20 Reviews

I made these for a Christmas party tonight. I'm thinking I should have made a double batch since I've already eaten three... these are yummy and so very easy. I used 3 lemons which was a little over 6 tablespoons of juice. Thanks for the recipe - I will make these again for sure!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kalija December 23, 2012

I love your Mom's recipe. I follow it to a tee, except I leave crust in oven maybe about 10 minutes longer for more browner crust! Other than that, it is perfect, and I am making them yet again for our family Christmas party 2010. Thank for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wife2uRick December 17, 2010

I made these Lemon Bars yesterday for a BBQ that we were invited to. I thought they sounded light enough to bring to my neighbors for desert. While I was cutting the bars, my husband came in and was curious so I gave him a taste....He didn't want me to bring them next door. I kept 6 of the 32 pieces it yielded. Everyone loved them. I know I will make these again and again and again. Thanks to you and your mom!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katt711 July 31, 2009

Excellent recipe but one change is necessary to make them more lemony: add lemon zest from one of the lemons to the filling. You'll be glad you did! As another reviewer suggested, beating the eggs for 5 to 10 minutes first and then beating in the other filling ingredients will make a nicer texture.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CathInSunnyCal May 05, 2009

This is my 1st time making lemon bars. I've always wanted to make them but thought they were hard. These were easy to make. I messed up and frothed (if that's a word) the eggs without the other ingredients as listed in the instructions. After missing 5 minutes, I added the other ingredients and when I did, I beat them for an additional 3 minutes. All that said, it made the curd a little chalky. But it was still good. I love the tartness. I was concerned 6 tablespoons of lemon juice wasn't enough, so I added half a teaspoon of lemon flavor and zest of a lemon. The only thing I would change is the amount of sugar. I have a sweet tooth, but this was too sweet for me. I will cut it down by a half next time. To the crust, I added a cap full of vanilla flavor. The crust is already good, but the vanilla added an additional goodness. I really enjoy the flavor of the vanilla and lemon together. I love the crust so much I plan on using it in other recipes.<br/>UPDATE:<br/>Since I enjoyed these bars I couldn't wait to try it again with some changes. Actually, after I read another reviewer suggestion, I didn't melt the butter this time. Instead I cut it up into the dry ingredients and baked the prescribed time. Then I put the liquid ingredients together and mixed till frothed; gradually adding the baking power and flour. Turned out great. I prefer the crust this way because it's more like shortbread. I will be making these again, again, and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YesJesus01 January 28, 2014

We are not huge lemon fans but this is so light and the crust is to die for! My daughter, a true chocolate fan, requests these again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karajeboo730 July 22, 2010

Wow! That was easy :) And delish, thanks. Added lemon rind and about three extra tbsp juice, very lemony.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laralu April 18, 2010

These are great. I halved the recipe with success and added the zest of 1 lemon. Next time I think I'll double the amount of lemon juice and/or add a bit more zest. The crust was amazing and the filling was good, but not quite lemony enough for me. Texture was great though. I'm happy to have found this recipe. It's something I will make again. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie October 11, 2009

I made these for Mother's day, and they were a hit! I only made one varieation, and that was to put in the grated rind of 1 small lemon in the filling mixture. These are requested for future events already! These are so easy I will be happy to make them again, and again. Thanks for this recipie!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherry B. May 11, 2009

Your mom DOES make great lemon bars! I made these for a Mom's Bible Study group and they were eaten up, thank you! I followed CathInSunnyCal's advice and added the zest of a lemon and they were excellent, both in flavour and texture. Thanks ..tiffany.., this is our new recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4QTpies May 08, 2009
My Mom’s Lemon Bars are Better Than Your Mom’s Lemon Bars