8 Reviews

I've been craving almond poppy seed bread and this hit the spot. Mine was done about 5min early. The glaze was a perfect addition - not too orangey like I was afraid of. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sofie-a-toast March 28, 2013

for some of you frustrated reviewere: There are a few necessary steps that you must go through before you put your ingredients together and put the item in the oven:
1. read the recipe
2. read the reviews to see if you need to modify anything
3. read the recipe again after you have made any modifications
4. get all utensils and ingredients together into one place

This rece=ipe needed no modifications, It turned out fine as written. I've been making this bread for years and have never tired of it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yoyo1198 September 04, 2010

I made this for my bf for Easter!! He thought it was great!! I have never made bread from scratch so this was a challenge for me..it was an easy recipe..although it had darken onthe top a little quicker then I expected..but all in all a deliciious recipe! Thank you for sharing it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carole #4 #2 March 26, 2008

It was delicious! The O.J., butter, vanilla, and almond made a light and sweet flavored glaze. It was very yummy! I made a loaf with and one without the glaze (for my dieting friends.) Both were great! Wonderful little treat to make for friends anytime! Very easy to make, mix everything together, throw it in the oven and come back a hour later, and Perfecto!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SunshineKelly! December 26, 2007

I am so irritated! Why on earth does this recipe call for ungreased pans? Like the first reviewer, my loaves tore in half when I tried to remove them. Grease your pans and grease them well! The taste, texture and appearance of this recipe are excellent, but I can only give 4 stars due to the directions. By the way, there was enough bread batter for 4 small loaves and 24 mini muffins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly Green January 25, 2006

First let me say this bread tastes fantastic. I did debate, however whether to award 4 or 5 stars. The problem I had was removing the loaf from the pans. Directions for the removal was not given in the steps so I did not know to take the bread out of the pans before drizzling the glaze or after. I decided to drizzle the glaze while the bread was in the pan to allow the bread to soak up all the glaze. This did produce a marvelous tasty bread, however I was unable to remove it entirely from the pan when completely cooled. Both loaves tore in two while attempting to remove them from the pans. I did decide to give all the stars though, because the flavor of this bread is is very good. The texture, flavor and the color all perfect! This recipe could easily be used for muffins and served for breakfast or as a snack cake. Thank you, Kimke, for sharing this recipe! I will try using a spray on the pans next time I attempt this recipe in hopes the pan will release easier.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev March 25, 2005

Delicious! Turned out a nice loaf with good texture. The almond and vanilla extracts together in this made the flavor a little different than the usual... 'fantastic' is more like it! The only complaint I got was that the glaze was a bit sticky, so DH had to use a fork to eat it and not just his fingers! LOL!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi April 14, 2003

This was excellent! I made everything as directed. Very tasty bread...it didn't even need butter! The loaves were large, puffed up nicely, and looked very pretty with the glaze! Thanks for sharing your mother's fantastic recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChipotleChick April 01, 2003
My Mom's Poppy Seed Bread