Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Homemade Sloppy Joes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Homemade Sloppy Joes

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on August 03, 2010

      Okay upfront I'm going to be honest and state that I tagged this but never really read all the way through the recipe instructions. So I made this exactly as written except for one little thing (hee hee) - I made it on the stove top and not in a slow cooker and we ate in after 30 minutes and not 4-6 hours! But I'm not sorry one bit - the flavors are outstanding even with a shortened amount of time. I just made it like normal sloppy joes of browning meat, draining fat, adding celery & onions and letting them cook for 15 and then added the remainder of the ingredients and cooked for an additional 15-20 minutes. My teenage son gobbled down 3 sandwiches and kept ymmm-ing while eating. My hubby and I really loved the flavors too - not overly spicy and has a tinge of sweetness but not too much. I'm just thrilled I tagged this in Zaar Stars tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      These are great sloppy joes. Me and my son loved these. I haven't change a thing in the ingredients. They were perfect. But I cooked them on the stove top 10 more minutes. Thanks Weekend cooker :) Made for PRMR tag game

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2010

      This is a great Recipe, I had my nieces over the opener of hunting weekend with my two boys this was easy to make, throw it all in the crockpot and leave it until supper. DH loved it too when he came in from hunting in the cold. I did not use the celery or garlic but it was still fantastic. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      Delicious!! These sloppy joes were spiced just the way we like them. My husband doesn't like sloppy joes that are too sweet, and he thought that these were just right. I halved the recipe and cooked it for 6 hours in my 3-qt. crockpot. We like bell pepper in our sloppy joes so I added some to the beef, onion, garlic, and celery mix in the saucepan. I served these on whole wheat buns with a slice of American cheese...yum! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe. It is a keeper!
      *Made for 2010 Football Pool*

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2010

      I scaled the recipe back and did cook it on the stovetop. I don't like a real sweet sloppy joe, so I cut way back on that amount. I always add green bell pepper and so I added it in place of the celery. These were great tasting sloppy joes. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for Stars Tag Game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2010

      Found my new favorite for homemade sloppy joes! This was divine! :) I made this on top of the stove instead of in the crockpot and simmered for 30 minutes. I used a tad of celery seed as I don't usually have celery in the house and used 1/2 recipe w/1 # of meat. Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      We loved the outcome of this recipe. Like another reviewer I used 2 lbs meat and left the amount of the sauce the same (minus the celery). As we are a small household and I only used 2 servings I have put several containers of it in the freezer for later use. I used 2 TBSP of Splenda Brown sugar, that amount worked very well for us. All in all this is delicious, thanks for posting it :D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      Love these! These sloppy joes really hit the spot with my family! Everyone commented on the wonderful flavor! They are so good and I will use this recipe all of the time now. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      You have a wonderful recipe here, with most satisfying results & although we didn't get anywhere near 16 servings from it ~ might have been 'cause we had humugous buns that we filled to a generous overflow ~ we were very happy campers! Presonally, I liked the inclusion of the celery, & for the onion I used a Vadalia! Also added a slight more mustard while cutting back a little on the chili powder! Definitely a keeper of a recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      This was so good. I had never made sloppy joes before and found this recipe. Quick, easy and so tasty. I did cut back on the ground beef to 2 lbs and left everything else the same. It was perfect. Thank you for this great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      Since I'm cooking for only two, I cut the recipe down to 1 lb. of ground beef. I did, however, have to increase the sauce ingredients; used about 2/3 cup catsup and 1 tablespoon of brown sugar. In addition to the celery and onions, I also added about 1/4 cup of green peppers. This so much better than those mixes and canned 'stuff'! The flavors is a 5 star, just think the amounts need adjusting a little! Thanks for sharing. Tagged for the Potluck Game!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      This is a meaty sloppy joe, not much sauce, but great BBQ-style flavor. We didn't have any celery, but one of us doesn't usually like it anyway. Otherwise, made as instructed; it went together quickly and came out terrific. Great treat to take out to the patio on a spring evening! Thanks! Made for OZ/NZ swap, April 09.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      TY Doug for a great sloppy joe recipe that was really easy to throw together. I always add brown sugar to my bbq recipes as the family really likes the added sweetness. I did omit the celery and onion per families request. Thanks~ Made for 123Hits.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      Made for Went to the Market game. We enjoyed these sloppy joes with a few adjustments for next time.I would only use half the brown sugar, we found it a bit too sweet for our taste.Other than that, simple, quick and quite nice. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2013

      OMG These sloppy joes were by far the best I have ever had in my life. I followed the ingredients to a "T" but I browned my onions and garlic in a skillet, then added the hamburger meat, drained the grease, and added the mixed ingredients into the pan and let it simmer for 5 minutes. I made my sandwiches with flat bread and baby swiss cheese, it was delicious! I will never buy store bought again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2013

      This was so good. The only change I made was I added half a cup of chopped bell peppers. I will be making this again for family get togethers. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2013

      Really great version of sloppy joes! I used ground turkey instead of beef, otherwise made as directed. Served some for dinner and packaged the rest in single-serving pouches to put in the freezer for quick lunches/dinners later. Thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for the Best of 2012 event, recommended by AZPARZYCH

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2013

      These are fantastic! I made mine on the stovetop...they simmered for about 45 minutes. These are not as soupy as some sloppy joes are which is just the way I like them! Made for Best of 2012 cooking tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2012

      Thank-you so much for sharing this recipe! We race stockcars each Saturday, and I always fix lunch for all the crew. This was a huge hit in the race shop as there were no leftovers and they are requesting it again today. I do have to say that the first time I made it I didn't have any chili powder in the cupboard so I used taco seasoning and it was still wonderful! Also, I let if cook on the stove for about 45 minutes and then put in the crockpot for about an hour, it was awesome! Thanks again from the whole race team : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2012

      Excellent as written. We used ground pork to get away from beef and you would not know it wasn't beef! Good flavored sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Homemade Sloppy Joes

    Serving Size: 1 (156 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 349.1
     
    Calories from Fat 134
    38%
    Total Fat 14.9 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 57.8 mg
    19%
    Sodium 594.8 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.5 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 12.0 g
    48%
    Protein 20.6 g
    41%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites