Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Mama Iuliucci's "Don't Skip a Step" Spaghetti Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Mama Iuliucci's "Don't Skip a Step" Spaghetti Sauce

    Average Rating:

    174 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 174

    Sort by:

    • on February 13, 2011

      delicious, that's all i have to say about this one! also great as a pizza sauce, it made so much i was able to use it for 4 other meals. i would suggest trying the leftover sauce on pizza with some feta and parm cheese. i just used some pita bread and baked it for the crust. so easy and quick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2011

      This is the best sauce I ever ate. I made it with a little more than I'd say a 1/4 pound of peperoni and left it in the food proccessor. I didn.t have any spare ribs . I used what we had left to make a pizza and it came out great. The spaghetti and meat balls were fantastic. Can't wait to try it with the spare ribs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2011

      This is the best sauce that I have ever made! I have made it several times and the only thing I changed is I doubled the recipe. Trust me though... if you like over sweet over seasoned jarred sauce this isnt for you. This sauce is real Italian "gravy" or "Sunday Sauce". Great tomato flavor slow cooked with meat and lightly seasoned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      Grrrrreat spaghetti sauce. I was too lazy to make meatballs, so added ground turkey & ground beef to the sauce and we all enjoyed it immensely. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      Doubled the batch but didn't have room for 48 oz of crushed tomatoes. Also didn't have any parsley on hand but still wonderful. My husband would prefer this without the spareribs so I'll try Chicken thighs or Pepperoni next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      Absolutely Amazing!!! I wished I ate at your house every Sunday!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      I get a kick out of how my "Irish" family prides themselves on their "Italian" cooking and I believe this sauce had them all WOW'd. Thanks for such a great recipe! Can't wait to try the meatballs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      The best ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2010

      Delicious! Followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect! The whole family LOVED it, including my Sicilian mother-in-law who had two helpings both times I've made it. Definitely make Mama's Meat A Balls (#32618) as well...yum!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      Delicious--I cut the recipe in half and made lots of substitutions--hamburger for sausage, bacon and chicken sausage for the other meats. Also added some red wine. I love recipes that you can play with. PS: even a half recipe is a tremendous amount of sauce. I froze half of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      This was the best, delicious really enjoyed this sauce

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      Perfect as written! Karen has another recipe from her mom for meatballs that pair very well with this sauce! As usual, I double this and freeze half!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      great recipe! made it for a big group (lots of different taste buds...) and everyone loved it. what wasn't eaten for dinner was devoured for lunch the next day. I made it in combination with Kittencal's Italian Melt-In-Your-Mouth Meatballs. everyone that walked into the house loved the smell while dinner was being prepared

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      This is one of the best recipes for Spaghetti Sauce. I followed it "step by step" but did add hot italian sausage for that little extra spice. It's well worth the extra effort.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      Hm, I thought this sauce was OK, but that's it. I used a package of ground turkey and a package of turkey hot italian sausage, plus added belle peppers to the onion mix. Deglazed w/ a shiraz-granache wine (it was already open), and simmered 2-3 hours. I really enjoy my "add my own veggies to a jar of store bought sauce" sauce better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      This is an INCREDIBLE recipe. Look no further. This is very similar to the way an old family friend from Italy made her sauce- except the ribs were not optional :-) . It is worth the time to make it, and I suggest you start with a double recipe and freeze half. You will DEFINITELY make it again. Very easy to modify according to what's in the cabinet and your own personal preferences.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      I love this recipe. I have tripled and quadrupled the recipe several times this past year. Each batch always comes out slightly differently each time. Perhaps my choice of canned tomato products?? I do add some red wine -- whatever I have on hand. Typically cab. sav. Also, I typically use WAY more garlic than the recipe calls for. Thank you!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      There's a reason this is the highest rated sauce! It was fabulous. I did halve the recipe and still had more than enough to feed our family of 4. This is now the only sauce I will ever make. Thanks so much for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      Used this recipe 3 times now. Made a few small changes. Used 4 large cloves of garlic. Deglazed the pan with red wine instead of water. Added parsley and fresh basil 30 minutes before the sauce was finished. My brother, who lives in Boston's North End, wants me to bottle it! Thanks Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      This recipe is more than awesome. I made it with the famous meat-a-balls and the smells in the house were fantastic. I added a bay leaf, and tripled the garlic (heh heh), but I followed the instructions to a T as ordered and I'm glad I did! Oh, I also used high quality olive oil for frying the meatballs. This recipe makes a HUGE whack so it's great for freezing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Mama Iuliucci's "Don't Skip a Step" Spaghetti Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (3050 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1105.9
     
    Calories from Fat 182
    16%
    Total Fat 20.3 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 9.6 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 44.0 mg
    14%
    Sodium 5923.4 mg
    246%
    Total Carbohydrate 206.3 g
    68%
    Dietary Fiber 45.8 g
    183%
    Sugars 123.8 g
    495%
    Protein 57.3 g
    114%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites