Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Mom's Homemade Bread & Bun Recipe (No Bread Maker)
    Lost? Site Map

    My Mom's Homemade Bread & Bun Recipe (No Bread Maker)

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on February 15, 2011

      First time ever making bread. Was asked by friends and family members to make more and some for them as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      I just made this recipe and I am thrilled with the results! We're a small family, so I made a half batch. The bread comes out so soft, slightly chewy and the bottom has a great light and crispy crust. PERFECT. I made them into "sub rolls" and seasoned the tops with an herb, salt, garlic, pepper and cheese mixture. We ended up with 15 single sized rolls which is more than enough! This recipe is easy enough to make, so I wouldn't mind making a fresh batch often. One thing I would change would be to add another 1/2-1 tsp of salt. But other than that, these are great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2007

      I scaled this recipe down to make just 1 loaf and used it to make rolls. I really like the taste and textue of this bread. very easy to make also. Thanks for the bread recipe with instructions for those of us that don't have a bread machine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      Really enjoyed this recipe! Make sure your pan is big enough or it will rise right out of the pan lol!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      worst recipie ever!
      do not even try to make it.
      makes enough bread to feed a million people.
      with 17 cups as the max. ammount of flour you can add it leaves the dough extremly sticky and hard to work with.
      waste of time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

    • on April 29, 2009

      I was looking for a simple bread recipe and boy did I find it! I now use this recipe for all my bread making needs... buns, cinnamon buns, and various breads! I love love love this recipe! Thanks soooo much for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      I was looking for a different recipe for bread than I usually make and reading this one I thought I would try as it had such good directions. I only used 1/2 a recipe as it is only 2 of us.. I have never seen dough go over sides of the bowl like this one did. I did as the directions said and did not add more flour. My dough was very sticky and as it rose it flowed over sides of the bowl not up high. Even in the bread pan it flowed over sided and did not stand up tall. I put it in a cassarole dish now and it is baking. Boy I am not sure what I did wrong but it was very dense and had a very strong yeast taste almost like a sour dough. I could have never made it into rolls it would have flowed all over the pan. I baked one of the two loafs in a large casarole dish, it was better than the one in a loaf pan. sorry could not get it to work. Don't know what I did wrong

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      It's the best bread I ever made. It is realy light,tasty and very easy to make.Don't add flour during kneading (much flour making heavy dry bread) but keep greasing your hands each time the dough sticks on them. My 3 years old daugther ate 2 buns before dinner. Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      I think that there were a few snags in my prep. bread was dense and not "fluffy" oh well, guess it's back to the drawing board for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      Too dry! Too much of a serving! Tastes like cardboard!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

      Excellent recipe. This bread was enjoyed by everyone in my family. I made 2 loaves worth of dough. I added fresh chives and grated cheese to one loaf and made the second batch of dough into rolls. I used muffin tins to bake the rolls in - these were great once cooked to split and add a poached egg and bacon! Great instructions and worked perfectly

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2007

      i Love this recipe! only that the portion is too much for me ^_^ even so its wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      This is very easy and the texture and taste are great. There is nothing like homemade bread. I used olive oil and they turned out great. I made 3 round loaves. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2006

      WOW - Holy rise on this recipe - what a great fluffy nice white bread. Thank you for posting one that is made the good old fashioned way....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      i really enjoyed this recipe i have four little ones and they loved it.:) I have never ever tried making bread before and it was so fun and easy thank you for sharing it...:) Bread Lover:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      Made this as given, and although a sweeter bread than I am used to, this made up beautiful and light, a taste treat to boot. I think this will be the recipe I use to make cinnamon rolls from now on also. Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2005

      It was very dry and didnt come close to tasting like White bread! I even added butter but no it still didnt tast very well, sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2005

      I haven't made your bread yet but I truly appreciate the detailed directions on making bread. I don't have a bread maker and it is difficult to make bread using a recipe that says "put all ingredients into a breadmaker and wait". I appreciate the guidance and detailed instructions. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Mom's Homemade Bread & Bun Recipe (No Bread Maker)

    Serving Size: 1 (691 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1269.6
     
    Calories from Fat 113
    92%
    Total Fat 12.5 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 213.8 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 249.3 g
    83%
    Dietary Fiber 10.0 g
    40%
    Sugars 9.2 g
    36%
    Protein 34.7 g
    69%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes