Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Mama Iuliucci's "Don't Skip a Step" Spaghetti Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Mama Iuliucci's "Don't Skip a Step" Spaghetti Sauce

    Average Rating:

    175 Total Reviews

    Showing 141-160 of 175

    Sort by:

    • on April 04, 2007

      I made this recipe using peperoni and italian sausage and it was delicious! This is the spaghetti sauce recipe i'm sticking with!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      If I could give this 6 stars I would. I followed the recipe using hot italian sausages, meatballs and spareribs and added an additional 1/2 tsp of italian seasoning, and used 4 cloves of garlic. This will become a regular at our house. This makes so much sauce I was able to use it for meals throughout the week. A++++ Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      I'm very impressed with this recipe. I'm 100% italian and my friends love my sauce,but today I wanted to be open minded about someone else's sauce so I tried this. I love it! the difference between mine and this is that she sautees the onion & garlic in the meatball oil and adds sugar & cheese. I highly recommend this. Thank you very much!!!!! *** very easy to make**** I gave it a 5...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2007

      This is a goody! I always make Joe Mamas World famous spaghetti and wanted a change. I regret that I didn't have the optional meat to add, and look forward to making this again to serve with those awesome Parmesan meatballs. I have a new sauce to add to the rotation. Other than the optional Meat and some added wine, I made it as directed, and it was worth the work. Thank you:{o

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2007

      Really good spaghetti sauce - even better the next day. I'm going to try it with the ribs and chicken and pepperoni next time (this time I used Italien sausage and meatballs). Sounds pretty rich but I told my hubby about it and he went over the top - he does love his ribs. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2007

      There is nothing to add..this was everything all have said..very good sauce and also used Mama Iuliucci's meat balls..and deglazed with red wine..super..Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      I usually make my own sauce. But Dh isn't that fond of it and I was looking for an alternative. So.......... with a hopefull heart I tried yoru sauce. And in the immortal words of Diego's back pack............ yumm yum yumm yummyumm delicioso!! REALLY REALLY good. THanks a big bunch Karen!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      MY BF decided he wanted to find a spaghetti sauce recipe and this is the one he chose. WONDERFUL. Directions/steps are easy to follow and the suggestions practical. We concur, it is a terrific sauce. It does make a lot. We had a hearty 4 portion meal, plus froze 2 1/2, 4 cup containers of it for future use. Since making and freezing last week, we have used 2 of the containers. We amped one up for more pasta with additional Italian sausage, mushrooms and pepperoni - which was terrific. And the second one we used as sauce for homemade pizza. That was the REAL test of this sauce. We sneaked it in on the picky 15 yr. old (who can spot even the most tiniest of onion bits a mile away). She enjoyed it as well. But we're not telling her it was the spaghetti sauce just in cases. lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      I have made this sauce twice. The first time I used homemade meatballs (ground beef based) and pepperoni as the meats and deglazed the pan with about 1/4 cup Cabernet Sauvignon. I added 2tbsp brown sugar as I thought it was bit acidic with only 1tbsp. The sauce had a nice taste but I thought it was a bit thin. This time I browned 1lb of ground sirloin and some turkey pepperoni and deglazed the pan with water (only because I was out of red wine). I can't really tell a taste difference between the batch with wine and the batch with water, probably because I used such a small amount of wine. This time I only used 1 15oz can of tomato puree and used that 15oz can to add water, to keep the sauce very thick. I added the ground sirloin to the sauce and cut up 2 slices of the turkey pepperoni into the sauce (ate the rest! :) ). I minced 3 cloves of garlic into the pan drippings, and though I would like more (love garlic!), DH says that's a fine amount. I did not add the salt in the beginning, but added it to taste after the sauce simmered a while, as I had salted the cooking sirloin and DH doesn't like sauce "too salty." The sauce is very thick with a smooth taste. I actually prefer "spicier" sauce and my use of italian seasoning is a bit more liberal than 1tsp, but my family prefers smooth and mild and this sauce got compliments when I served it to company, who asked for the recipe. It is a good all-purpose meat sauce - I've used it to top spaghetti, to make lasagna, baked ziti, and when I made it without meat the first time I used it as a base sauce for a pizza casserole. I think it is better the second day and beyond, after it sits and the flavors have more time to "meld." I am not really a fan of pork italian sausage (due to the fat) but suspect that would give it more flavor than my version with beef due to the spices in italian sausage, so I may try turkey or chicken-based italian sausage next time I make this. Of the sauces I have tried from Zaar, my DH prefers this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      This sauce is AWESOME!!! I have found THE perfect sauce for spaghetti. Made it with angel hair pasta and it was to die for!!!! Thank you so much for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2007

    • on January 06, 2007

      This is the perfect spaghetti sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      We thought this was fabulous! I also made the meatballs to go with it (#32618) and enjoyed it on a snowy day in the mountains of Southern California. I couldn't find tomato puree at our small town market, so I substituted tomato sauce. I know it isn't Mama's Sauce exactly, but it was absolutely wonderful. I didn't add any of the optional meats because I didn't have them. I used dried parsley flakes and they seemed to be fine. We have plenty left to freeze for another chilly day. Thank you from another Karen who likes cats.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2006

      I just made this sauce today. It will be my staple sauce from now on! I made it with the companion meatballs...YUMM! The house smelled great all day. I didnt use any of the other suggested meats, just the meatballs. SCRUMPCIOUS! Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2006

      Excellent sauce Karen. I used italian sausages and hamburger meat. It is so good and easy to make. The only thing I changed was I doubled the garlic cloves and 1 teaspoon of crush pepper (personal preference). Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. Give your Mom a big hug and kiss for me for such a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2006

      Absolutely the best spaghetti sauce I have ever made...or tasted... by far!!! I cut the recipe in half b/c I wanted to test out the recipe, but I should have known by the rave reviews that the sauce was going to turn out terrific. Even though my BF and I had two huge helpings, we had plenty left over. I followed the recipe as directed...used romano cheese in the sauce which gave it a richness I have never tasted in a sauce before. Frying the onions and garlic in the oil I used to fry the meat-a-balls in really made the sauce out of this world. I seemed to have a very large amount of oil in the pan after frying the onions and garic, so I scooped them out and added them to my sauce, but poured out the excess oil before using red wine to deglaze the pan. The drippings and reduction added to the sauce really put it over the top! This is a keeper for life! Thank you for sharing with all of us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2006

      I also used some wine to deglaze the pan and added some basil and oregano along with the Italian seasoning. I dumped everything in the crockpot, after cooking the sausage, onions and garlic. I think it would be even better cooked on the stove.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2006

      I have to say that this was outstanding spaghetti sauce. I had it at my daughter, IAteMyGluestick's house last night and asked her for the recipe. It's better than my own.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2006

      I have tried each of the most popular spag sauces here on zaar and this is by far the winner. I love that the parm is added to the sauce. I made it with the meatballs suggested, for the whole extended family for my hubby's b-day dinner and it was a smash. THanks so much, everyone wanted the recipe. Followed the recipe exactly only I added an extra tbsp sugar and simmered it all in a huge crockpot. Thanks again, and I won't be trying any of the other spag recipes because this is the only one I need! Thanks thanks thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

      Wonderful sauce! The only subs I made were dumping the garlic powder and using 4 cloves of real garlic instead. Like many others, I also deglazed the pan with a glass of red wine. I made with the meat-a-balls and served with linguine. The day old meatballs and sauce made fantastic wraps and also got served up the next day over mashed potato.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Mama Iuliucci's "Don't Skip a Step" Spaghetti Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (3050 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1105.9
     
    Calories from Fat 182
    16%
    Total Fat 20.3 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 9.6 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 44.0 mg
    14%
    Sodium 5923.4 mg
    246%
    Total Carbohydrate 206.3 g
    68%
    Dietary Fiber 45.8 g
    183%
    Sugars 123.8 g
    495%
    Protein 57.3 g
    114%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites