34 Reviews

Okay upfront I'm going to be honest and state that I tagged this but never really read all the way through the recipe instructions. So I made this exactly as written except for one little thing (hee hee) - I made it on the stove top and not in a slow cooker and we ate in after 30 minutes and not 4-6 hours! But I'm not sorry one bit - the flavors are outstanding even with a shortened amount of time. I just made it like normal sloppy joes of browning meat, draining fat, adding celery & onions and letting them cook for 15 and then added the remainder of the ingredients and cooked for an additional 15-20 minutes. My teenage son gobbled down 3 sandwiches and kept ymmm-ing while eating. My hubby and I really loved the flavors too - not overly spicy and has a tinge of sweetness but not too much. I'm just thrilled I tagged this in Zaar Stars tag game.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom August 03, 2010

These are great sloppy joes. Me and my son loved these. I haven't change a thing in the ingredients. They were perfect. But I cooked them on the stove top 10 more minutes. Thanks Weekend cooker :) Made for PRMR tag game

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette December 06, 2010

This is a great Recipe, I had my nieces over the opener of hunting weekend with my two boys this was easy to make, throw it all in the crockpot and leave it until supper. DH loved it too when he came in from hunting in the cold. I did not use the celery or garlic but it was still fantastic. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*CookingUpMemories* November 22, 2010

Delicious!! These sloppy joes were spiced just the way we like them. My husband doesn't like sloppy joes that are too sweet, and he thought that these were just right. I halved the recipe and cooked it for 6 hours in my 3-qt. crockpot. We like bell pepper in our sloppy joes so I added some to the beef, onion, garlic, and celery mix in the saucepan. I served these on whole wheat buns with a slice of American cheese...yum! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe. It is a keeper!
*Made for 2010 Football Pool*

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill November 19, 2010

I scaled the recipe back and did cook it on the stovetop. I don't like a real sweet sloppy joe, so I cut way back on that amount. I always add green bell pepper and so I added it in place of the celery. These were great tasting sloppy joes. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for Stars Tag Game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 October 27, 2010

Found my new favorite for homemade sloppy joes! This was divine! :) I made this on top of the stove instead of in the crockpot and simmered for 30 minutes. I used a tad of celery seed as I don't usually have celery in the house and used 1/2 recipe w/1 # of meat. Thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady October 01, 2010

We loved the outcome of this recipe. Like another reviewer I used 2 lbs meat and left the amount of the sauce the same (minus the celery). As we are a small household and I only used 2 servings I have put several containers of it in the freezer for later use. I used 2 TBSP of Splenda Brown sugar, that amount worked very well for us. All in all this is delicious, thanks for posting it :D

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia June 16, 2010

Love these! These sloppy joes really hit the spot with my family! Everyone commented on the wonderful flavor! They are so good and I will use this recipe all of the time now. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 June 15, 2010

You have a wonderful recipe here, with most satisfying results & although we didn't get anywhere near 16 servings from it ~ might have been 'cause we had humugous buns that we filled to a generous overflow ~ we were very happy campers! Presonally, I liked the inclusion of the celery, & for the onion I used a Vadalia! Also added a slight more mustard while cutting back a little on the chili powder! Definitely a keeper of a recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike March 31, 2010

This was so good. I had never made sloppy joes before and found this recipe. Quick, easy and so tasty. I did cut back on the ground beef to 2 lbs and left everything else the same. It was perfect. Thank you for this great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CelticLady February 07, 2010
My Homemade Sloppy Joes