23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

so, my 2nd time making this. used 1 1/2 lbs ground turkey breast. added extra can of tomatoes and plenty of cajun spice. added fresh spinach as well. let it simmer for over an hour, covered. it is very good. plz, lord! i want to lose some lbs!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susie61 March 12, 2012

Just the perfect meal on a freezing cold January day! I made this exactly as posted, using some Napa cabbage that I had in the fridge. I think you could add pretty much any vegetable to this soup and it would taste good. It's hearty and delicious (and guilt-free)!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! January 06, 2012

Tasty, filling soup! It was also a great way to use up the veggies in my fridge and freezer at the end of the week. Besides the listed veggies, I added some red bell pepper to the saute, and later some frozen oriental and california mix veggies, shelled edamame and spinach. Instead of beef broth/bullion, I used 3/4 of a carton chicken broth, 2 cups of water and about 2 Tbs tomato paste. Finally, I spiced it all up with some Tabasco sauce. Delish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendybird 2 March 26, 2010

This is by far the best 0 Points soup that I have tried! Very flavorful and filled me right up last night. I threw everything except the zucchini in a crock-pot (after sauteeing the onion, carrot and celery) for 5 hours on HI, then added the zucchini for another 20 minutes. I used an entire bag a coleslaw mix and one extra can of beef broth - can't wait for the healthful leftovers at lunch today!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI January 15, 2010

This is a very nice, low fat soup. I loved that the vegetables were tender, but not mushy. I used Zatarains Creole seasoning, and used fresh basil. I also threw in a little more zucchini than the recipe called for. Another reviewer added in turkey meatballs...I think this might be a great idea! I really enjoyed this. Thanks for posting, PAC baby!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom September 12, 2009

YUM! This was a excellent recipe. I added a few things to use up from my pantry and ref. I used half a green bell pepper, green beans, northern white beans and real beef broth from stew beef I made the other day and a vegetable bouillon cube along with the beef bouillon cubes stated in recipe. Omitted the basil and garlic since I used green chili stewed tomatoes with seasonings. I did add a dash of garlic powder and I made Turkey Meatballs to add some meat to this soup. It was FABULOUS! This is a recipe I will keep for the winter months for a cold chilly day. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. October 01, 2008

Easy to make delish soup. I cut the recipe in half and I am sorry I did. I used fresh tomatoes (3), no zucchini but added 3 leeks. My cabbage was the chinese type. Using fresh tomatoes there was a little less juice so will add some tomatoe juice when I heat the leftovers. ! full tsp of Cajun spice went into it Mmmm Thanks Teresa for a tasty lunch

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy September 29, 2008

5 Stars, the cajun twist adds lots of zing to the classic WW zero-point soup, even DH really liked it. This was simple to make; I froze the leftovers for my lunch this week. What a wonderful way to load up on veggies! Used Emeril's Essence (Bayou Blast) and Emeril's beef broth, and Herb-Ox no-sodium beef granules. Thanks for posting this, Teresa. Made for 1-2-3 Hit Wonders.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL September 06, 2008

So delicious that I don't even mind that all the vegetables.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuppycakes November 16, 2014

The cajun spices and zucchini make this so good! For the last 20 minutes of simmer time I added some frozen italian meatballs to make it a complete meal (I am not tracking Weight Watchers points). Thanks for sharing your Mom's recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen August 21, 2014
My Mother's Version: Weight Watcher's 0 Points Vegetable Soup