less expensive ( 10 # is $5.90 at Wall-mart) but more flavorful than chicken breasts. I also made only 1/2 the recipe as I am a household of one. I boiled the entire 10 pounds with the veggies stated in this recipe but a larger quanity. That gave me an enormous amount of broth which I refrigerated over night. That made it easy to remove the fat that had hardened on top. Next time I make this I have all the ingredients ready in the freezer for a quick meal. I used the extra chicken to make chicken salad, a casserole and a few sandwiches. Thanks for this delicious recipe !!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sammijo November 05, 2009

I saved this about a month ago, and finally got around to making it yesterday. It is good! Homemade soup rules and this one is perfect. Great flavour, just a perfect feel better meal with a nice slice of homemade bread. Thanks Mep! When I make it I will think of you. BB

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barefoot Beachcomber July 11, 2009

This is amazing! My husband said it's as fine a chicken soup as he's ever had. I followed Hey Jude's review below and cooked the chicken with herbs and bullion the night before. I put fresh rosemary and thyme in cheesecloth and cooked with the chicken. Used 6 cups store-bought chicken broth, 14 c. water, and 6 bullion cubes. Needs more veggies, so next time I'll double the amounts of celery and carrots. Delicious!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
minbrain February 15, 2012

This soup was awesome!!!! First time attempting to make it. It turned out great. Taste just like what my mom use to make. Will be using this recipe over and over again!!! Thanks for sharing it!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
phantoms September 06, 2011

This just tastes like my grandma's chicken soup, true chicken soup for the soul!!! I usually add some mushrooms at the end with the noodles. Great recipe for anyone with a cold or the flu, light to digest and very comforting, add extra pepper to clear those sinuses ;o) Thanks for posting, Hep Mep.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Agnes #2 March 01, 2010

Absolutely LOVE this recipe! I have made this multiple times, and it is fabulous! I use a whole chicken (around 4 lbs.) instead of the breast halves and it works out perfectly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fdandi September 10, 2009
My Not-So-Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup