Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Mom’s Lemon Bars are Better Than Your Mom’s Lemon Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Mom’s Lemon Bars are Better Than Your Mom’s Lemon Bars

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on December 23, 2012

      I made these for a Christmas party tonight. I'm thinking I should have made a double batch since I've already eaten three... these are yummy and so very easy. I used 3 lemons which was a little over 6 tablespoons of juice. Thanks for the recipe - I will make these again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2010

      I love your Mom's recipe. I follow it to a tee, except I leave crust in oven maybe about 10 minutes longer for more browner crust! Other than that, it is perfect, and I am making them yet again for our family Christmas party 2010. Thank for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      I made these Lemon Bars yesterday for a BBQ that we were invited to. I thought they sounded light enough to bring to my neighbors for desert. While I was cutting the bars, my husband came in and was curious so I gave him a taste....He didn't want me to bring them next door. I kept 6 of the 32 pieces it yielded. Everyone loved them. I know I will make these again and again and again. Thanks to you and your mom!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      Excellent recipe but one change is necessary to make them more lemony: add lemon zest from one of the lemons to the filling. You'll be glad you did! As another reviewer suggested, beating the eggs for 5 to 10 minutes first and then beating in the other filling ingredients will make a nicer texture.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2014

      This is my 1st time making lemon bars. I've always wanted to make them but thought they were hard. These were easy to make. I messed up and frothed (if that's a word) the eggs without the other ingredients as listed in the instructions. After missing 5 minutes, I added the other ingredients and when I did, I beat them for an additional 3 minutes. All that said, it made the curd a little chalky. But it was still good. I love the tartness. I was concerned 6 tablespoons of lemon juice wasn't enough, so I added half a teaspoon of lemon flavor and zest of a lemon. The only thing I would change is the amount of sugar. I have a sweet tooth, but this was too sweet for me. I will cut it down by a half next time. To the crust, I added a cap full of vanilla flavor. The crust is already good, but the vanilla added an additional goodness. I really enjoy the flavor of the vanilla and lemon together. I love the crust so much I plan on using it in other recipes.<br/>UPDATE:<br/>Since I enjoyed these bars I couldn't wait to try it again with some changes. Actually, after I read another reviewer suggestion, I didn't melt the butter this time. Instead I cut it up into the dry ingredients and baked the prescribed time. Then I put the liquid ingredients together and mixed till frothed; gradually adding the baking power and flour. Turned out great. I prefer the crust this way because it's more like shortbread. I will be making these again, again, and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2010

      We are not huge lemon fans but this is so light and the crust is to die for! My daughter, a true chocolate fan, requests these again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      Wow! That was easy :) And delish, thanks. Added lemon rind and about three extra tbsp juice, very lemony.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      These are great. I halved the recipe with success and added the zest of 1 lemon. Next time I think I'll double the amount of lemon juice and/or add a bit more zest. The crust was amazing and the filling was good, but not quite lemony enough for me. Texture was great though. I'm happy to have found this recipe. It's something I will make again. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      I made these for Mother's day, and they were a hit! I only made one varieation, and that was to put in the grated rind of 1 small lemon in the filling mixture. These are requested for future events already! These are so easy I will be happy to make them again, and again. Thanks for this recipie!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      Your mom DOES make great lemon bars! I made these for a Mom's Bible Study group and they were eaten up, thank you! I followed CathInSunnyCal's advice and added the zest of a lemon and they were excellent, both in flavour and texture. Thanks ..tiffany.., this is our new recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      I have yet to try the recipe, but plan to in the near future, the name alone is enough to make me try these, nice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      These lemon bars are very good, and has far as the recipe goes I think it's just right! It made about 25 I f you cut them into squares.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      This recipe (and similar) has been around a long time. Probably would not have rated this because it is so popular, but just happened to have made a pan today to freeze for company. To add insult to injury I top mine with a lemon induced (lots of rind) cream cheese icing. For us they are too sweet but our friends love them so it is always on demand. They also come under the title "lemon love notes". One method I have used for the filling is to beat the eggs and sugar for about 5 mins. before adding the remainder. This gives a different texture and a higher bar. Just realized the crust in this recipe calls for melted butter but I feel you would get a crisper crust with room temp. butter which you would blend into the flour and sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      These were really good. Not quite as lemony as I wanted (even though I added extra lemon), but still good. My DF liked them, even though he hates lemon bars. He said they reminded him of shortbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      4 Stars... I am not sure why, but these were more like butter bars than lemon bars. We even added a bunch of grated lemon and extra lemon juice. They looked beautiful and tasted good, just not as lemony... if we make again, we'll do some adjustments. I like how easily they cut - usually I make a mess trying to take bars out of the pan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      I actually saved this recipe the first day you posted it and am just getting around to making and reviewing it! Shame on me because these are some awesome lemon bars. The whole family loved them. Thanks for posting your mommy's incredible recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      Wow! These were amazing! I used 8 tablespoons of lemon juice, because I love lemon, but otherwise, I followed the recipe. Truly amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      Had I known just how easy lemon bars were to make I'd probably have done it a long time ago.I do admit to subbing with lime juice because it's what I had. Delicious! I really love this simple recipe that I'm sure I'll make again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2006

      These are GREAT bars! They werent as lemony as I would have liked them, but I mmmmmmed with each bite I took. So did my DH and kids. Thanks for the wonderful and easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2006

      Tastes just like Grandma used to make. Rich bars. You won't need more than one but you will want one soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Mom’s Lemon Bars are Better Than Your Mom’s Lemon Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (40 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 25

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 182.3
     
    Calories from Fat 74
    40%
    Total Fat 8.2 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 53.3 mg
    17%
    Sodium 78.3 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.4 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 16.5 g
    66%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites