Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Mama Iuliucci's "Don't Skip a Step" Spaghetti Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Mama Iuliucci's "Don't Skip a Step" Spaghetti Sauce

    Average Rating:

    177 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 177

    Sort by:

    • on June 08, 2009

      This was amazing! I added a bit more pepper and garlic because we like things a little spicier, but other than that I didn't skip a step and it was perfect I used frozen "rema" noodles with it and everyone thought they were homemade too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      There aren't enough stars on Zaar for this one! Great recipe, Karen (and Karen's mom)! Making this for the second time today. It got rave reviews the first time, served along with the accompanying meatball recipe. I just ran out of my leftovers from the freezer, so time to restock! Used another reviews idea and deglazed with red wine instead of water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      WELL, this definately deserves more stars! TRUST ME! I did make a few changes. Only one Large Yellow Onion, 2 six oz. cans Paste (it was not too thick, just right). Other than that, I followed exactly as you indicated. I used Hot sausage and cooked it with the casing off as this leaves extra flavor for the dripping to be added to sauce. I used 2 chicken breast (cut up as tenders) and 2 boneless Pork Ribs (which I did shred). Used 3/4 can of water, was afraid of sauce being watery. I did not add pepperoni, will try this next time. Quantity was not listed so I left this out. Any recommendations would be appreciated. My homemade meatballs were added. My recipe is not listed but send me a message and you can have this. Warning: They are HUGE & very TENDER. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR POSTING, A KEEPER ALWAYS.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      What more can be said!!!!!! Yummo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      This may not need another 5 star review, but having made it 3 times already I feel it should get one. Followed recipe without any changes, adding #32618 meatballs to the sauce for the simmering. Wonderfull, 17 month old LOVED it, make a pot big enough to have spaghetti one night and lasagna later on. Already in my keeper file!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2009

      This was absolutely wonderful. I made this tonight to go with chicken parm. It was sooooooooooooooo gooooooood thank you for such a great recipe. Store bought sauce bothers my stomach and this is the only sauce recipe that I will be using from now on. Followed recipe except I didn't use the garlic or onions. I will also be canning some this summer to use year around with tomatoes from my garden. Thanks for again posting such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      The Sauce is in the slowcooker, along with Kittencal's Famous Melt in your mouth meatballs.. I'll come and let you know how it turned out. Looks and smells wonderful! Update: Family LOVED the sauce; very fresh tasting. For me, I think it needed mushrooms or wine or something. Nevertheless, it is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      Now that's a Sauce. There is nothing better than sucking up a loaf of bread and sauce 30 minutes before getting to the table. Memories, memories. The Elixor of life. My eternal thanks. Cap'n Jack

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      Takes some work but is worth every minute. This stuff is soooo good! I'm going to make a nother batch this week for the freezer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      This was wonderful. I made it exactly as written. I only had meatballs and pepperoni. Everyone loved it. I had my parents over it was a huge hit. I have leftover sauce so I'm going to serve it a different way later in the week. Thanks for such an awesome recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      Oh sweet baby, this is tops! the order of cooking seems odd but it pays off in the end. for meat I used 1/2 lb lamb sausage, 3 juicy beef ribs and 1 lb pork mince. I also added 1 cup finely minced carrots and celery with the onion (to make the French culinary fundamental mirepoix, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mirepoix_(cuisine) and caramelised the veggies for a good 30 minutes. I used the sauce over both pork mince and ricotta/parsely stuffed cannelloni, serving the three beef ribs on the side. Can't wait to eat it tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      This method was quite different than what I do normally. It was so different that to be fair I followed the recipe exactly. It was really good. Next time though I will try to use fresh herbs instead and add a some extra virgin olive oil after adding the onion. Not good to fry in extra virgin but it adds a distinct taste. It is an excellent recipe I guess Mama knows best!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      I must have done something wrong...the only thing that I didn't add were the optional meats, because I didn't have them on hand. It ended up being watery and not enough flavor. Sorry! **** New note....just re-heated it for lunch after my hubby called from work and said it was MUCH better today. I have to agree and uped my review with another star!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      I have never made sauce before. I live in Europe and the cost of quality jarred sauce is soooo expensive. So my motivation was the cost. It made three times as much for a third of the price. I followed it exactly with one exception. I used my hand blender to blend the crushed tomatoes because I do not like chunky sauce. I used a pork chop from dinner last night and the sauce is outstanding! The flavor makes you want to dip anything in it. I keep walking by tasting. Thank god it makes so much. The smell is amazing. It was really quite easy to prepare and I am sure that my family is going to love what is left by the time that dinner rolls around!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      Wow this a great sauce! I didn't have a chicken leg or thigh so I tossed in a chicken boullion cube. Also added some pepperoni as suggested Other than that I followed the recipe to a T. Very good and worth the time,way better than jar sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      This was out of control amazing Sunday gravy type sauce. My grandmother makes a very similar style sauce, but she adds the onion and garlic and a chicken bullion first, before adding the crushed tomatoes. Anyways, I will DEFINITELY be cooking my pasta sauce like this everytime from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      Fabulous. I wanted to make my own sauce so that I could control the amount of sodium. I didn't add any salt and used canned tomato products that were lower in sodium than the leading brands (off brands tend to be lower in sodium). My favorite meat to use was country style pork ribs. Started on the stove, then left it in my crock pot. Wow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      This was just OK. Even with the meatballs added... I don't know, I guess I was expecting it to be better. It was a lot of work, and for the outcome, I would have rather just used a jar saue to be honest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      I actually made in a crockpot and it turned out really well. I only was able to use the meatballs and the pepperoni.. but it was a great sauce. Had plenty to freeze afterwards. The meatballs are awesome too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      So delicious! I didn't skip any steps, but the only meat I used was Mama Iuliucci's meatballs. This was my first attempt at homemade spaghetti sauce and I am so glad it was a success (and not nearly as hard as I thought it might be)! This is a definate keeper. I did use red wine to deglaze the pan as suggested by some reviews but will try without next time. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Mama Iuliucci's "Don't Skip a Step" Spaghetti Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (3050 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1105.9
     
    Calories from Fat 182
    16%
    Total Fat 20.3 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 9.6 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 44.0 mg
    14%
    Sodium 5923.4 mg
    246%
    Total Carbohydrate 206.3 g
    68%
    Dietary Fiber 45.8 g
    183%
    Sugars 123.8 g
    495%
    Protein 57.3 g
    114%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes