179 Reviews

Fabulous! I followed to a tee up to step 14 ( I only added meatballs and not the rest of the meat) It smelled so good and tasted even better. I took the other persons advice and deglazed the onion garlic pan with red wine and it was fantastic. Thanks

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Bee May 25, 2003

Wonderful sauce! I used a good red wine to deglaze, but other than that followed to a 'T' with terrific results. Thanks for a great sauce!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShanH May 04, 2003

Hi Karen. Don't even know if you still post on Food.com, but here's a review of your mother's sauce. OUTSTANDING. I have been making it for about 2 years now and apologize for not posting sooner. I remember MY MOM making spaghetti sauce in a big, old kettle and it was excellent. That was years ago. Mom has passed away and I never got her recipe!!! THIS is EXCELLENT. Crazy as it may seem, it relaxes me to make it and ALWAYS brings back memories of my mom making HER sauce. Thank you so much for posting this. It's just hubby and I now as we are retired and away from our kids/grandkids. BUT, I always make the ENTIRE recipe and freeze because even once thawed YOU CAN'T BEAT THIS SAUCE~~~!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzie January 27, 2014

I got rave reviews on this spaghetti sauce. I used the pork and pepperoni and left the pepperoni in it. I did not put chicken in. I served with Kittencals meatballs in it and it was wonderful.
I did add a touch of red wine to the sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc August 02, 2011

Really good sauce recipe. I didn't add the optional meats; only meatballs and sausage. It was easy to make and tasty, I will be making again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marney May 03, 2011

Ok, I like the basics of this sauce. Changed a few things as always:
Used Tomato sauce instead of the crushed tomatos, added 1/2 t of oregano and Basil extra, ; added a 1/4 c sugar along with some red pepper flakes.
Used rope smoke sausage
Will leave it set over night to season....then bring on the noodles.

Greg

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef PigseyeBBQ November 29, 2010

Fantastic! I made it for family visiting and everyone raved. I also made your Meatballs which everyone also loved. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Twinmom2xs July 12, 2010

This recipe has become our family recipe. My husband is so proud of himself everytime he makes it & he has made it several times. We use it on everything from pasta to pizza. We never buy sauce any more! He makes a double batch & we freeze the rest. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KS5 June 08, 2010

This tasted more like my lasagna sauce. I missed my regular spaghetti ingredients like bell pepper, bay leaf, worchestershire sauce and ground beef. Think I'll stick to my mom's recipe but it was nice to give a new recipe a try.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaryB2 May 18, 2010

OMG! This sauce is delicious. I made it exactly by the directions. I found that my ribs and chicken fell off the bones and I had to fish the meat chunks and bones out of the sauce- so next time I might tie them up in cheesecloth, but maybe not. I didn't chop the meat and add it back I just discarded the big hunks, but smaller pieces were left in. I also made the Mama Luliucci's meatballs. They were to die for. I generally just use a frozen meatball but never again. It took a little longer to prep than indicated- about an hour to get the sauce going and meatballs made, but this recipe makes enough to serve 4 and have plenty of leftovers for freezing. Awesome recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JLakins February 15, 2010
My Mama Iuliucci's "Don't Skip a Step" Spaghetti Sauce