Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Mom's Chicken Broccoli Rice Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Mom's Chicken Broccoli Rice Casserole

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on November 20, 2008

      This was very tasty. I like the idea of making a cheese sauce instead of just adding the shredded cheese. I made some changes for my taste. I sauteed onions and garlic and added it to the mixture. I steamed the broccoli until it was crisp tender to prevent it from turning to mush while baking. I did make the cheese sauce with a shredded cheese blend from a bag. If the sauce is made properly, there will be no "grainy" texture. The flour and butter needs to be cooked for a few minutes to ensure there is no raw taste. The half-and-half must be add at room temperature. Stir gently until the sauce can coat the back of a spoon. You can then add the cheese slowly and mix gently until well blended. Thus a perfect cheese sauce. This a great comfort food that I enjoyed as a child.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      The kids and I thought it was terrific, great for nights when you want comfort carbs. My husband thought it was on the bland side (but still he went back for seconds). I made half the recipe and we still had left over with our family of five. I made it with whole milk instead of the half and half because that's what I had on hand, and it was still very much creamy and good. I'll make this again (maybe when my husband is out of town and I just need the kids to eat and go to bed!) It was very easy to make, another plus. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2014

      Making homemade cheese sauce adds a great touch. I add a little more seasoning to it, and usually use cream of chicken, and sharp cheddar cheese. Great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2010

      This was good, but I might make extra cheese sauce next time and put it all in a bigger pan. It seems like the rice and chicken absorbed most of my sauce and the casserole ended up a little dry even though it initially looked like there was a lot of sauce. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      This is really yummy! I used whole grain rice and didn't chop my broccoli, left if as florets, and put cheese on top. This was a favorite and we will have it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      We found it to be very plain.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      My family of 5 ate every bit of this...I made it for 8-10 people. My Mom even loved it and went back for seconds..(she doesn't like any recipes other than hers) This is a keeper and will be shared with my friends!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      I love this recipe! I made a couple of changes, I sauted half an onion and used cream of chicken instead of the cream of mushroom. I give this recipe 5 *****. I also used fresh brocolli and steamed it in the microwave

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2006

      I made a few changes and thought this one was terrific. Definitely will be making this again. 4 pks/6oz. cooked chicken 22 oz frozen broccoli flowerettes 2 pks Uncle Ben's cooked chicken flavor rice 1 jar mushroom slices SAUCE use 1 pint lowfat half-and-half use 12 oz sharp cheddar

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2006

      Very tasty, I didn't have any broccoli (I know !!!) so I used carrots & mushrooms instead, wow, we loved it my kids cleared their bowl and asked if they could have it every day!!! That to me deserves 5 stars. Am glad I chose it for PAC 2006 thanks Imrendil thinking of you!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2005

      Very Good!! Denfinately comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Mom's Chicken Broccoli Rice Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (311 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 744.8
     
    Calories from Fat 346
    46%
    Total Fat 38.5 g
    59%
    Saturated Fat 20.2 g
    101%
    Cholesterol 169.9 mg
    56%
    Sodium 735.5 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.6 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 46.7 g
    93%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites