10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the way I make my mashed potatoes, too. I do start with cold water to cover the potatoes so they cook evenly, not on just the outside first. when finished cooking, I put the potatoes through the potato ricer to eliminate lumps, then whip them with the old potato masher. I always heat my milk in the microwave for 60 seconds. I think it would be foolish to put cold milk into hot potatoes, if I wanted this side dish to remain warm for serving.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grannydragon January 28, 2008

I also make my mashed potatoes like this with the exception of using the electric mixer. I loved how creamy they came out.Thanks i will use mixer from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1baytown December 26, 2010

Yum yum! I have never whipped my potatoes before. I used light cream and heated it with the butter before adding it in. It was so light and fluffy and creamy, needed more butter for my taste, so I added in an extra dab. I served it with Trinidad stewed chicken which had it's own gravy and peas in the mix. Delish! I like this hand-mixer method for mashed taters. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxanne J.R. March 01, 2010

This is a winning recipe! I went exactly right by the recipe although I used real butter instead of margarine. Very delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seasoned Cook January 21, 2010

I gave this 4 stars. This is exactly how I make my mashed potatoes. Nothing fancy just good food. Nice idea about the calorie count! Thanks for posting a great recipe. Christine (internetnut)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut January 29, 2008

LOVED IT! The only change I made was to add the salt to the water rather than at the end. Perfect amounts on the milk, butter and seasonings and perfect texture. Thank you for a keeper Shapeweaver! Made for Comfort Foods tag in the Photo forum, please see my rating system.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup January 28, 2008

Good basic mashed potatoes! This is the way my husband loves them. Thanks! Good comfort food!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 January 10, 2008

This is how my mother taught me to make mashed potatos. Never any lumps. Just good flavor and nice consistency.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl October 02, 2006

This is how my mom taught me to make mashed potatoes. The only difference is that I use butter instead of margarine. I like mixing with an electric mixer vs a potato masher because you can get all the lumps out... and my kids hate lumps. Thanks shapeweaver for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. October 02, 2006

This is how I've always made mashed potatoes except I mashed them. This method is easier and makes them very creamy and no lumps. Thanks, shapeweaver, it doesn't get any easier than this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bailey46 February 11, 2006
My Mashed Taters