Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Mama's Weird Eggplant (Aubergine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Mama's Weird Eggplant (Aubergine)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on July 09, 2003

      There's nothing weird about this! I added some cayenne pepper flakes and served this alongside some hummous and tehina, with toasted pita triangles for scooping and dipping!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2003

      tried it once and i still prefer if i did not puree the eggplant. however, it does taste wonderful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      This was just okay for us - we had this over brown rice. My boyfriend said it was slightly bland and needed some texture. If I made it again, I would probably increase the spices and maybe cube the eggplant instead. My biggest difficulty/struggle with this recipe was with step 3, peeling the eggplant. I resorted to scooping out the flesh, but still took me about 20 minutes to peel and was totally frustrated. Anyone know an easier way to peel it?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      This is excellent! I tossed it with some penne pasta and used the scallions as garnish. I am calling it an asian eggplant sauce. Thanks for the very unique recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      I'll admit it, I was skeptical but I was looking for a quick weeknight meal before we ran off to an activity. I was pleasantly surprised. This is yummy! I served it over whole wheat spaghetti. My 6 year old told me to give it 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      (ETA: changed to 5 stars. Original review follows:) I thought this was such an interesting blend of flavors, I could have never created something like this, so I'm glad your mom did! I used 1 large eggplant and roasted it in the oven, also, I thought that a tablespoon of lemon juice was insufficient,I used nearly a whole lemon. DH decides if I should make it again, so when I asked, he nodded his head while frowning and said "yeah". A five is more adamant, so a 4star it is. Thanks! (ETA: We had extra from when first made (1wk ago) and every day or so, I take it out of the fridge to eat a spoonful. I have fallen in love with the recipe and now I want more. The taste definitely grows on you, and I find the smell of the dish so appetizing. I recommend this as a make ahead dish, that should be served cold, as an appetizer. I can't believe I didn't totally love it from the very start.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2007

      I made this for 8,+mixed it in 2lbs pasta-IT TASTED OUTSTANDING!!(I also added a lot more garlic) MAYBE CHANGE ITS NAME

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2007

      Eggplants are just starting to come in now, so I am looking for EP recipes. I cut the eggplant flesh into cubes and added the diced flesh of a peeled roasted red pepper. A few drops of chili oil spiced it up. Great over whole wheat pasta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2006

      This is to die for! I'm so glad I found it! There was a restaurant in Southern California that served an eggplant dish a lot like this. And since moving to the Midwest, we've been unable to find anything like it. Now we can have it anytime we want! Thank you and thank your mother! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2004

      Excellent! My husband loved this! Thank you and your mother for a wonderful recipe, I will make this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Mama's Weird Eggplant (Aubergine)

    Serving Size: 1 (1333 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 469.1
     
    Calories from Fat 234
    50%
    Total Fat 26.0 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1783.8 mg
    74%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.0 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 19.7 g
    78%
    Sugars 34.1 g
    136%
    Protein 9.6 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rice wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites