Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Mama Iuliucci's "Don't Skip a Step" Spaghetti Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Mama Iuliucci's "Don't Skip a Step" Spaghetti Sauce

    Average Rating:

    177 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 177

    Sort by:

    • on December 13, 2002

      This is a great sauce recipe. I have made it three or four times, and I can't believe no one has rated it yet. It really goes together easily and fills the house with a wonderful aroma while it cooks! I used an end piece of pork loin that I browned first and then put into the pot. The only change that I made was to use 1/2 cup of red wine instead of water to deglaze the pan. Then that went into the pot, too. Thanks Karen - this is a real keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2003

      I made this recipe with the corresponding meatball recipe and it was great. My 14 month old son loved it too. I haven't made homemade sauce in ages, but I think it will be a regular on my menu now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2003

      I made this exactly as posted Except I used 32 oz.(1 quart of home canned tomatoes) This is an awesome sauce. I have cooked Italian sausage and meatballs in it, and then I froze the balance to see jow well it was after being frozen. It was just as good as it was when first made. This will definitely be our sauce of choice from now on. Thanks much for a definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      I tripled this and made an enormous pot of sauce. I love my own sauce, but thought it would be good to try something new. I I followed this to the letter, added all the optional ingredients too. As a mum of four small children, all four little plates were clean, one even licked their plate! Perfect, don't change a thing. My only thing I recommend is making a double, triple or quadruple pot and freeze in bags for sauce on hand. If you are going to make such an effort - make lots!!!! Thanks Karen, it tastes like the sauce at my Italian restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      This sauce was amazing! I bought 2 rotisserie chicken thighs from the deli for this, and 2 raw spare ribs from the butcher. Don't skimp on those two "optional" ingredients!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2011

      Fantastic! I couldn't get any of my Italian friends or family members to share their recipe with me for good meatballs and sauce so after much research I decided to try this one. The hysterical thing is that now all those same people are wondering how I made something so good! As I make them more and more I put my own touches on them but this has quickly become a "go to" dinner for me. I highly recommend investing in a vacuum sealer ( I use Seal-A-Meal) and having the sauce and meatballs in your freezer for busy nights. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2011

      This will forever be my favorite recipe to turn to wheneer i make spaghetti. This sauce is just pure excellence! its not too sweet like some sauces are, its got just the right sweet to mildness ratio and that is what makes a darn good sauce. i tend to cut back on a little less parm. cheese but thats just personal preference. i have made this sauce more than 5 times already and everytime i make this its tastes better and better and i always find more and more people wanting to come over for homemade spaghetti and meatballs. i tend to make this on a friday, cause then ill be able to beat my parents home from work and already have them a meal ready to eat and the house smelling like a classic mamma and pappa itallian restaurant. i plan to keep this recipe in my head (and stomach)forever. thank you karen for giving out this wondeful recipe that will be making so many families happy for a long time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2011

      Made this last night -- best marinara sauce I have ever made (and I have tried LOTS!). My family was still raving about it this morning. I made turkey meatballs and did not include the other meat suggestions and it was still delicious. The lengthy simmering time is a must. Thank you for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      We thought this was a great 5 star meal. I had never tried making my own sauce before. It was really easy to get together, and I did allow it to simmer for probably 6 or 7 hours until we actually ate dinner. I used all the optional meats, and I also made your meatballs to go into the sauce. My 1 year old LOVED the meatballs, and since they were simmered all day in the sauce they were so nice and moist. I had tons of leftover sauce and I don't know that I would even bother to buy spaghetti sauce again- a couple hours of cooking yields enough sauce to last us quite awhile. Thanks so much for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      WOW!!! This is the best pasta sauce I have ever made in my life! After starting the sauce I found that my Italian sausage was spoiled. I was certain it would not turn out with the loss of such an important ingredient. I had the spare ribs and pepperoni so I decided to make the best of what I had available. This sauce was still amazing! I cannot wait to make this again with the meatballs and/or Italian sausage. Thank you for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2003

      Fabulous! I followed to a tee up to step 14 ( I only added meatballs and not the rest of the meat) It smelled so good and tasted even better. I took the other persons advice and deglazed the onion garlic pan with red wine and it was fantastic. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2003

      Wonderful sauce! I used a good red wine to deglaze, but other than that followed to a 'T' with terrific results. Thanks for a great sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2011

      I got rave reviews on this spaghetti sauce. I used the pork and pepperoni and left the pepperoni in it. I did not put chicken in. I served with Kittencals meatballs in it and it was wonderful.
      I did add a touch of red wine to the sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2011

      Really good sauce recipe. I didn't add the optional meats; only meatballs and sausage. It was easy to make and tasty, I will be making again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      Ok, I like the basics of this sauce. Changed a few things as always:
      Used Tomato sauce instead of the crushed tomatos, added 1/2 t of oregano and Basil extra, ; added a 1/4 c sugar along with some red pepper flakes.
      Used rope smoke sausage
      Will leave it set over night to season....then bring on the noodles.

      Greg

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      Fantastic! I made it for family visiting and everyone raved. I also made your Meatballs which everyone also loved. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      This recipe has become our family recipe. My husband is so proud of himself everytime he makes it & he has made it several times. We use it on everything from pasta to pizza. We never buy sauce any more! He makes a double batch & we freeze the rest. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      This tasted more like my lasagna sauce. I missed my regular spaghetti ingredients like bell pepper, bay leaf, worchestershire sauce and ground beef. Think I'll stick to my mom's recipe but it was nice to give a new recipe a try.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      OMG! This sauce is delicious. I made it exactly by the directions. I found that my ribs and chicken fell off the bones and I had to fish the meat chunks and bones out of the sauce- so next time I might tie them up in cheesecloth, but maybe not. I didn't chop the meat and add it back I just discarded the big hunks, but smaller pieces were left in. I also made the Mama Luliucci's meatballs. They were to die for. I generally just use a frozen meatball but never again. It took a little longer to prep than indicated- about an hour to get the sauce going and meatballs made, but this recipe makes enough to serve 4 and have plenty of leftovers for freezing. Awesome recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      Just finished making this sauce tonight. We all enjoyed it but agreed that Jo Mama's sauce is our favorite. I also made it with Kittencal's Meatballs.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Mama Iuliucci's "Don't Skip a Step" Spaghetti Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (3050 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1105.9
     
    Calories from Fat 182
    16%
    Total Fat 20.3 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 9.6 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 44.0 mg
    14%
    Sodium 5923.4 mg
    246%
    Total Carbohydrate 206.3 g
    68%
    Dietary Fiber 45.8 g
    183%
    Sugars 123.8 g
    495%
    Protein 57.3 g
    114%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes