Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Mom's Poppy Seed Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Mom's Poppy Seed Bread

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on March 28, 2013

      I've been craving almond poppy seed bread and this hit the spot. Mine was done about 5min early. The glaze was a perfect addition - not too orangey like I was afraid of. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2010

      for some of you frustrated reviewere: There are a few necessary steps that you must go through before you put your ingredients together and put the item in the oven:
      1. read the recipe
      2. read the reviews to see if you need to modify anything
      3. read the recipe again after you have made any modifications
      4. get all utensils and ingredients together into one place
      5. READ THE RECIPE


      This rece=ipe needed no modifications, It turned out fine as written. I've been making this bread for years and have never tired of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      I made this for my bf for Easter!! He thought it was great!! I have never made bread from scratch so this was a challenge for me..it was an easy recipe..although it had darken onthe top a little quicker then I expected..but all in all a deliciious recipe! Thank you for sharing it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      It was delicious! The O.J., butter, vanilla, and almond made a light and sweet flavored glaze. It was very yummy! I made a loaf with and one without the glaze (for my dieting friends.) Both were great! Wonderful little treat to make for friends anytime! Very easy to make, mix everything together, throw it in the oven and come back a hour later, and Perfecto!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2006

      I am so irritated! Why on earth does this recipe call for ungreased pans? Like the first reviewer, my loaves tore in half when I tried to remove them. Grease your pans and grease them well! The taste, texture and appearance of this recipe are excellent, but I can only give 4 stars due to the directions. By the way, there was enough bread batter for 4 small loaves and 24 mini muffins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2005

      First let me say this bread tastes fantastic. I did debate, however whether to award 4 or 5 stars. The problem I had was removing the loaf from the pans. Directions for the removal was not given in the steps so I did not know to take the bread out of the pans before drizzling the glaze or after. I decided to drizzle the glaze while the bread was in the pan to allow the bread to soak up all the glaze. This did produce a marvelous tasty bread, however I was unable to remove it entirely from the pan when completely cooled. Both loaves tore in two while attempting to remove them from the pans. I did decide to give all the stars though, because the flavor of this bread is is very good. The texture, flavor and the color all perfect! This recipe could easily be used for muffins and served for breakfast or as a snack cake. Thank you, Kimke, for sharing this recipe! I will try using a spray on the pans next time I attempt this recipe in hopes the pan will release easier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2003

      Delicious! Turned out a nice loaf with good texture. The almond and vanilla extracts together in this made the flavor a little different than the usual... 'fantastic' is more like it! The only complaint I got was that the glaze was a bit sticky, so DH had to use a fork to eat it and not just his fingers! LOL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2003

      This was excellent! I made everything as directed. Very tasty bread...it didn't even need butter! The loaves were large, puffed up nicely, and looked very pretty with the glaze! Thanks for sharing your mother's fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Mom's Poppy Seed Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (2025 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3579.0
     
    Calories from Fat 1508
    42%
    Total Fat 167.6 g
    257%
    Saturated Fat 37.8 g
    189%
    Cholesterol 403.8 mg
    134%
    Sodium 2382.4 mg
    99%
    Total Carbohydrate 488.5 g
    162%
    Dietary Fiber 6.5 g
    26%
    Sugars 333.8 g
    1335%
    Protein 37.8 g
    75%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites