Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Mama's Meat Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Mama's Meat Sauce

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on March 23, 2003

      We all loved your mama's recipe. It's very similar to one I make (mine has a couple of bacon slices and white wine), so I used the vermouth to make it different. I think the long cooking is the secret to this sauce don't you? Thanks for an excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      Thank you for sharing this recipe. It is the only meat sauce I'm allowed to make in our house now, my husband loves it as does my son. Any other meat sauce is bland in comparison. I have also made double batches of it so I can freeze the second batch. It freezes well and is still gobbled down by the family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      Easy and delicious spaghetti sauce--wouldn't expect anything less from Mama. If possible, I suggest making this the day before you want to serve it to let the flavors settle in. Very garlicy, which is beautiful, and the wine adds a nice touch, too. Thanks for sharing this recipe. Enjoyed by my entire family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2003

      An excellent sauce, a definite repeat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2003

      What a delightful, flavorful sauce. Hearty, rich, and meaty. I loved the wine and the garlci - I'd even add more next time. My family is incredibly picky about spaghetti sauces, but they really enjoyed your Mama's recipe. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2012

      Loved the simplicity of the recipe and the thickness of the meat sauce. The flavor was excellent and just as good or better than some of "true Italian" meat sauces. My passion is garlic and will confess I added more than was called for. Also found that during simmering process, added up to cup water. The longer the simmer, the better the flavor. Recommend 2 hours as recipe states. Your mother is to be complimented for taste and simplicity.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      Made this last week and everyone loved it. Didn't have time to simmer for as long as suggested, but was delicious after cooking for an hour. Whole family is sick today and this is the comfort food I'm making. I have been craving it for a week.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      This is GOOD!! Real GOOD!! Did add some mushrooms to the mix and some hot red pepper and tabasco. Thanks for a great recipe! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      Very good and easy, I used chicken broth instead of wine and added an extra 1/2 cup of broth, i didn't have tomato paste with italian seasoning added so I added an extra 1 tsp of italian seasoning, and let it simmer 2 hours. Totally worth making over and over again. Thank you for recipe, Miraklegirl.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      Such an easy recipe but the taste is so good. The wine did it so dont leave it out. I didn't have Italian seasoning so I used 1 teaspoon of basil and 1 teaspoon of parsley. It was a bit too thick so I added 1/2 cup of water so it could simmer. Keeper!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      Thankyou so much for this recipe! This was so easy to make and turned out awesome!! My husband told me this was the most flavorful sauce and that I am to use this recipe anytime I need sauce!!...lol Thanks again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      How did it take me so long to try this recipe??? This was really, really good. I did the recipe as posted, used white wine and a sprinkle of red pepper flakes...OMG this is a keeper thank you so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      Your Mama must have been a heck of a cook! This is so good. How much wine did you say? Mine was thick so to get all the ingredients to mix I used about a cup. I also made this recipe with Quorn veggie crumbles instead of meat so my DH who is a vegetarian could eat it. I did not have italian seasoning and used 1/2 tsp dried oregano, 1/2 tsp dried basil and 1/2 tsp paprika in its place.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      Yum! This is exactly what I was looking for. I left out the white wine and garlic powder (didn't have any). Added red pepper flakes. I made 1/2 a receipe since I only had 1 lb of ground beef, but I keep the seasoning amounts the same.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      Very good recipe. It will be my sauce of choice in the future. I did make one change. After it simmered for a couple of hours I felt it needed something, so I added a quarter cup fresh chopped parsley. That made it even better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      This is a great recipe. It is easy to follow and tastes great. I added a few other ingredients to my sauce that were not listed. I added some red pepper flakes for a bit of heat, and I also sauted red, yellow and green peppers. I always freeze the extra sauce in portion sized containers and just reheat when needed. It makes a great 15 minute meal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      This was so good and so easy! I used about 1/4 cup of sausage, just to get rid of it. The white wine makes the sauce, don't leave it out! Great recipe, sure to make again =)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      This is the best meat sauce I have ever made and believe me I've tried many. It's also extremely easy. Thank you Miraklegirl

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      This was even better than expected. People thought I slaved all day over this sauce. It was very easy. I did not have "italian seasoning" on hand so I used a 1/2 tbs dried basil and 1/2 tbs dried parsely. Also, I used half the meat but kept everything else the same and it was really delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2006

      So delicious! I make this as my regular sauce now and everyone loves it. Thanks for sharing it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Mama's Meat Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (300 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 456.7
     
    Calories from Fat 229
    50%
    Total Fat 25.5 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 9.2 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 102.8 mg
    34%
    Sodium 1220.0 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 13.1 g
    52%
    Protein 32.4 g
    64%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites