10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

There's nothing weird about this! I added some cayenne pepper flakes and served this alongside some hummous and tehina, with toasted pita triangles for scooping and dipping!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj July 09, 2003

tried it once and i still prefer if i did not puree the eggplant. however, it does taste wonderful.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodcrazee July 02, 2003

This was just okay for us - we had this over brown rice. My boyfriend said it was slightly bland and needed some texture. If I made it again, I would probably increase the spices and maybe cube the eggplant instead. My biggest difficulty/struggle with this recipe was with step 3, peeling the eggplant. I resorted to scooping out the flesh, but still took me about 20 minutes to peel and was totally frustrated. Anyone know an easier way to peel it?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie September 25, 2008

This is excellent! I tossed it with some penne pasta and used the scallions as garnish. I am calling it an asian eggplant sauce. Thanks for the very unique recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
toohot4u September 10, 2008

I'll admit it, I was skeptical but I was looking for a quick weeknight meal before we ran off to an activity. I was pleasantly surprised. This is yummy! I served it over whole wheat spaghetti. My 6 year old told me to give it 5 stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim12469 July 28, 2008

(ETA: changed to 5 stars. Original review follows:) I thought this was such an interesting blend of flavors, I could have never created something like this, so I'm glad your mom did! I used 1 large eggplant and roasted it in the oven, also, I thought that a tablespoon of lemon juice was insufficient,I used nearly a whole lemon. DH decides if I should make it again, so when I asked, he nodded his head while frowning and said "yeah". A five is more adamant, so a 4star it is. Thanks! (ETA: We had extra from when first made (1wk ago) and every day or so, I take it out of the fridge to eat a spoonful. I have fallen in love with the recipe and now I want more. The taste definitely grows on you, and I find the smell of the dish so appetizing. I recommend this as a make ahead dish, that should be served cold, as an appetizer. I can't believe I didn't totally love it from the very start.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AniSarit November 05, 2007

I made this for 8,+mixed it in 2lbs pasta-IT TASTED OUTSTANDING!!(I also added a lot more garlic) MAYBE CHANGE ITS NAME

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
larry #2 August 03, 2007

Eggplants are just starting to come in now, so I am looking for EP recipes. I cut the eggplant flesh into cubes and added the diced flesh of a peeled roasted red pepper. A few drops of chili oil spiced it up. Great over whole wheat pasta.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jyber July 17, 2007

This is to die for! I'm so glad I found it! There was a restaurant in Southern California that served an eggplant dish a lot like this. And since moving to the Midwest, we've been unable to find anything like it. Now we can have it anytime we want! Thank you and thank your mother! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipe Junkie August 09, 2006

Excellent! My husband loved this! Thank you and your mother for a wonderful recipe, I will make this often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa April 21, 2004
My Mama's Weird Eggplant (Aubergine)