Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Mama's Hummous Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Mama's Hummous

    Average Rating:

    56 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 56

    Sort by:

    • on October 20, 2007

      This was very easy and absolutely wonderful. We order this at restaurants all the time and I think this was better. Thanks for the post.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

      WOW!!! The best hummous I have EVER tasted! Easy to make! I almost doubled the recipe but I am glad I din't since this one came out to about 4-5 cups! I am a garlic lover so I cheated and put 3 cloves. The taste is amazing! I cannot stop making this recipe and I cannot find a restaurant that makes a better one. Just for personal info, my dad, who is Egyptian, pronounce it hum-miss and not Choo-moose. Anyways, all that to say that I can honestly say this is by far THE MOST DELICIOUS hummous I have ever tasted.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2005

      Excellent recipe! The only change I made was to double the garlic, as we like it garlicky. Very easy recipe, and I will certainly be making this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2005

      Mama definitely knows best. I just want to roll in this! It's Fabulous! Perfect balance of spice to tang flavor. Hubby and I can eat by spoonful. Forget the dippers! Thanks for sharing

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2005

      I was in Brazil with no hummous to be found. This was the best homemade hummous! I used 2 cups cooked chickpeas instead of the canned chickpeas. Thanks again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2005

      Unbelievable! I made this recipe for the first time yesterday exactly as written. FANTASTIC! I served it at a pot luck party as the appetizer. It was completely gone within the first 1/2 hour. Thank you so much for this recipe - it will go down as one of my favorites!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2005

      Best hoummos I ever tasted! Very smooth. No more canned hoummos for me, ever. But mine got too salty this first time I tried it. Recommend you take half the amount of salt and then taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2005

      Delicious. Give it a little time for the flavours to blend and it is even better. Made it yesterday when it was very good, but today it is just excellent!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2004

      This was great. To be honest, we liked it better the next day. Love these simple to throw together recipes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2004

      This is very good and easy to make. The taste is fresh and was wonderful on pita bread with tomatoes and olives. YUM. Much creamier than the Hummous recipe I usually use. I did add more garlic, because I love the stuff. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2004

      Great recipe! Super easy to prepare - it all just whirls up in the food processor. The taste is so much better than store-bought versions. Creamy, and slightly nutty from the tanhini. I serve this with pita triangles. Very yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2014

      My absolute fav, go to recipe. One of my top 3 on food.com! I beef up the lemon, salt, and cumin, but an amazing recipe. I've tried altering it with other ingredients, and flavors and always come back to the original. DO NOT CALL THIS "PLAIN" much too yummy for that! Great with crackers, vegies for dip, over rice and left overs, on a baked potatoe, it doesn't stop. Part of a great vegan meal, or lower the oil and it can be lo-cal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2012

      When I'm old and toothless, I wish to live on THIS. Chips anyone?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2012

      Perfect! I had 2 15-oz. cans of garbanzo beans, so I adjusted the other ingredients accordingly. I will never go back to packaged hummus again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2012

      This is very good, better than store bought. It is rave worthy. But it's expensive using unrefined extra virgin olive oil, but healthier and tastier. I like the extra tahini used in this recipe and the garlic is not too much or bland. I love cumin in my hummus. I used less sea salt, to taste, and garnished it with chopped flat leaf parsley and more unrefined extra virgin olive oil. Served with rice crackers to be gluten free. I would like to make this for DH. Made for Healthy Choices ABC Tag Game Fall/Winter 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2011

      Wow! I love hummous and my favourite was from London - and had to always wait for someone to bring some back for me... Now I can make it whenever I want!! The recipe is absolutely perfect! Made the full quantity and it looked like way too much, but it finished in an instant! I added 2 tbsp of Nando's peri-peri sauce and it gave the perfect kick. Next time I will try substituting peanut butter for the tahini like someone suggested. Will definitely make this over and over again... Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2011

      Oh, my goodness! This was absolutely the best I've ever had! I instead of canned chickpeas I cooked my own and because I ended up with more than the recipe called for I had to 'tweak' all the other ingredient but it was a hit at the party! I've had people asking for the recipe! Thanks so very much for sharing this great recipe! I'll be making this a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      Miraklegirl, you are a legend, this is the most delicious hummous I have tasted, I too also increased the garlic to 3 cloves, and added Cheff Steff's idea and added 4 Tblspns of plain yoghurt. Fantastic!! Many thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      I have been trying different recipes for Hummous for what seems like years. I lived in Dubai for 5 years and there was a store there than made hummous that I loved so I rarely tried to make it myself. Now we have left Dubai and I was stuck for a good recipe. Well, THIS IS WHAT I WAS SEARCHING FOR! The family loves it. I only thing I added which this recipe doesn't is about 4 tbsp plain yogurt. I find it really makes it creamy. THANK YOU MIRAKLEGIRL. Your hummous has made our week! We've already downed 2 batches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      choo-moose? its hummus

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Mama's Hummous

    Serving Size: 1 (218 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 656.1
     
    Calories from Fat 468
    71%
    Total Fat 52.0 g
    80%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1007.8 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.9 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 8.8 g
    35%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 12.2 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites