Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / My Flour Tortillas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Flour Tortillas

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on May 31, 2010

    • on October 03, 2009

      Wow! These are absolutely amazing! The only thing I did differently was replace the shortening with lard (before you freak, read this: http://www.nytimes.com/2000/10/11/living/11LARD.html ). I have also used this as the basis for a large number of "alternate flavor" tortillas such as Tomato Basil, Spinach, Roast Garlic etc. Thanx for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      These are great -- much more flavourful than storebought. We made them a couple weeks back for quesadillas, and made them again this morning for breakfast burritos! Thanks for a simple recipe that will surely be made often at our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2009

      Awesome btw I learned a shortcut- a hand mixer, as you would use to make cake batter. Saves an hour of risking carpal tunnel with a spoon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      Mmmmmmm Good! These were my first try at making tortillas and they were excellent. I did have to tweek the recipe a bit. Rolled out very thin, much thinner than a cracker and broke off more like baseball sized chunks (golf ball size too small for me). Also used half whole wheat flour. I'm making more tomorrow. I will (hopefully) never buy them again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2006

      These tasted good but were too thick...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2004

      These were good, but making them the thickness of a cracker made them very thick. I rolled the last few as flat as possible and they turned out better. Also put them in a plasic bag as soon as they came out and the heat softened them, otherwise they wouldn't been way too hard. Much better than store bought, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2004

      I am so impressed by the ease in preparing these. The next time I do this (which is real soon), I'd put the finished tortillas under a clean cloth so they will be softer. I was worried when they started puffing up a bit but that was okay. Hubby is impressed too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Flour Tortillas

    Serving Size: 1 (919 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 227.5
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    35%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 449.6 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes