Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Mama Iuliucci's "Don't Skip a Step" Spaghetti Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Mama Iuliucci's "Don't Skip a Step" Spaghetti Sauce

    Average Rating:

    174 Total Reviews

    Showing 121-140 of 174

    Sort by:

    • on December 14, 2007

      I am not going to rate this because I did change one thing and not sure if that made such a big difference or not. I was looking for a spaghetti sauce recipe that used items I already had in my cupboard. I came across this recipe and with all the wonderful reviews, thought I would try it. I followed the directions exactly as written but put it in the crockpot to simmer for the day. It smelled wonderful when I walked in the door. With putting it on spaghetti, it was really watery. Not sure if that came from simmering in the crock all day or what. It really didn't have much of a taste to it. I will try this again and do everything on the stove top and rerate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      I used a few tablspoons of balsamic vinegar and My Mama Iuliucci's Meatball recipe...ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      good, thick sauce. used this with kittencal's famous melt-in-your-mouth meatballs. delicious! only thing was this made us really thirsty as it required more than 1 1/2 tsp of salt. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      Used Tomato Sauce instaed of 'puree'. I don't know if I'bve ever seen puree where I live. Used 4 links of crumbled lean It. Sausage in the pan before the onion step. Red wine deglaze. Made the matching meatballs--baked at 400 for 20 minutes then dumped them in. Utterly fantastic--my in-laws were 'whatever' when I offered S&M for dinner, but were into two platefuls before they came up for air. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      My husband is not a big fan of spaghetti, but he ate two platefuls of this (I made the meatballs too) and declared it "Delicious!" Everyone loved it, but my husband giving it a thumbs up was the clincher.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

    • on September 06, 2007

      This was wonderful!! Hands down the best ever. Even my daughter (who could go the rest of her life with out eating spaghetti) LOVED IT!! This is a perfect combination of spices so much better than jazzed up store bought. I also made the meat balls WOW what a great combo. ((DELICIOUS)) (((BRAVO)))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      I made this tonight for the first time, along with Mama's meatballs, which I loved. I followed this recipe exactly, except I didn't add any other meats but some extra ground beef-aside from the meatballs-because my family loves meaty sauce, but I knew-correctly that they would be freaked out by the addition of the other meats-since we are by no means Italian, we are not familiar with that! LOL! I cooked it very slowly for about 4-5 hours, and by the time it was done, it was so thick it didn't come through the holes in a drain spoon! I loved the addition of the parmesan cheese-great addition. We were divided on the taste-some of us thought it was a little bland, some of us thought it was a great taste. I am divided on whether the taste was worth all the extra work, since I am one who usually opens a jar and doctors it-and I found this to be a lot of extra work. Time will tell! Thanks for the chance to try an authentic recipe!09/02/07 Update: The other day we went to a new upscale Italian restaurant in our town. I would swear they must be using your recipe! :) Theirs was a little saltier than when I made it, but otherwise the taste was identical.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      I didn't think this sauce was anything to get too excited over. I know its a tomato sauce but it was way too tomato-ee for us. I ended up adding some Oreganp and 3 bay leaves to give it a little more of a flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2007

      Wowsers! Just made a double batch of this using italian sausage and made as directed (with a generous splash of red wine). I'll add DH's (semi)famous meatballs for a graduation party this weekend. This sauce is awesome - I can't wait to share it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2007

      I have made this sauce several times to rave reviews. It is now the only way I make sauce or meatballs. I make it exactly as written and do not skip a step. It is a rich Italian sauce. I usually double the recipe and freeze bags of sauce and meatballs. WONDERFUL.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      this recipe worked out so well that ive already made it twice, and i freeze whatever i have leftover for other dinners. its perfect when following to the letter though ive also added spinach to the mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      I didn't have a great love for this sauce. I didn't put extra meat in, maybe that is why, but it was just okay for me. I will have to try again, with the meatballs this time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

      Fab sauce with a smell that set the neighbours wondering what I was creating. Had it with the mama meatballs and am using leftovers today in subs. delicious and easy to prepare.Thanks :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      I didn't skip a step just added two. For my kids anyway I can diguise veggies I jump at the chance so I added some carrots, oh and I added a bay leave only because its my new favorite ingredient that I seem to be adding to everything. Great Sauce...froze the leftover.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      I used the meatballs, ribs, and pepperoni for my meats. It turned out fabulous! My favorite spaghetti sauce recipe by far, this will be my standard recipe to use. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      Oh so good! I made these with Mama Iuliucci's meatballs. I substituted beef stock for the water in step 2, and cooked up some finely shopped red bell pepper and mushrooms in with the onions and garlic. I also subbed some grape jelly for the sugar (something my Italian neighbor always told me to do) and deglazed the pan with 3/4 c leftover red wine instead of water in step 11. Everything was delicious- and my house DID smell amazing. My elderly Italian neighbor scolded me several years ago for serving red sauce the same night I cooked it- so I made this in advance to let the flavors meld in the fridge. I DID use some sauce the first night as a base for some french bread pizzas, it was soooooo good- My kids and DH keep asking when we are having the spaghetti! Thanks for some great recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

      Yummy. I made these with the Mama Iuliucci's meatballs and they were delicious. I used a large (106 oz) can of crushed tomatoes because that's what I had on hand. I put in 4 spare ribs because I did not have any chicken. I added about 11 slices of turkey pepperoni. Everyone loved it. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

    • on April 04, 2007

      I made this recipe using peperoni and italian sausage and it was delicious! This is the spaghetti sauce recipe i'm sticking with!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Mama Iuliucci's "Don't Skip a Step" Spaghetti Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (3050 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1105.9
     
    Calories from Fat 182
    16%
    Total Fat 20.3 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 9.6 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 44.0 mg
    14%
    Sodium 5923.4 mg
    246%
    Total Carbohydrate 206.3 g
    68%
    Dietary Fiber 45.8 g
    183%
    Sugars 123.8 g
    495%
    Protein 57.3 g
    114%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites