Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My French Onion Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My French Onion Soup

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on January 26, 2003

      This is by far the best French Onion Soup I've had. I cut the recipe and made only a third for the two of us, using one large Peruvian sweet onion, 1 tbsp flour, 1 can of broth, 1 cup of water, etc. I didn't use the brown sugar at all because the onion was so sweet. I did not use the crockpot. The croutons were fresh garlic croutons made from a loaf of day old bread, made in the bread machine. I highly recommend this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2003

      Wow!! This French Onion Soup is the BEST!! I did not make any changes to your recipe. The flavor just bowled me over. I wish that I had homemade croutons but had to settle for store-bought. I topped with shredded Swiss cheese. A true delight to the palate. Thanks Laurie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2003

      This was a really delicious soup. I didn't add the boullion cubes, and I cut the water back to three cups, also I didn't add any salt as I don't add it to anything. It is a definite keeper! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2010

      3/13/2010: I made a triple batch of this for an International Festival that hosted 900 family members of a local scout organization. Everyone loved it and I promptly started to get recipe requests. I'm gladly sharing the link on facebook! Thank you for such a simple and delicious recipe! UPDATE 3/31/10: I made some alterations to a batch of this soup to make it vegetarian. 3 cans veggie broth, 4 cubes Knorr vegetable bullion. It was FABULOUS! Thanks, again, for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      Made this a couple of months ago...and forgot to review. I made 1/2 the recipe, but used white wine in place of some of the water, and added 3 t. of Better than Bouillon for a beefier flavor. Very good and will make this again for sure. Donna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      Had too many onions left over from Thanksgiving and rolls so I was happy to find this recipe to use them up! This was a great onion soup! loved it - I'm cutting fat out of our diets so I used SmartBalance and it worked just fine in the recipe! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      This was not good at all!! I followed the recipe to a "T" and it was very bland, almost like a can of beef broth...Yuck!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      Tastes great and halves easily. So easy too--thanks, Laurie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      Wonderful soup! My whole family loved this. I did not use the croutons, I had some french bread that needed to be used up! Still turn out Delicious!! I will be try this again only in the crockpot. I got a little impatient waiting so long for this soups. But it's well worth the wait!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      Great! I thought it could use a tad less sugar as my onions were very sweet. Use less sugar and you can always add more. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      All who ate, all said it was great! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

      The only thing I can say about this was I should have made more than what I thought we would we would eat. A nice version of French Onion Soup. I chose to add garlic anc croutons to our soup. Since this posting I have made this soup so many times over and over again. Excellant!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2006

      Very tasty, and what I love the most is how quick it is to put together. Instead of croutons just used a toasted baguette slice and it was yummy with the cheese melted on top!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2006

      love this. Great without flour addition also and I often use croutons in place of bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2004

      I have to agree with everyone here. This is a wonderful tasting soup and so easy to make. I think it tasted better than most restaurants. I did not use the crock pot, but instead let it cook on the stove top for about 5 hours. The only changes I made were to use 4 cans of broth, 1/2 cup of water and 1/2 cup of red cooking wine. Everything else I left the same. I would definitely recommend this even if you have never tried to make before, it was that easy...Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2004

      This was great! my sister and I are French Onion Soup NUTS and i invited her over to "taste test" with me for dinner. we both were AMAZED at the awesome taste and the EASE of making it (I did use the crockpot method). I served it with a hearty honey/oat/whole wheat bread and it was OUT OF SIGHT. will be enjoying the leftovers for lunch tomorrow and will DEFINATELY be making this again. The only minor person tweakings I did was to substitute the 1 c. of water for 1 c. of white cooking wine and added a few extra dashes of worcestershire. ***the only thing I think that may need to be changed on the actual recipe itself was to include the bread/breadcrumbs and the swiss/mozzarella on the actual list of ingredients. I just skimmed the list of ingredients while making my grocery list and, since it didn't list the bread or cheese, failed to grab any while at the store (though, thankfully I had some in the house).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2004

      This was a fast and easy soup to make not to mention very delicious. I did'nt have beef broth on hand, so I used Better than Bullion beef base and it was wonderful. Thanks for the wonderful recepie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2003

      Awesome! Awesome! AWESOME!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2003

      This was pretty good soup ! I thought it could have used a splah of white wine maybe ? It just needed something to deepen the flavor . We enjoyed it and I will make this again !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2003

      Absolutely WONDERFUL!! It tastes just like a great restaurant quality soup! Lots of depth- I highly recommmend you try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My French Onion Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (153 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 76.7
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    66%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 14.0 mg
    4%
    Sodium 497.9 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.3 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    10%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes