21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is by far the best French Onion Soup I've had. I cut the recipe and made only a third for the two of us, using one large Peruvian sweet onion, 1 tbsp flour, 1 can of broth, 1 cup of water, etc. I didn't use the brown sugar at all because the onion was so sweet. I did not use the crockpot. The croutons were fresh garlic croutons made from a loaf of day old bread, made in the bread machine. I highly recommend this recipe.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan January 26, 2003

Wow!! This French Onion Soup is the BEST!! I did not make any changes to your recipe. The flavor just bowled me over. I wish that I had homemade croutons but had to settle for store-bought. I topped with shredded Swiss cheese. A true delight to the palate. Thanks Laurie.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashlynt February 14, 2003

This was a really delicious soup. I didn't add the boullion cubes, and I cut the water back to three cups, also I didn't add any salt as I don't add it to anything. It is a definite keeper! Thanks.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Midge Plourde February 10, 2003

3/13/2010: I made a triple batch of this for an International Festival that hosted 900 family members of a local scout organization. Everyone loved it and I promptly started to get recipe requests. I'm gladly sharing the link on facebook! Thank you for such a simple and delicious recipe! UPDATE 3/31/10: I made some alterations to a batch of this soup to make it vegetarian. 3 cans veggie broth, 4 cubes Knorr vegetable bullion. It was FABULOUS! Thanks, again, for this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
omadarlin April 01, 2010

Made this a couple of months ago...and forgot to review. I made 1/2 the recipe, but used white wine in place of some of the water, and added 3 t. of Better than Bouillon for a beefier flavor. Very good and will make this again for sure. Donna

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donnie27 January 25, 2010

Had too many onions left over from Thanksgiving and rolls so I was happy to find this recipe to use them up! This was a great onion soup! loved it - I'm cutting fat out of our diets so I used SmartBalance and it worked just fine in the recipe! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb_in_Indy November 30, 2009

This was not good at all!! I followed the recipe to a "T" and it was very bland, almost like a can of beef broth...Yuck!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yumyummama February 26, 2008

Tastes great and halves easily. So easy too--thanks, Laurie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers February 13, 2008

Wonderful soup! My whole family loved this. I did not use the croutons, I had some french bread that needed to be used up! Still turn out Delicious!! I will be try this again only in the crockpot. I got a little impatient waiting so long for this soups. But it's well worth the wait!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikki Kate January 24, 2008

Great! I thought it could use a tad less sugar as my onions were very sweet. Use less sugar and you can always add more. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chill January 15, 2008
My French Onion Soup