Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Mashed Taters Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Mashed Taters

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 28, 2008

      This is the way I make my mashed potatoes, too. I do start with cold water to cover the potatoes so they cook evenly, not on just the outside first. when finished cooking, I put the potatoes through the potato ricer to eliminate lumps, then whip them with the old potato masher. I always heat my milk in the microwave for 60 seconds. I think it would be foolish to put cold milk into hot potatoes, if I wanted this side dish to remain warm for serving.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      I also make my mashed potatoes like this with the exception of using the electric mixer. I loved how creamy they came out.Thanks i will use mixer from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      Yum yum! I have never whipped my potatoes before. I used light cream and heated it with the butter before adding it in. It was so light and fluffy and creamy, needed more butter for my taste, so I added in an extra dab. I served it with Trinidad stewed chicken which had it's own gravy and peas in the mix. Delish! I like this hand-mixer method for mashed taters. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      This is a winning recipe! I went exactly right by the recipe although I used real butter instead of margarine. Very delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      I gave this 4 stars. This is exactly how I make my mashed potatoes. Nothing fancy just good food. Nice idea about the calorie count! Thanks for posting a great recipe. Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      LOVED IT! The only change I made was to add the salt to the water rather than at the end. Perfect amounts on the milk, butter and seasonings and perfect texture. Thank you for a keeper Shapeweaver! Made for Comfort Foods tag in the Photo forum, please see my rating system.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      Good basic mashed potatoes! This is the way my husband loves them. Thanks! Good comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      This is how my mother taught me to make mashed potatos. Never any lumps. Just good flavor and nice consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      This is how my mom taught me to make mashed potatoes. The only difference is that I use butter instead of margarine. I like mixing with an electric mixer vs a potato masher because you can get all the lumps out... and my kids hate lumps. Thanks shapeweaver for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2006

      This is how I've always made mashed potatoes except I mashed them. This method is easier and makes them very creamy and no lumps. Thanks, shapeweaver, it doesn't get any easier than this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Mashed Taters

    Serving Size: 1 (173 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 171.7
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    41%
    Total Fat 7.8 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.8 mg
    0%
    Sodium 559.4 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes