Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Mama Iuliucci's "Don't Skip a Step" Spaghetti Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Mama Iuliucci's "Don't Skip a Step" Spaghetti Sauce

    Average Rating:

    173 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 173

    Sort by:

    • on October 21, 2008

      Ymmy!! Just made today with the meat-a-balls, delicious!! I have been fairly incapable of making a good sauce for several years, I think I have reactive pans that always make it taste bad. However this I made in the slow cooker (ceramic insert) to avoid the issue...and absolutely amazing this was! I made as according to recipe (except 8 hours on low), including a chicken drumstick and 1 sparerib. I just now realized I had bought the pepperoni to put in, but totally forgot! Anyhow the sauce was perfect, no acidy aftertaste, just wonderful!! I highly recommend it! As for those of you concerned about the sparerib-my DH told me a few days ago he doesn't normally like the taste of it in sauce...however he had no idea I put it in anyway. I think it did add something to the sauce, but unless you leave large bits of meat in the sauce no one will be able to pick out the taste. I just made sure I removed it while he was not around to spy :) Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      tried it so far with out the meat, will add it next time

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      I made meatballs and added 4 pork chops, which we ate. Used red wine as another member suggested.. fantastic!! Everyone gave it 10 our of 10. This will replace my pasta sauce recipe and will be a regular in our house. Thanks Karen!! q(^.^)p

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      the best sauce ever! only meat i put in was 4 parsley cheese italian saussage links. froze most of the sauce but saved some for italian sausage and cut up and served over minute rice. cant wait to use it .... did this in a oamc menu plan. thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      Hubby has been complaining that spaghetti sauce wasn't "tomatoey enough". He loved this! I used minced garlic, about 3 cloves worth. I also only had one can of crushed tomatoes, so I added som canned spaghettic sauce to make up for the difference. I made this with kittencal's meatballs and sided with Just cher's artichoke bread. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      I like my pasta sauces the way I like my men - thick and rich! This was both, so gets the thumbs up from me. I halved the recipe and added chilli flakes; I took the posting chef's advise of simmering with the lid half on, which worked beautifully. So easy and so good! Italian seasoning vanished in Australia a few years back, so I just used mixed Italian dried herbs instead. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      Now that's Italian! I tasted this after simmering in the crockpot on high for 5 hr. My first thought was "this sure isn't anything like jarred sauce" (in a very good way) the next was "this tastes like the real deal" and lastly "I made this ?!?!" I followed step by step and didn't skip a one. I use 2 spare ribs and some meatballs I had already made. I can't wait to actually have it over pasta if it's this good off the spoon. It was very worth the effort. It made about 8 quarts of sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      I can't believe I forgot to rate this one! I began cooking gravy by using my Italian in-laws recipe. While it was fine...it wasn't great. I kept on my search for better flavor and better texture. Tried many recipes and even incorporated many recipes into one. This recipe is PERFECT!! Of course I made some changes...everyone does to suit their families tastes. My changes are as follows...I used 100 ounces of san marzano plum tomatoes that I puree'd, I added hot italian sausage and used Kittencal's meatballs recipe. I added way more garlic and seasoned with Garli Garni. I used only 20 ounces of water and 1.5 cans of tomato paste. I used 1 medium onion and deglazed my pan with 1/2 cup of red wine. The smell, the taste, the texture...sheer perfection!!! My husband is one of those guys that never veered from his families recipes and always asked "why look for a new one when this one is fine?" He's now a total believer. This is a 10 star from me. Good gravy is hard to perfect...this is darn near perfect. I make huge batches of this and freeze in family meal sized containers and allows me to enjoy this great dish over and over again. THANK YOU for posting this one!!! Mama Luliucci knows her stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

    • on May 13, 2008

      WOW! I made this with Mama Iuliucci's FAMOUS-MEAT-A-BALLS #32618, and WOW!!!! It was DELICIOUS!!!! My guest were floored! I followed step by step, the only change I did make was to cook 24 hours a head of dinner, and it gave the sauce and meatballs flavors time to really sink in. THANK YOU! This goes into my all time faves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2008

      We've tried 3 different pasta recipes, this is the best by far. We made turkey meatballs fried in olive oil, and omitted the chicken, pepperoni and spareribs. It turned out great. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      This is the best sauce I have ever made. I thought it was a great blend of flavors. The only thing I changed was to remove some of the oil before frying the onions, added green pepper and added 1/2 tsp red pepper which does not make it spice but adds just a little flavor to the tomato. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      Made as directed for OAMC's Freezer Tag Game. Froze in one quart containers. After thawing one container in the fridge overnight, heated it up and served with penne pasta and garlic bread. So yum! Great recipe...thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      Yum! It sort of reminds me of SpaghettiOs sauce but tastier and with a lot of meat. The only thing I didn't add was the pepperoni, and that's only because Whole Foods doesn't sell them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      This was wonderful. Just the sauce I was looking for. I served it with meatballs and we had a great dinner. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      I want you to know since I stumbled across this recipe that I have not purchased jar sauce again. My family loves it! It taste even better the next day. I serve it over some spaghetti with meatballs, a side salad and bread and we have a feast! Thanks so much for posting this recipe. It really is as good as you say it is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      This recipe was good, but I thought it was a little bland. My family is italian, and they make killer spaghetti sauce (or, gravy, as they call it), its always a little spicy. After letting this sauce simmer for the better part of a day, I guess I was expecting something better than Gram's. Oh well, this was still a great sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      I started out with the intent of sticking to the recipe to the letter for to reasons, one just to try to do that and also my daughterinlaw is trying to learn to cook. Well I almost made it, the only thing I changed was to use chicken broth as 1/2 the water. Made the meat balls as well and everyone loved them both, sent the recipes home with everyone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      I thought the sauce was really good. I added more salt and herbs then the recipe stated and was very pleased with the result.I made meatballs using your recipe and eliminated the chicken, pepperoni, and spare ribs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      I am not going to rate this because I did change one thing and not sure if that made such a big difference or not. I was looking for a spaghetti sauce recipe that used items I already had in my cupboard. I came across this recipe and with all the wonderful reviews, thought I would try it. I followed the directions exactly as written but put it in the crockpot to simmer for the day. It smelled wonderful when I walked in the door. With putting it on spaghetti, it was really watery. Not sure if that came from simmering in the crock all day or what. It really didn't have much of a taste to it. I will try this again and do everything on the stove top and rerate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Mama Iuliucci's "Don't Skip a Step" Spaghetti Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (3050 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1105.9
     
    Calories from Fat 182
    16%
    Total Fat 20.3 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 9.6 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 44.0 mg
    14%
    Sodium 5923.4 mg
    246%
    Total Carbohydrate 206.3 g
    68%
    Dietary Fiber 45.8 g
    183%
    Sugars 123.8 g
    495%
    Protein 57.3 g
    114%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites