Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Grandmother's Fat Free English Tea Loaf - Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Grandmother's Fat Free English Tea Loaf - Bread

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on February 14, 2011

      WOW, this fruit loaf is amazing! It is soft in the centre, crunchy on top and soooooo goood! Loved the fruity sweet flavour, it was exactly like the tea loaf I used to eat when living in Ireland. I had missed this kind of cake/bread and now I can make it myself. YAY! :)
      I used whole spelt flour, left out the sugar and used a mix of dried mango pieces, sultanas, currants, candied cherries, cranberries and dates for the fruit. It was still super sweet and good! Mmm!
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this wonderful, wonderful keeper with us, FT!
      Made and reviewed for Adopt a Veggie Tag February 2011.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2012

      Did not work for me at all. I suspected that only 2 tbsp of milk would not be nearly enough, and I was right: it would not form a dough, so I added a bit more milk. Nevertheless, it came out dry and hard like a log. What a pity - besides the waste of the wonderful dried fruits. I think, other than the insufficient amount of milk, the lack of fat is another problem. Sorry, but it did not even taste good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      May 23, 2008: Confession time. I goofed up big time with this and it's completely my fault. I didn't read the recipe through before starting off with it so when I saw 2 tea loaves, I thought of cutting it into half and make 1 instead. Sounds good. Next day I finished making the batter and poured it into the prepared tin, it's now that I realise something isn't right, the batter seems less than the usual. Hmmm. I then took another glance at the recipe and spotted 'two 1 lb loaf tins'. I wanted to bang my head against the wall. I don't have a 1 lb tin... all I've got is a 2 lb tin. I baked it anyway. Even though I did reduce the baking time I got it wrong since it wasn't as moist as it should have been but inspite of ALL this, the loaf didn't last for long and I had to hide 2 slices (the end bits) to take some pics. Ohh ya... forgot to mention, I used more of sultanas than raisins since I don't like cooked raisins and soaked them in Earl Grey tea. Thank you, FT, for sharing this wonderful recipe. I definitely will be making it again.... but without any messing up! :) Update: I baked it as 1 large loaf in a 2 lb tin, turned out very soft and moist compared to my first attempt. Like one of the previous reviewers, I added in dried apricots instead of raisins, turned out wonderful. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      What a delightful loaf! This tastes really good & moist and to top it all off its healthy!! I will be making this loaf again for sure..oh by the way! I used the Rays of sunshine peel which is also by French Tart in this recipe and I can highly recommen you give it a go too! Delicious!!! Thanks for another top recipe Di

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2008

      Looked everywhere for a proper Tea Cake recipe. Great to see this one. Very original. Cant wait to cook it. Soaking the fruit as I write. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      I really enjoyed this fruitcake and I really enjoyed the lack of guilt after consuming a big piece. I halved the recipe and added dried cranberries to make up the dried fruit, which worked really well. My best friend in primary school used to get a buttered tea loaf sandwich just like this in her lunchbox every morning and I was always begging her to swap her sandwiches with mine. 25 years later, I finally get to make my own. Thanks French Tart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      Yummy photo, but I just like to point out that this isn't really fat free because the recipe calls for eggs, its more 'Low Fat'

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2007

      This was a delectable and addicting treat. If you like dried fruit or fruitcake, you will just love this loaf. The tea soaked fruit yields so much moisture, there really is no need for oil or butter. I made a single loaf and found that I did not have a sufficient supply of raisins. With the posting chef's permission, I supplemented the amount with diced dried apricots and cherries -- proving the recipe has versatility. It really is quite rich tasting so small tender slices work well. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Grandmother's Fat Free English Tea Loaf - Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (155 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 431.6
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    29%
    Total Fat 1.1 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 15.8 mg
    5%
    Sodium 507.9 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 103.9 g
    34%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 66.3 g
    265%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites