178 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have made this sauce several times, it is the best. I made it for my whole family last year and everybody says it is the best spaghetti they ever had. I make it with meatballs and that is enough grease so i havent been adding the rest of the meat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tipton33 June 12, 2009

This was amazing! I added a bit more pepper and garlic because we like things a little spicier, but other than that I didn't skip a step and it was perfect I used frozen "rema" noodles with it and everyone thought they were homemade too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amanda.andrews June 08, 2009

There aren't enough stars on Zaar for this one! Great recipe, Karen (and Karen's mom)! Making this for the second time today. It got rave reviews the first time, served along with the accompanying meatball recipe. I just ran out of my leftovers from the freezer, so time to restock! Used another reviews idea and deglazed with red wine instead of water.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stylin'Dog May 28, 2009

WELL, this definately deserves more stars! TRUST ME! I did make a few changes. Only one Large Yellow Onion, 2 six oz. cans Paste (it was not too thick, just right). Other than that, I followed exactly as you indicated. I used Hot sausage and cooked it with the casing off as this leaves extra flavor for the dripping to be added to sauce. I used 2 chicken breast (cut up as tenders) and 2 boneless Pork Ribs (which I did shred). Used 3/4 can of water, was afraid of sauce being watery. I did not add pepperoni, will try this next time. Quantity was not listed so I left this out. Any recommendations would be appreciated. My homemade meatballs were added. My recipe is not listed but send me a message and you can have this. Warning: They are HUGE & very TENDER. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR POSTING, A KEEPER ALWAYS.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fancie Face May 19, 2009

What more can be said!!!!!! Yummo.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
herbr May 03, 2009

This may not need another 5 star review, but having made it 3 times already I feel it should get one. Followed recipe without any changes, adding #32618 meatballs to the sauce for the simmering. Wonderfull, 17 month old LOVED it, make a pot big enough to have spaghetti one night and lasagna later on. Already in my keeper file!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 April 25, 2009

This was absolutely wonderful. I made this tonight to go with chicken parm. It was sooooooooooooooo gooooooood thank you for such a great recipe. Store bought sauce bothers my stomach and this is the only sauce recipe that I will be using from now on. Followed recipe except I didn't use the garlic or onions. I will also be canning some this summer to use year around with tomatoes from my garden. Thanks for again posting such a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shm9800 March 26, 2009

The Sauce is in the slowcooker, along with Kittencal's Famous Melt in your mouth meatballs.. I'll come and let you know how it turned out. Looks and smells wonderful! Update: Family LOVED the sauce; very fresh tasting. For me, I think it needed mushrooms or wine or something. Nevertheless, it is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Kay R. March 11, 2009

Now that's a Sauce. There is nothing better than sucking up a loaf of bread and sauce 30 minutes before getting to the table. Memories, memories. The Elixor of life. My eternal thanks. Cap'n Jack

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Firehousecook AKA Cap'n Jack March 09, 2009

Takes some work but is worth every minute. This stuff is soooo good! I'm going to make a nother batch this week for the freezer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buddy3229 March 08, 2009
My Mama Iuliucci's "Don't Skip a Step" Spaghetti Sauce